INTRODUCTION

God is giving me His grace and such a deep peace in spite of what I am going through in my life right now, but once in a while a lot goes on in my mind.  And because of that, I can’t seem to finish the other poems I have started writing.  Hopefully after I deal with all my concerns, putting them together in poem form, and I pray more and post this, I can  then focus on the other poems and be able to complete and post them.

With all I have been through in the past, I have learned how faithful God is, and because of that, God has helped me learn to trust Him and to develop an unwavering faith.  However, in the midst of this present trial, even though I have God’s grace, peace, and joy, I am still human, and these are some of the thoughts that I sometimes deal with…Will anyone even want to get involved with me now, considering I have this medical condition?  When two people marry, they have no idea what lies ahead, and yet they still choose to make a commitment. (Even though sadly, most people don’t keep their commitment.)  Should it make any difference then if two people really love each other, especially those who are Christians, and know from the start the hard times and challenges they may be facing?  If God ever brings a man into my life who has a sincere commitment to Christ, and who would choose to pursue me, it would definitely be a true declaration of a man’s love for me if he chooses to marry me after I tell him the truth. Will I ever marry again?  Even though I am now content and am enjoying this time on my own as I wait upon God, will I end up spending the rest of my life alone? 

When these thoughts come, I try to quickly choose to ‘take captive every thought to the obedience of Christ,’ as God’s Word tells us to do in 2 Corinthians 10:5, so I don’t get depressed, and also to show God I will choose to trust Him in spite of the circumstances.  That’s a choice each one of us must make when hard times come, because our faith will continue to be tested to prove if it is genuine or not.                (1 Peter 1:3-9)

We are all aging…our outer beauty is fading, and we will all face physical challenges.  This may be God’s way of making us realize that our focus, when choosing a person to marry and spend the rest of our lives with, should be based upon their godly character and their commitment to Christ, which will also be an accurate reflection as to how they will be towards us.

There is a popular expression that many may be familiar with…”If you want to see how a man will treat a woman, look at the way he treats his mother.”  How true!  In the same way, if you want to see how deep a person will be committed to you, look at the level of commitment they have to Christ.  It may not be the most popular way people choose a person to get involved with, but it may save you a lot of heartache if you examine the fruit in their lives, and if there are no red flags, trust God to give you His grace to see you through the hard times that will come into your lives.  His grace is sufficient.

I was not sure if I should even post this poem, because of the very personal nature of this, and thought maybe it should just be one to keep in my personal journal.  However, this past week, when I was trying to  finish writing this poem, a co-worker shared with me that her sister’s boyfriend has the very same condition I have.  When I realized she now has the decision to stand by his side or to end their relationship, (since they were talking about getting married before all of that happened) I felt that God was confirming to me to post this.  For those of you who are Christians, if God puts it on your heart, please pray for them…his name is Alexan, and her name is Christina.  I would really appreciate it, and I am sure they would too.  Thank you : )

I pray that God will use this poem to somehow cause each of you to view love and commitment the way God views it; love is a choice and an act of our will.  Love is a verb, and should not be based on mere feelings, because feelings constantly change due to our circumstances and even to the amount of sleep one gets.  Look at a child who has not had their much needed nap, and you will see a normally sweet and happy child become easily upset over the littlest things, and go back to being their sweet selves when they wake up from their naps.  We can say the same thing about us, when we don’t get enough sleep!

Yes, initially two people are often attracted to one another by physical beauty or by one’s personality, but if a person is a Christian, they will look beyond the physical and be filled with His agape love; a love with no limits or conditions if they allow themselves to be led by His Spirit and not by their emotions or sinful nature.  A love that unites them together for God’s glory, and deepens when one sees the genuine love and commitment for Christ in one another’s hearts. 

Eye color, hair color, height, physical build, and weight are things the world looks at, and should not be the main determining factors in choosing a person to get involved with and to marry, if you are a born-again Christian.  If a relationship is based on godly love and not lust, and it is built upon Christ and Biblical truth as a solid foundation, we can be assured that God will give us His wisdom, peace, and grace that will be sufficient to see us through every trial that we may face, and His blessings of a relationship that will be beautiful and satisfying as well. 

