INTRODUCTION

I have been wanting to write a poem entitled ‘Hiding Place’ for a long time, because with all I have been through in life, God became my ‘hiding place.’  Whenever I was lied to, rejected, deeply hurt, ignored or ridiculed, and felt like I just couldn’t take it any more, I would run to Him.  I would always find comfort and strength in His presence, and He would always use His Word to silence the cruel and accusing voices I heard from those who were supposed to love me.  Yes, I had some close friends during those times, but He was my only real and constant source of truth, hope, peace, wisdom and strength.

The words for this poem came as I remembered God’s amazing faithfulness in the midst of some of the most difficult times of my life.  Even though I have forgiven those who have hurt me, God helped me write this poem by drawing from some of the emotional pain I remember experiencing in the past.  By His grace, as I look back on these experiences, instead of feeling anger and pain, these experiences are but a faint memory, and at the same time a strong reminder of just how faithful God was to me and how far He has brought me from the broken and weak person I once was before I committed my life to Christ.

I thought that many of you would be able to relate to this poem,   knowing many of you must have experienced (and may still also be experiencing) deep hurt from those whom you thought would love you for a lifetime, but chose instead to hurt you and even abandon you.  Some of you know Jesus as Savior and Lord of your life…and some of you do not.

I pray that somehow God will use this poem (and especially the Scriptures I will share) to help you see that you will find hope for your future, peace for your troubled minds, and healing for your broken hearts.  If you will seek God with all your heart, and choose to place your trust in Him, and not only accept Jesus as your Savior from sin and guilt, but also choose to make Him Lord of your life, you will see Him transform your life and give you hope for your future and meaning and purpose for life. 

At times you will still face circumstances  that will fill your heart with sorrow, but you will sense His peace in the midst of those trials that will enable you to face life, as you see His strength being made perfect in your weakness.

As you spend time with God in His Word, He will give you discernment so that you will be able to see the truth about certain situations and people’s intentions.  He will expose the deception you have been trapped in, and give you His wisdom and strength to put an end to the manipulation that others attempt to do with you, and He will also begin a healing in your heart and mind. 

There will definitely still be times when you experience deep hurt and rejection, but God will give you His amazing grace that you will find to be more than sufficient.  Knowing Jesus enables you to rejoice in the midst of painful circumstances, because you will see how faithful He will be to help you through each situation you will face.  As you learn to trust Him, He will help you rise above the pain of the moment if you run to Him and allow Him to be your ‘hiding place.’

God bless you and thank you very much for stopping by to read my poems : )

ONE OF MY FAVORITE SONGS, ‘HIDING PLACE,’ FOR YOUR ENCOURAGEMENT

SCRIPTURES TO ENCOURAGE YOU

“You are my hiding place; You will protect me from trouble and surround me with songs of deliverance.”  Psalm 32:7

“For in the day of trouble He will keep me safe in His dwelling; He will hide me in the shelter of His tabernacle and set me high upon a rock.”  Psalm 27:5

O God, You are my God, earnestly I seek You; my soul thirsts for You, my body longs for You, in a dry and weary land where there is no water.  I have seen You in the sanctuary and beheld Your power and Your glory.  Because Your love is better than life, my lips will glorify You.  I will praise You as long as I live, and in Your name I will lift up my hands.  My soul will be satisfied as with the richest of foods; with singing lips my mouth will praise You. On my bed I remember You; I think of You in the watches of the night.  Because You are my help, I sing in the shadow of Your wings. I stay close to You; Your right hand upholds me.”  Psalm 63:1-8

“In the shelter of Your presence You hide them from the intrigues of men; in Your dwelling You keep them safe from the strife of tongues.”  Psalm 31:20

“Hear my cry, O God; listen to my prayer.  From the ends of the earth I call to You, I call as my heart grows faint; lead me to the rock that is higher than I.  For You have been my refuge, a strong tower against the foe.  I long to dwell in Your tent forever and take refuge in the shelter of Your wings.”  Psalm 61:1-4

“You turned my wailing into dancing; You removed my sackcloth and clothe me with joy, that my heart may sing to You and not be silent.  O LORD my God, I will give You thanks forever.”  Psalm 30:11,12

 

HIDING PLACE

Who do you turn to when no one is aware,

Of the pain you hold inside, when life seems so unfair,

Who do you run to, when no one seems to care,

Let Him become your hiding place,

Who do you turn to, when your heart has lost its song,

You’ve done all you know to do, and all your strength is gone,

Who do you run to, when everything goes wrong,

Let Him become your hiding place,

Who do you turn to when your heart is shattered,

By someone who claimed to love you, and you realize to them your feelings never

 even mattered,

Who do you run to when your dreams lay broken and scattered,

Let Him become your hiding place,

Who do you turn to when you just can’t take it any more,

You’ve lost all hope, your mind is numb, and you’re crying on the floor,

Who do you run to, when today is worse than the day before,

Let Him become your hiding place,

Who do you turn to when you hear accusing voices,

Confusion blinds you to the truth when you’re hurt by someone’s sinful choices,

If you run to Christ, all truth you’ll see, and in Him you’ll find your heart rejoices,

Let Him become your hiding place.

 

Copyright© 2010 Mary K. Dalke/Living4HisGlory/Living For His Glory

Scriptures taken from The Holy Bible, New International Version® Copyright © 1973, 1978, 1984, International Bible Society.  Used by permission of Zondervan.

Picture by- mattsemler …Cave used by Jews as hiding place.  Bar Kochba era Obtained from Photobucket-DCP_0218

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

