INTRODUCTION

It was a beautiful autumn day in November, and the temperature was in the 50’s, which is not normal for this time of year where I live.  Even though I was facing a situation which, in the past, would have filled me with anxiety, I found my heart was now resting in God, trusting that somehow He would provide the thyroid medicine I needed, even though there were problems with the company’s ability to manufacture enough, and it was not available at the WalMart near my home.

As I got out of my car and walked towards the second WalMart I was checking to see if they had any available at their location, instead of being filled with worry, I had a smile on my face and found myself reflecting on the beauty of this particular warm autumn day.  The words for this poem began to come to my mind as I began to think about how the glory of God is seen in all the seasons we experience, and how I wanted to treasure each moment of this beautiful day.  I then realized how we could miss God’s spectacular displays of His glory if we get caught up in the trivial problems of everyday life, that we are all destined to face at one time or another. 

The words for this poem continued to come to me as I was walking into WalMart,  and I tried not to think too much, because I would end up forgetting the words by the time I would be able to get back into my car and write the words down.

Praise God, He provided my medicine at that particular location!  I was so grateful to Him for how He always takes care of me, and even though I know He loves me, and I do not view His love for me through the circumstances of life, I sensed His love for me in that moment, that made my trust level in Him grow even deeper, and my love for Him grow even stronger.

When I got back into my car, I grabbed the first thing I could find, which was a sale from a vitamin store, so I could write down the thoughts that began to come to me for this poem, so I wouldn’t forget them.  Yes, I must remember to bring a notebook with me the next time I get into my car, so  I have more room to write down the many thoughts that come to me for future poems, or the things that I hear on the radio as I drive to or from work and want to investigate on the Internet when I get home!

As I continued to write this poem, I also thought of the spiritual aspect of the ‘seasons’ God brings into our lives…sorrow, though hard to deal with, is like autumn and winter…it brings a death to self, and if we yield our lives to Him and draw strength from Him and His Word, the trials we go through in life can bring forth the beauty of Christ (spring) through our lives for all to see, and when we mature in Christ and are in full bloom, (summer) we produce the fruit of the spirit…love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, and self-control.  (Galatians 5:22-24)

The process is hard, but the journey is filled with many amazing moments when we can see God’s strength being made perfect in our weakness, and stand in awe of God at how He is able to transform us from heart-broken and wretched sinners, into forgiven, cleansed, transformed and restored people; simple  jars of clay, having the honor to be ‘reflections of  His glory’ for all to see, and being given the words by Him to speak, so that He can use us to set other captives free.  

There is nothing this world has to offer that brings such joy and satisfaction, as knowing Christ, and being used by Him to reveal His love, forgiveness, and truth to someone, who desperately needs the life-giving and life-transforming message of the gospel.

I hope and pray this poem will help you to slow down a little in your busy lives and allow you to reflect on the beauty of His creation all around us.  I pray you will choose to turn to Him in the midst of your sorrow and trials, because the Maker of this amazingly beautiful world, which defies our understanding many times, is able to handle the situations you and I face…no matter how difficult or impossible the situations may seem, and He will give you His grace and peace to sustain you through it all.

  God bless you.

SCRIPTURES FOR YOU TO REFLECT ON

“For God who said,  “Let light shine out of darkness,”  made His light shine in our hearts to give us the light of the knowledge of the glory of God in the face of Christ.  But we have this treasure in jars of clay to show that this all surpassing power is from God and not from us.  We are hard pressed on every side, but not crushed; perplexed, but not in despair; persecuted, but not abandoned; struck down, but not destroyed.  We always carry around in our body the death of Jesus, so that the life of Jesus may also be revealed in our body.  For we who are alive are always being given over to death for Jesus’ sake, so that His life may be revealed in our mortal body.”      (2 Corinthians 4:6-11)

“Now the Lord is the Spirit, and where the Spirit of the Lord is, there is freedom.  And we, who with unveiled faces all reflect the Lord’s glory, are being transformed into His likeness with ever increasing glory, which comes from the Lord, who is the Spirit.”      (2 Corinthians 3:17,18)

The Spirit of the Sovereign LORD is on me, because the LORD has anointed me to preach good news to the poor.  He has sent me to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim freedom for the captives and release for the prisoners…”  (Isaiah 61:1)

Scriptures taken from The Holy Bible New International Version® Copyright 1973, 1978, 1984 International Bible Society.  Used by permission of Zondervan.  All rights reserved.

Please see the page…’SEASONS OF HIS GLORY’ that I set up, to give you a deeper understanding of what I am trying to say through this poem, as well as beautiful illustrations of God’s creation in each season that many of us are able to enjoy.  God bless you, and thank you for stopping by to read my poems.  : )

  

 REFLECTIONS OF HIS GLORY

Lord, thank You for the beauty in each season that You bring…

We see life bursting forth from a seemingly dead earth in spring,

Awaken in the morning to the sound of robins as they sing,

And see Your amazing display of colors and patterns You place on the delicate 

butterfly’s wings.

 

Summer brings an array of vivid colored flowers in full bloom, and long hot days,

When we can enjoy watching our children play,

Or take them to the sea for a swim on a hot day,

Until evening, as we watch the sun put on a display,

Of all Your creative beauty, as it casts colors in the sky,  until into the sea  it appears

to  simply slip away.

 

In the fall, we can watch the beauty of crimson colored leaves, and their flight from

the trees,

As they swirl and they spin, when they are caught in a breeze.

 

Winter, though long, dark, and frigid, its beauty shows when moonlight glistens on

 freshly fallen snow, as it covers the earth,

Each season displaying reflections of Your glory, Your power, majesty, and the

splendor of Your worth.

 

Lord, give us eyes to see Your creative beauty in each and every day,

And Your peace and grace so we won’t be distracted, by the troubles that come our

way,

 

Help us to turn from sin and die to self, so that through us You can live,

Fill us, Your weak earthen vessels,  with Your Spirit, for we have nothing on our own

to give,

 

Allow us to be reflections of Your glory, so that  it’s only You they see,

Give us Your Words of truth and love, and by Your Spirit, use us to set other captives

free.

 

 Written on November 3, 2009 and completed on November 21, 2009 by Mary K. Dalke/Living For His Glory/Living4HisGlory

Copyright©2009 All rights reserved.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

