INTRODUCTION

Many of us experience heartache and constant pressure, day after day, whether it comes from those in our lives personally, our job, or just life in general. 

If you are a follower of Christ, and know Him personally, because you one day chose to  put your complete trust only in what Jesus did for you when He died in your place on the cross for your sins, and have made a choice to turn from your sins and surrendered your life to Him, then you have the assurance that somehow, ‘all things will work together for good.’ (Romans 8:28)  

Those of you who have not made that decision to surrender your life to Him, must come to the understanding that He will use sorrow in your lives to try and get your attention.   (2 Corinthians 8:10)  First, He will reveal His love to you, by using His kindness to bring you to repentance.  (Romans 2:4,5)  However,  if you think you do not have a need for Him, and do not realize all the blessings in life come from His hand, and not your own, He will humble you just to make you see your need for Him, because He willingly laid down His life for you to spare you from an eternity of anguish in hell. 

Just as the sufferings we go through in life, can never compare to the joys that await those who will spend eternity in heaven with Him, the sufferings we may go through on this earth, will pale in comparison to the anguish and torment a person will go through for an eternity in hell, all because they chose to reject His love and truth He continued to reveal to them, by  loving their sin more than receiving the love and forgiveness offered to them by their only Savior…  “They perish because they refused to love the truth and so be saved.”   “…all will be condemned who have not believed the truth but have delighted in wickedness.”  (2 Thessalonians 2:10,12)

I was thinking about some of my friends and what they go through in life, when the thoughts for this poem began to come to me.  The words for this poem also came as I reflected back to a time in my life when I doubted God’s love for me, because I couldn’t understand why He allowed the painful circumstances to continue in my life.  I began to wonder if He even heard my cries for help.  He is a God of all power and might, and yet He was not doing anything to change the circumstances that I continued to go through, because He seemed to just allow my husband to do the things he was choosing to do, with no consequences.   Then something happened that totally changed my perspective on things…

 I have only heard God’s silent,  gentle, yet firm voice, speak in my mind a handful of times, so I don’t want you to think that I set myself above others as being ‘super spiritual.’  God’s Word is where I look to receive truth, and I don’t look for ‘experiences’ with God.  I only share the following ‘experience,’ as a convicting, life-altering moment, when I realized how self-centered I was, and how much I needed to change to become like Christ, as all followers of Christ need to do.

One day, as I was overwhelmed by what my husband was doing at the time, I cried out to God to,  “PLEASE DO something!”   In my mind I heard these words…  “My grace is sufficient.”  I hate to admit it, but I angrily said to the King of Kings and Lord of Lords,  “I don’t want Your grace…I want You to DO something!”  What I heard God say to me next, after I had the nerve to say that to Him, was one of the last times I heard Him say something to me, but it was what I needed to hear to bring me to my knees in repentance!   I heard these words…”It’s because of My mercy that I haven’t done anything.”  Instantly, I saw how God could have chosen to strike my husband dead…if He wanted to!  It was at that moment I clearly realized  how different God’s perspective is on things.  We focus on ourselves and our comfort in the present moment, and want God’s hand of correction to come against those who hurt us, and forget that God looks with love upon us in our sin, and doesn’t treat us as our sins deserve.  (Psalm 103:10)

Even though God hates sin, and His heart moves with compassion towards us when we suffer at the hands of those who are supposed to love us, He also looks with compassion on those who live in continued rebellion against Him.  His desire is for  us to look at them through His eyes, and have the eternal perspective that He has when He looks at each of us in our sinful, rebellious condition, ‘not wanting anyone to perish, but everyone to come to repentance.’  (2 Peter 3:9)

He also wants us to realize that all of us are in a spiritual battle,  (Eph. 6:12)   and our loved ones, and others who are unbelievers, are spiritually blinded by Satan.               (2 Corinthians 4:3,4)  They don’t have the ability to see that their behavior is wrong, because they are being controlled by their sinful nature (Romans 8:6,7) as those of us who are believers once were, but no longer have to be, if we live according to God’s Spirit within us, and not our sinful nature.  (Romans 8:5-9)

 God’s goal through the trials He allows into our lives is not only to test our faith, but also to  transform and strengthen us, and to give us hope.  “…we also rejoice in our sufferings, because we know that suffering produces perseverance; perseverance, character; and character, hope.”  (Romans 5:3,4)  The process may be painful at the time, but the day will come when we can see how God used them to give us an unshakeable hope and trust in Him, and also how He will somehow bring good out of the overwhelming trials we will sometimes face, even if we may never understand why things happened as they did.

This is a poem from my ♥ to yours, as I pray for you, my believing friends, who may at times feel as if God has forgotten about you, and think that He doesn’t see the hard and painful things you continue to go through in your life.  As deeply as He cares about all that you and I go through, He cares even more how you and I respond to what happens.  Will we choose to become bitter, or will we choose to trust Him and allow Him to shine through us, so that others will see the peace and joy we have because of Christ, in spite of the painful trials we continue to go through?

It’s easy to say we love Jesus when things are going good for us, but we are more of a witness to others, when we can still praise Him in the heat of the battle.  Let the thought of hearing Him one day say… “Well done thou good and faithful servant,”  fill us with determination to ‘fight the good fight, and finish the race’, pointing others to Christ along the way.

