INTRODUCTION

As I look back and reflect upon my whole life, many circumstances and situations come to mind in which I know without any doubt , that God intervened.  Even before I surrendered my life to Christ, there were times when I saw God deliver me from situations that I know would have turned out differently if I would not have cried out to Him from my heart in those moments.

After I committed my life to Christ, His grace has always been sufficient to see me through all the heartache I have experienced, and His peace was, and still is, as His Word declares it to be… a peace that  ‘transcends all understanding.’  (Philippians 4:7)

If you have not yet come to the point of placing your trust in Christ alone for forgiveness of sins, and if you have not surrendered your life completely to Him, let me assure you that if you do, even though there will still be hard times you will face in life, He will be faithful to see you through each one to the very end.

He will also transform your life to the point where you will no longer be bound by the things that hold you back from becoming all you can be in Christ.  He promises that you will become a new creation,              (2 Corinthians 5:17) He will remove all fear that can sometimes paralyze you, (1 John 4:18) and as you spend time in His Word and allow Him to renew your mind with the truth of His Word, He will give you a sound mind.  (2 Corinthians 10:4,5, Colossians 2:8, 2 Timothy 1:7) You will see the healing He will do in you, as the power of the truth of His Word washes away the lies and painful memories and breaks away the chains that seem to hold you back from truly living your life.  And you will begin to see His strength being made perfect in the areas where you find yourself weak.  (2 Corinthians 12:9,10)

The day will come when you can look back and see just how far He has brought you from the person you once were.  At times you will even get a glimpse of the good He can bring out of some of the painful circumstances that are so deeply hard to comprehend why they happened, and you may even see at times, how He will use it all in some way for His glory…if you choose to trust Him and allow Him to.

I could have made this poem much longer, but I wanted to end it the way I did, because sharing the gospel with those who are in need of the understanding that in spite of how wonderful and loving they might be, they are, as all of us are, sinners in need of a Savior, and need to hear the truth that God has revealed to us.   And if Jesus is truly first in our lives, sharing this truth with others, should be of the utmost importance to us.

Also, sharing the gospel with others, was really the last command Jesus gave us as believers, and next to loving God with all our heart, soul, mind, and strength, (Mark 12:30) and ‘contending for the faith that was once for all entrusted to the saints,’ (Jude 1:3) it is the most important role and responsibility we have.  (More on that in an upcoming poem, Lord willing, next year, which is actually less than 2 hours away as I find myself typing this.)

As this year 2010 draws to an end, I encourage all of you who have placed your trust in Christ alone, to live your life during this coming New Year in such a way, that at the end of each day you can look back and have no regrets.  And if you find yourself having regrets because of  a wrong choice you have made, remember that His mercies are new every morning,’ (Lamentations 3:19-24) and that if our hearts are filled with a godly sorrow that causes us to choose to turn from our sin, and ‘if we confess our sins, …He will be faithful and just and will forgive us our sins and purify us from all unrighteousness.’  (1 John 1:9)

Make the most of every opportunity that God gives you to share His love and truth with all He brings your way, and seek to know His Word well, and to love Him with all your heart.

Those of us who claim to be Christians, have a responsibility, which is also a privilege, to share His truth with those He places in our lives…The truth that we are all separated from a Holy God because of our sins, and that our good works and every attempt we make to be accepted by God, are as filthy rags to Him.  (Isaiah 64:6)

They also need to hear the truth that is not always told today…that there is a literal hell (eternal fire… Matthew 18:8, 25:41, Jude 1:7) that God created for the devil and his angels, (Matthew 25:41) where we were all destined to go before God chose to show His love for us and sent Jesus to paid our debt.  This is the good news of the gospel that above all, they need to hear…Jesus took God’s wrath upon Himself, that was meant for each of us because of the sinful choices we make, and if we receive this gift of salvation, and are filled with a godly sorrow that brings repentance (Luke 13:3,5) (Acts 3:19, Mark 1:15) that leads to salvation, (2 Corinthians 7:10) and believe and trust in the truth presented in His Word, we will have the assurance of eternal life.  (1 John 5:10-13)

Eternity, as you know, is forever, and many of our loved ones do not have a healthy fear of God, and are still not even aware of the fact that they are sinners and how they need to place their trust in Christ alone and not in their good works.  Only God can draw them to Himself and open their minds to the truth of His Word, but we must be faithful to plant the seeds of truth in their hearts.   As we continue to pray that God would prepare their hearts to receive the truth of His Word that goes forth and accomplishes what He sends it to do,  (Isaiah 55:6-11) rest in the fact that He is in control, and share the truth of His Word with gentleness and with respect.  And as frustrated as we may get at times, remember that it’s only God who can do this work of salvation in their hearts…we need only to be faithful to share His love and truth with them, and trust Him with the results.  (1 Corinthians 3:6,7)

I don’t know about you, but my deepest spiritual desire is to live my life in such a way that when I stand before Him, even though it will be by grace alone that I will enter heaven, I want so much to hear Him say to me…”Well done, good and faithful servant.”  I am sure that many of you reading this share that same desire.

God bless you and thank you very much for stopping by to read my poems.  More poems coming in the near future, and Lord willing, I will soon be posting them as well as the first chapter of the book I am in the process of writing.  And again, I will be uploading it (Chapter 1 of my book) under ‘Pages,’ which will appear on the heading of my Living4HisGlory’s Blog, along with ‘Living4HisGlory’s Favorite Scriptures’ etc.

May God bless each of you in 2011.  And for those of you who have given your lives to Christ,  pray along with me that God will give each of us a new passion to share His love and truth with our family, friends and others, and that we will allow God to purify our hearts from all sinful behavior and attitudes, so we can reflect His holiness, love, mercy, and grace to a lost world, and in doing so, we will also prove our love and commitment to Jesus Christ. (John 14:15)

LOOKING BACK

Looking back upon my life,

There was so much heartache and so much strife,

But You were there through it all,

Even before You heard me call,

Upon the one and only name,

That can deliver us all from our sin and shame,

Jesus, Your one and only begotten Son,

Who bore my sin and my freedom had won,

Freedom from sin and fear that held me in chains,

Released from all bondage so that no fear remains,

Recreated in Christ so that all things are new,

Transformed by Your Spirit, so Your will I can do,

Sharing Your truth with those who will hear,

Your gospel of repentance and grace, when gripped by a holy fear.

Copyright© 2010 Mary K. Dalke/Living For His Glory/Living4HisGlory All rights reserved.

Picture from Photobucket- WomanSilhouette – WadingWaterWhiteGlowBlackWhiteMoon

