But God demonstrates His own love for us in this: While we were still sinners, Christ died for us.” (Romans 5:8)

“This is how God showed His love among us: He sent His one and only Son into the world that we might live through Him.  This is love: not that we loved God, but that He loved us and sent His Son as an atoning sacrifice for our sins.” (1 John 4:9,10)

“For Christ died for sins once for all, the righteous for the unrighteous, to bring you to God.” (1 Peter 3:18)

Greater love has no one than this, that He lay down His life for His friends.” (John 15:13)

“Thanks be to God for His indescribable gift!” (2 Corinthians 9:15)

 

NO GREATER LOVE

Rejected and alone, receiving no love at all

God heard my heart’s cry and He answered my call

He opened my eyes so His truth I did see

Lifted me out of depression, and from sin He set me free

I found His love that cared enough, to come down to this earth

He gave His life in place of mine, and in Him I found my worth

The old me died that day, and I was covered by His grace

Joy and peace then filled my heart, and reflected on my face

For those held captive by sin and despair

You’ll find no greater love that will ever compare

To the love that He showed when He died in our place

To pay our debt to sin, so we’d be saved by His grace

He knows your pain and every fear

He hears your cries and sees your tears

He laid down His life to set you free

From sin and all that holds you in captivity

His free gift of forgiveness was paid with His blood

If you repent and receive it, His peace will come in like a flood

He’ll wash away all the sin and regrets from your heart

He’ll cleanse your mind from guilt, and give you a brand new start

Your search for real love and forgiveness will not be at a loss

For you’ll find no greater love than His love, and you’ll find it at His cross

I pray His truth you will one day see

For His blood was poured out for you on Mount Calvary

Written in March 2010

Copyright© 2010 Mary K. Dalke/Living For His Glory/Living4HisGlory All Rights Reserved.

Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without expressed and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited.  Exerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Mary K. Dalke and Living4HisGlory with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Scriptures taken from The Holy Bible, New International Version® Copyright© 1973, 1978, 1984 International Bible Society.  Used by permission of Zondervan.

Picture obtained from Photobucket – Thorns