This is also a poem for those of you who do not yet know Jesus as Savior and Lord, to cause you to reflect upon your circumstances so that you will hopefully realize your desperate need for Christ’s love, forgiveness, and strength.  If you let Him, He will walk by your side, and you won’t have to face another day alone.   You can face life with a ‘Living Hope’…because of Him, you can have a calm assurance that He will never leave or forsake you, and He will bring you through each painful circumstance a little stronger than you were before, and in time, He will somehow bring good out of each tragedy that life brings your way.

God bless you all.

SCRIPTURES THAT ENCOURAGED ME DURING MANY YEARS OF HEARTACHE, AND I PRAY THEY WILL ALSO BE AN ENCOURAGEMENT TO YOU…

The LORD is close to the brokenhearted and saves those who are crushed in spirit.”  (Psalm 34:18)

“The salvation of the righteous comes from the LORD; He is their stronghold in time of trouble.”  (Psalm 37:39)

“Why are you downcast, O my soul?  Why so disturbed within me?  Put your hope in God, for I will yet praise Him, my Savior and my God.”  (Psalm 42:5)

“Do not fret because of evil men or be envious of those who do wrong; for like the grass they will soon wither, like green plants they will soon die away.  Trust in the LORD and do good; dwell in the land and enjoy safe pasture.  Delight in the LORD and He will give you the desires of your heart.  Commit your way to the LORD; trust in Him and He will do this: He will make your righteousness shine like the dawn, the justice of your cause like the noonday sun.  Be still before the LORD and wait patiently for Him; do not fret when men succeed in their ways, when they carry out their wicked schemes.  Refrain from anger and turn from wrath; do not fret-it only leads to evil.   For evil men will be cut off, but those who hope in the LORD will inherit the land.”  (Psalm 37:1-9)

“When I am afraid, I will trust in You.  In God, whose Word I praise, in God I trust; I will not be afraid.”  (Psalm 56:3,4)

“Find rest, O my soul, in God alone; my hope comes from Him.  He alone is my rock and my salvation; He is my fortress, I will not be shaken.  My salvation and my honor depend on God; He is my mighty rock, my refuge.  Trust in Him at all times, O people; pour out your hearts to Him, for God is our refuge.”  (Psalm 62:5-8)

“You are my refuge and my shield; I have put my hope in Your Word.”                 (Psalm 119:114)

“The LORD is righteous in all His ways and loving towards all He has made.  The LORD is near to all who call on Him, to all who call on Him in truth.  He fulfills the desires of those who fear Him; He hears their cry and saves them.”  (Psalm 145:17-19)

“You will keep in perfect peace him whose mind is steadfast, because he trusts in You.”  (Isaiah 26:3)

“For I am the LORD, your God, who takes hold of your right hand and says to you, Do not fear; I will help you.”  (Isaiah 41:13)

“Forget the former things; do not dwell on the past.”  (Isaiah 43:18)

“I called on Your name, O LORD, from the depths of the pit.  You heard my plea: “Do not close Your ears to my cry for relief.”  You came near when I called You, and You said,  “Do not fear.”  O LORD, You took up my case; You redeemed my life.  You have seen the wrong done to me.  Uphold my cause!”  (Lamentations 3:55-59)

“May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in Him, so that you may overflow with hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.”  (Romans 15:13)

“We were under great pressure, far beyond our ability to endure, so that we despaired even of life.  Indeed in our hearts we felt the sentence of death.  But this happened that we might not rely on ourselves but on God…”  (2 Corinthians 1:8,9)

“…”My grace is sufficient for you, for My power is made perfect in weakness.”  Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.  That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties.  For when I am weak, then I am strong.”      (2 Corinthians 12:9,10)

“I can do everything through Him who gives me strength.”  (Philippians 4:13)

“Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God.  And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.”            (Philippians 4:6,7)

“And this is the testimony: God has given us eternal life, and this life is in His Son.  He who has the Son has life; He who does not have the Son of God does not have life.  I write these things to you who believe in the name of the Son of God so that you may know that you have eternal life.  This is the assurance we have in approaching God: that if we ask anything according to His will, He hears us.  And if we know that He hears us–whatever we ask–we know that we have what we asked of Him.”               (1 John 5:11-15)

Scriptures taken from The Holy Bible New International Version® Copyright 1973, 1978, 1984 International Bible Society.  Used by permission of Zondervan.  All rights reserved.

heaven-11-1

         A LIVING HOPE

Do you feel like there’s no hope, that you’ll never have a chance,

To rise above the chaos of life’s overwhelming circumstance?

Do you feel as if you’re all alone, and no one seems to care,

And God doesn’t really hear you, when you cry out to Him in prayer?

I can tell you, there is hope, and Jesus is His name,

If you learn to really trust Him, your life will never be the same,

You will have His grace that is sufficient, to see you through your darkest day,

And His Word to light your path, and to guide and comfort you along life’s way,

A joy that’s everlasting, His peace beyond compare,

Wisdom that will amaze you, and a story of His faithfulness you will one day

have to share.

So don’t give up, my precious friend, for we have a Living Hope,

Who will walk by your side, through the storms of this life, and give you His strength

and grace to cope.

  

Written October 17th 2009 and completed October 24th 2009 by Mary K. Dalke/Living For His Glory/Living4HisGlory

Copyright© 2009 All rights reserved.

Photo obtained from Photobucket   Heaven-11-1

