INTRODUCTION

Sometimes,  people who are supposed to love us, choose to say things to us that emotionally damages and traps us into a mindset where we believe the painful and emotionally destructive words that are spoken to us.  Sometimes they may even choose to do things physically to us, that makes our worth as a person feel as if it amounts to nothing.

Even though thankfully, I was never physically abused as some of you who are reading this right now, sadly may have been, those of us who have been emotionally abused, can still hurt just as deeply.  The wounds may not be seen with the human eye, but the damage is still there, and manifests itself in many different ways…a lack of trust, fear of reaching out to someone to express an interest because of feeling inadequate, fear of being rejected, fear of speaking with others because of a lack of confidence, fear of failure because of the constant echo of cruel words silently ringing in one’s ears …the list could go on and on, I am sure.

I was trapped in various types of fear, as many of you were and sadly some of you still are.  Although I don’t claim to be completely free from fear, God has brought me a long way! 

This may not sound like much to many of you, but recently I traveled to Texas by plane all on my own for the first time, and have done many other things recently, that I would not have been able to do in the past, because of being tied to the false image of who I believed I was, based on the way I was treated in my past.  These recent experiences filled me with a deep sense of freedom and confidence in who I am becoming in Christ, and inspired me to write this short poem in praise to God, for what I see Him doing in my life.  I hope it will be a source of encouragement to you, and put a desire within your hearts to strive to know God more through spending more  time with Him in prayer and in His Word.

God is amazing!!  The more time we spend in His Word, the more we get to know Him.   And when we begin to believe and cling to the truth presented to us in His Word, and see His faithfulness to help us in the situations we face, we come to the point of learning that we can trust Him.  It is then that He is able to begin the process of renewing our minds with the truth of His Word, and bring us to the point when true and total healing and transformation can begin to take place in our lives.  What joy and freedom awaits those who are willing to trust Him!

Yes, there may still be times when the ‘enemy of our souls’ may get a hold on us for a few moments, by bringing to our minds the painful experiences in our past, or we may even hear a harsh whisper of the cruel words now and then, but when that happens, we must not allow those lies to once again get a hold on us!  We need to cling to the truth in God’s Word that we must put to memory…

“If the Son therefore shall make you free, ye shall be free indeed!”  (John 8:36) KJV

th_worship-4

FINALLY FREE!

I’m letting go of who I was, of all the fear and pain,

I’m reaching out to You, O Lord, Your strength is mine to gain, 

I’m pressing on to know You more, to become the woman You desire me to be,

No longer held back by emotional chains of my past, for You have set me free!!

Copyright © 2009 Mary K. Dalke/Living4HisGlory/LivingForHisGlory Written Sept. 26, 2009

Picture obtained from Photobucket – th_worship-4

