INTRODUCTION

My heart is heavy with sorrow, as I see so many people choosing to have their focus on preachers, and accepting what they say as true, instead of testing what they say in light of God’s Word, as we are told to do, as in Acts 17:11 and 1 Thessalonians 5:21.  Sadly, more and more preachers are even accepting these latest teachings that have their roots in mysticism, Buddhism, and the occult, and because many people seem to no longer hold God’s Word as their final authority to judge truth from error, they are allowing themselves to be deceived.

Last Sunday at church, during our time of worship, a song began to play that says ‘Jesus became sin,’ and I always refuse to sing it.  I just stood there as everyone sang it, and I closed my eyes and prayed.  Usually I raise my hands and worship, but I refuse to be a part of songs that distort the truth of God’s Word.

After the service was over, my friend obviously noticed, and said to me,  “So you still won’t sing that song?”  I said,  “No, I won’t go along with anything that goes against God’s Word.  It’s a beautiful song, but people are accepting the thought into their minds that Jesus became sin, even if they are not aware of it.  They are being desensitized and that’s why it’s so important to compare everything against God’s Word. “

I continued to elaborate by saying,  “When pastor came back from Israel last year almost exactly a year ago, he said how when Jesus was in the garden of Gethsemane, He said,  “Father, if it is possible, may this cup be taken from me.  Yet not as I will, but as you will.”  (Matthew 26:42)  Pastor said,  “What was in the cup?  He saw Himself becoming sin!”  That made me jump up in my seat!  Jesus couldn’t have become sin, or He would not have been the perfect sacrifice for our sins.  He bore our sins, and our sins were placed upon Jesus when He was on the cross, but He didn’t become sin.  In the Old Testament, the sins of the people were placed upon the scapegoat and the goat was sent out into the desert.  (see Leviticus 16:20-22)  There’s even a preacher that I found on YouTube…Paul Washer, who says the same thing…that Jesus did not become sin, and I have friends on YouTube who do not agree that Jesus became sin.”

I continued to remind her of what I had shared with her before,  and said,  “I even thought that I could possibly be wrong, and decided to search the Bible from beginning to end and looked for verses where it talked about ‘the cup,’ and every verse I found, made it clear that ‘the cup’ Jesus spoke of, was the cup of God’s wrath He has towards us for our sins, and this is the cup Jesus accepted…Jesus did not see Himself becoming sin…He accepted God’s wrath that was meant for us, because of our sins, and allowed it to be poured out upon Himself.”  Read…(Psalm 75:8)  (Isaiah 51:17-23) (Jeremiah 25:15-18) (Jeremiah 49:12) (Ezekiel 23:32-37) (Habakkuk 2:16-20) (Zechariah 12:1-6) (Matthew 20:20-23) (Matthew 26:39-46) 

Totally against her usual sweet and calm nature, my friend snapped at me and said,  “Well, I’m no Bible scholar…”  I gently and quietly interjected… “And I don’t claim to be one either…”  She continued “…but if John MacArthur believes it, it’s good enough for me!  I don’t want to talk about this anymore.” 

I don’t know if John MacArthur teaches that, but I was shocked and became speechless by what she had said and by her reaction.  Maybe she thought I was gossipping by what I was saying about our pastor, and was trying to stop me from saying more, but she knows I am not that kind of a person.  I am just trying not to judge her and think of a good reason why she would have reacted as she did.  I love her dearly, but personally I think she is like many others who have not experienced any type of deception in the church; many don’t realize the importance of testing the words of men against the Word of God, and just accept everything a well respected preacher says as true.  This is how the gospel message of today has strayed so far from Biblical truth, and also explains how many ‘new age’ practices have been embraced by Christians today. 

If only I was able to say what came to me after she said good-bye to me, I would have said to her…”But  we have to keep God’s Word as our final authority to judge what is true, so we won’t be deceived.  We can’t think so highly of a preacher that we think he’s always right.  God’s Word warns us that the deception would be so great that even the elect would be deceived…if it were possible.”  (see Matthew 24:24) 

I will pray for another opportunity to share that with her, but I have said things like that to her before, so I will just pray that God will give her a passion to read and study His Word, and that He will give her eyes to see the truth as it leaps off the page and exposes the errors in man’s words.

I am beginning to think that I should just leave my church…maybe me leaving will make a final clear statement on how important it is to stand for Biblical truth, and not just ‘go with the flow.’  I just don’t know of any other church I would even consider going to now.  I need to pray and seek God about what to do.  For the most part, the preaching lines up with God’s Word, but I still have some major concerns about the direction I see our church may be headed in, and can say no more than that, at this point.

I am hoping to have enough time, Lord willing, to write a poem about Christmas, and wrap up this year with one more poem, expressing my thanks to God for all He has done in my life this past year.  Starting next year, I will begin to shift my focus off of  personal matters on to what concerns me and many other Christians, as we sadly see a shift from Biblical Christianity to “another gospel” (see Galatians 1:6-9) and “another Jesus,” (see 2 Corinthians 11:3,4) as well as other topics.

Thank you for stopping by my site and if you are a true follower of Christ, may God bless you and use you where you are,  to stand for Biblical truth.   Continue to be a beacon of light shining in the darkness…exposing false teachings when the opportunity arises, with the light of the truth of God’s Word, that has the power to free those who are wandering in spiritual darkness and deception that sadly have taken many captive today.

For those of you who do not have a personal relationship with God by accepting Jesus  as your only hope for eternal life, I pray you will choose to search for the truth by reading God’s Word, and ask Him to reveal the truth to you. 

God bless all who come this way.

I tried to upload a picture for this page, and again was unable to do so, and I don’t think I did anything wrong this time.

Thank you WordPress for the snow that falls on our sites, which  adds a festive touch  for this month.

I will write and post this actual poem in January, but I felt the need to write and express what weighs on my heart right now, with what happened last Sunday.  I have God’s peace and do not feel discouraged, because I know I do not stand alone in my desire to stand for the truth of God’s Word.  I know there are others who stand with me, and for them I am very thankful : )

