INTRODUCTION

This poem began to come to me on the morning of August 8th, 2010, after I woke up from having a dream about my son.  In my dream, my son was about 4 years old.  Most of the dreams I have about my children, if not all of them, are filled with pictures of them at the ages of 4 or 5 or younger.  Maybe because that was the ages when the world had not yet influenced them and put a tight grip on them to cause them to live according to their sinful natures.

At their young ages, their hearts were still tender towards God.  I remember one night, as I was playing a praise cassette for my children, (I know I am dating myself 🙂 ) and my son was about 2 years old,  he lifted up his little hands to God, as he sang along with the song…  ‘SING HALLELUJAH TO THE LORD.’  (Correction…I knew that didn’t sound right…the actual song was…’JESUS, NAME ABOVE ALL NAMES’ …video below) A beautiful and precious sight for a mother to behold! 

‘JESUS, NAME ABOVE ALL NAMES’ 

When my children were young, both of them would frequently run around in a circle in our front room with their friends and the children I would babysit for, as they would sing to the Christian songs I would play for them on the many cassettes I bought for them.  It delighted me so much to see my children praising God, and to see their hearts filled with joy and love for God and desiring to live for Him by turning from the many wrong things they encountered day to day, whether they were things on t.v., or things their friends would say or do. 

We would read the Bible together every day, and pray before bed time, and also before they left for school every morning.  However, the day comes when our children must make that choice to personally follow Him, and when they grew older, they made it clear that they no longer wanted to read the Bible with me,  so I released them and talked to them about the choice to personally follow Christ, that each one of us has to make.  I continue to pray that the day will come when they will each make the decision to personally follow Him.  It is my heart’s cry that they will one day have that personal relationship with Him, and that they will completely surrender their lives to Him.

When I woke up from the dream that I had, tears filled my eyes and I began to pray for my son, and for my daughter, as well.  I noticed the first three sentences of my prayer rhymed, so I jumped out of bed and wrote them down, as I continued to pray for them.  I prayed for God to help me form all of my concerns for them into a poem, and the following poem is the result. 

I pray it will inspire you to cry out to God in prayer for your sons and your daughters, and come to the point of being able to release them into His loving hands, believing He is the one who ultimately draws them to Himself, enables them to come to Him, and  HE is the one who alone can grant them repentance leading them to the knowledge of the truth. 

Continue to be a godly example to them by the way you live your life…by the things you do, as well as through the things you choose not to do.   Continue to guide them spiritually, reading His Word, the Bible, to them, and revealing His love and truth to them with every opportunity He gives you, and continue to cry out in prayer from the depths of your heart for your children. 

God bless you, and thank you very much for stopping by and taking some time out of your busy day to read some of my poems 🙂

~Mary Dalke/Living4HisGlory

 

 

SCRIPTURES FOR YOU TO REFLECT ON

“Love the LORD your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your strength. These commandments that I give you today are to be upon your hearts. Impress them upon your children. Talk about them when you sit at home and when you walk along the road, when you lie down and when you get up.”             (Deuteronomy 6:5-7)

“Train a child in the way he should go, and when he is old he will not turn from it.” (Proverbs 22:6)

“Only be careful, and watch yourselves closely so that you do not forget the things your eyes have seen or let them slip from your heart as long as you live. Teach them to your children and to their children after them.” (Deuteronomy 4:9)

“Be very careful then how you live-not as unwise but as wise, making the most of every opportunity, because the days are evil.” (Ephesians 5:15,16)

“No one can come to Me unless the Father who sent Me draws him, and I will raise him up at the last day.” (John 6:44)

“Those who oppose him he must gently instruct, in the hope that God will grant them repentance leading them to the knowledge of the truth…” (2 Timothy 2:25)

“Godly sorrow brings repentance that leads to salvation and leaves no regret, but worldly sorrow brings death.” (2 Corinthians 7:10)

“He has made everything beautiful in its time. He has also set eternity in the hearts of men; yet they cannot fathom what God has done from beginning to end.” (Ecclesiastes 3:11)

“The LORD is not slow in keeping His promise, as some understand slowness.  He is patient with you, not wanting anyone to perish, but everyone  to come to repentance.” (2 Peter 3:9)

“For He says, “In the time of My favor I heard you, and in the day of salvation I helped you.” I tell you, now is the time of God’s favor, now is the day of salvation.”                   (2 Corinthians 6:2)

“Or do you show contempt for the riches of His kindness, tolerance, and patience, not realizing that God’s kindness leads you towards repentance.” (Romans 2:4)

“Today if you hear His voice, do not harden your hearts…” (Hebrews 3:15)

Scriptures taken from The Holy Bible, New International Version®  Copyright© 1973, 1978, 1984 International Bible Society.  Used by permission of Zondervan.

 

Arise, cry out in the night, as the watches of the night begin; pour out your heart like water in the presence of the LORD.  Lift up your hands to Him, for the lives of your children…”  Lamentations 2:19

 

MY HEART’S CRY

Lord, I lift up my son and daughter to You

I know You love them more than I do

Please bring them in complete surrender to You

Help them to remember Your Word, pure and true

A God of their own making, they have made You to be

Lord, please give them eyes to see

Your truth so they will be set free

Bring back the fear in their hearts about eternity

Fill them with a godly sorrow, as they recognize their sin

Reveal anew the costly price You paid out of love, so their hearts

You would one day win

Let them see their sinfulness in the light of Your Holiness, so heaven

they could one day enter in

Help them to build their lives on the Rock, their foundation is sinking sand

or fragile tin

My heart’s cry is for them to know You, to grasp the depth of Your mercy and grace

That they would realize their need for a Savior, hands lifted high to You

they would one day raise

Coming to You in sweet surrender, with hearts filled with joy and praise

And that one day they would use their lives to bring You glory, no longer living

a life that betrays

My love for them would be no stronger, if they would choose to surrender

their lives to You

For I love them regardless of their behavior, Lord, You know this to be true

It’s just that thinking about their eternal destination, brings tears to my eyes as I do

But I will rest in the fact that You are Sovereign, and with worry and fear for them

I choose to be through

I will continue to cry out to You in prayer for their salvation, trusting that there will

come the day

When You will open their eyes to Your Holiness and mercy, and with their whole hearts

they will choose to turn from sin and pray

Expressing words of godly sorrow as You grant them repentance, I believe You will

one day hear them say

This is my heart’s cry, and I believe this prayer You will one day answer, and the day

of their salvation will come and not delay

Copyright© Mary K. Dalke/Living For His Glory/Living4HisGlory All rights reserved.

Picture obtained from Photobucket- Believe -1-1-1

 

 