God bless you, and thank you for stopping by to read my poems : )

A SONG FOR YOUR ENCOURAGEMENT

 

SCRIPTURES FOR YOU TO REFLECT ON

“Your beauty should not come from outward adornment, such as braided hair and the wearing of gold jewelry and fine clothes.  Instead, it should be that of your inner self, the unfading beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit, which is of great worth in God’s sight.”      1 Peter 3:3,4

“All men are like grass, and all their glory is like the flowers of the field; the grass withers and the flowers fall, but the Word of the Lord stands forever.”  1 Peter 1:24

For though we live in the world, we do not wage war as the world does. The weapons we fight with are not the weapons of the world. On the contrary, they have divine power to demolish strongholds.  We demolish arguments and every pretension that sets itself up against the knowledge of God, and we take captive every thought to make it obedient to Christ.”  2 Corinthians 10:3-5

“Rejoice in the Lord always.  I will say it again: Rejoice!  Let your gentleness be evident to all.  The Lord is near.  Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, persent your requests to God.  And the peace of God which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.  Finally brothers, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable-if anything is excellent or praiseworthy-think about such things.”  Philippians 4:4-8 

Love is patient, love is kind.  It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud.  It is not rude, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs.  Love does not delight in evil, but rejoices with the truth.  It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.  Love never fails.”  1 Corinthians 13:4-8

“Be imitators of God, therefore, as dearly loved children and live a life of love, just as Christ loved us and gave Himself up for us as a fragrant offering and sacrifice to God.”  Ephesians 5:1,2

“Therefore, as God’s chosen people, holy and dearly loved, clothe yourself with compassion, kindness, humility, gentleness, and patience.  Bear with each other and forgive whatever grievances you may have against one another.  Forgive as the Lord forgave you.  And over all these virtues put on love, which binds them all together in perfect unity.”  Colossians 3:12-14

“Dear friends, since God so loved us, we also ought to love one another.  No one has ever seen God; but if we love each other, God lives in us and His love is made complete in us.”  1 John 4:12

“Come to Me, all you who are weary and burdened and I will give you rest.  Take My yoke upon you and learn from Me, for I am gentle and humble of heart, and you will find rest for your souls.  For My yoke is easy and My burden is light.”                   Matthew 11:28-30

Scriptures taken from The Holy Bible, New International Version® Copyright©1973, 1978, 1984 International Bible Society.  Used by permission of Zondervan. 

WHAT IF…A TRUE TEST OF LOVE

Many utter the words, “In sickness and in health, till death do us part,”

In the vows they take to whom has captured their heart,

But what if before that moment, God revealed the trials that would lie ahead,

Would we still make that commitment…or turn away instead?

What if God showed us they’d become crippled or blind,

Would we say,  “No,” at that moment, and leave them behind?

Would we run from the challenges we knew we would face,

And from our minds and heart, every thought of them erase?

Or would we say,  “Yes,” holding them and treasuring every moment we had,

Never allowing even one second to be wasted on being sad,

If love runs deep, beyond looks and circumstance,

If Christ brought you together, and it wasn’t by pure chance,

Then should it really matter if you know right from the start,

That a person is epileptic or diabetic or has a condition in their heart?

For godly love is based upon commitment and a choice,

Two lives joined together, serving Christ, and with one voice,

Proclaiming God’s love and truth, helping to set the captives free,

Loving and enjoying one another, in life and throughout eternity,

Well, that is my hope, and this is my prayer,

That if anyone ever chooses to care,

And pursues me even after he is made fully aware,

Of the physical condition inside of me,

His wife forever He will still choose me to be.

 

Copyright© 2010  Mary K. Dalke/Living4HisGlory/LivingForHisGlory

Picture obtained from Photobucket -man_woman_holding hands-3

 

 

 

 

