INTRODUCTION

For those of you who have received Jesus as your Savior from sin, (by placing your trust in His death alone as being sufficient to pay your debt to sin) and have made the choice to turn your back on who you once were, to show your love and commitment to Him, and to allow His Holy Spirit to transform you into the image of Christ…have you ever wondered and asked God where you’d be now if God had not chosen to reveal His love and truth to you?  Well, around the same time I wrote the poem, ‘LOOKING BACK,’ I was also thinking rather seriously and deeply about that very thing.  And as I did, I also began to express from the depths of my heart, appreciation and gratitude to God for hearing my cries during  some of the most painful times in my life, and setting me free, and placing my feet upon a solid Rock.

I began to reflect back to those days when I had no hope, and tried to imagine what my life would be like now, if God had not set me free from sin and despair…the same sin and despair that perhaps many of you have also been set free from, or for others, the same sin and despair that you may still be consumed and bound by. 

I found myself thinking about these things, because one day I was expressing my thanks to God for revealing His truth to me, and praised Him as I reflected upon just how much He has healed me from all I have been through in life.  Who I am today is all because of what God has done in my life.  Even though I am far from perfect, He has healed me emotionally and mentally  from all the manipulation and rejection, and because of His grace and strength being continually made perfect in my weakness, I am no longer bound to so many fears that held me back from becoming the person God desires me to be.

After I became a Christian, I was encouraged to go for counseling in the hopes of receiving godly wisdom to help me deal with the way my husband was treating me, but when I went I only received ungodly counsel.  It was then that I decided I was only going to seek God in His Word for emotional healing and wisdom.  God showed me in His Word that He is my counselor and His Word is all I need for wisdom and direction for my life.  His Word became so alive to me!   As I continued to renew my mind with the truth of His Word, I saw how faithful God was to see me through each situation I faced.  This gave me the courage to step out and trust Him more.   Just as Moses was able to get past his fears and inadequacies when he placed his trust in how powerful and mighty God is and proved Himself to be, I also began to developed a deep trust in Him.   God enabled me to face ridicule and deception, and confront my husband in love, with ‘words of wisdom that he was not able to resist or gain say.’ (Luke 21:15…one of many verses God showed me to reveal Himself to me.)

Even though my husband claimed the reason he chose to leave me was because I changed so much since I became a Christian, I am certain that he still would have left me if I had not come under the convicting power of the Holy Spirit, and found hope and healing through Christ and the blood He shed for us all.  What Satan meant for evil, God used for my good.

Divorce is never in God’s perfect will, but when an unbeliever is unwilling to turn from wrong choices, and does not have a willingness to become united as one with their spouse because of their own sins and painful past, and leaves, God allows it so as not to bring mental and emotional destruction to the innocent believing, though not perfect partner.  (1 Corinthians 7:10-16)

Even though I don’t think I would have turned to alcohol or other drugs to numb the emotional pain I felt from my husband’s rejection and behavior if God had not chosen to reveal Himself to me, I know I would have remained in that ‘shut down mode’ I found myself in because of all I had been through in life.  I probably would have tried to fill the void in my life with material things that would only be a temporary ‘fix’ to bring me some type of satisfaction, and I would still have a deep lack of trust in men and their intentions towards me, placing them all in the same category of untrustworthy, cruel, and unloving. 

Without Christ and His Word to renew my mind, I am certain I would have been consumed by hurt, frustration, anger, unforgiveness, bitterness, and pride, and would have continued to blame him and my past for the reason I was fearful and not confident.  It was only when God opened my eyes to see and understand the depth of His love and the truth in His Word, that God began to build a confidence in me that came from Him alone.  Every time I would open His Word, He would have me constantly open up to many Scriptures that showed me I was not to be afraid, and that it was a choice to ‘be strong and courageous.’  I still remember by heart, the definition of the word ‘courage’ that my first Bible Study teacher gave us…”Courage is not necessarily the absense of fear, but the determination to do what must be done.”

It was with courage that I stepped out and trusted God and faced my husband, time and time again, confronting him with God’s strength and love in my heart.  The truth of God’s Word began to take root in my heart, and little by little, day after day, I saw how God was giving me His strength and wisdom to deal with every difficult situation I had to face, and He did make me a new creation in Christ!  (2 Corinthians 5:15-17)

And even though this did not end the way I had prayed and believed it would, I am not angry at God and have no regrets for waiting as long as I did, because my desire was to glorify God and love Him for who He is and not for what He would (or will) do for me.  We must all come to that place when we surrender our lives to Christ…to love and trust Him, no matter what, and live for Him no matter what the cost, because He is worthy to be praised!

Many of you who find yourself reading this, I am sure, will be able to identify with this poem, because we all at one time or another, build walls and fear getting involved with someone when we have been deeply hurt from those we love and trusted.  My main goal in writing this poem, is to show you there is hope in Christ.  He has renewed and transformed my mind and my life, and I know for sure He can do the same for you.  Please start by reading God’s Word daily, and allow Him to reveal His love and truth to you.   And if you choose to surrender your life completely to Him, I promise you He will fill that deep and empty void in your life, renew your mind from all you have been through, and give you His courage and strength to deal with all that happens in life.  And His love that will then fill your heart, will in time, allow you to give and receive love again. 

No matter where you find yourself at this point in time, no matter how deep in sin you may be, no matter how unworthy you may feel… come to Him and allow Him to wash your heart clean.  If you place your trust in Jesus’ death as being sufficient to pay for the guilt of your sin, God will fill you with His Holy Spirit and give you a new life washed and renewed by the precious blood of His one and only Son, Jesus Christ.  Your past sins forever cast into the deepest sea, (Micah 7:19) and they will be as far as the east is from the west,  (Psalm 103:12) never to be remembered again.  (Jeremiah 31:34, Hebrews 8:12, Hebrews 10:17)

****NEW UPDATE**** Saturday, January 15, 2011 , For those of you who are interested, last night, Friday, January 14th, 2011, I posted Chapter 1 of the book I believe God is leading me to write about my life.  If you’d like to read it, click on ‘CHAPTER ONE ‘DARING TO HOPE,’  under ‘PAGES,’ located in the side bar.  Also, Wednesday night, January 12th, I completed and posted the introduction to my  book.  If you’d like to read that, just click on ‘A GLIMPSE INTO THE LIFE OF LIVING4HISGLORY…INTRODUCTION TO CHAPTER ONE,’  under ‘PAGES as well.’  (Please read that first before reading Chapter 1)  My desire is to use all the pain I went through to help others (especially young girls)  discover what I have found; that our worth and value comes from what God says about us, and that hope and healing can be found through coming to know Jesus Christ and renewing our minds by reading the truth of His Word, the Bible.   

I also want these young girls and everyone else to understand, that having a personal relationship with God fills the void that we all have in our hearts that we all seek to fill at some point in time.  Many who do not have a personal relationship with God (through making a choice to turn from sin and placing our trust in Christ’s death and bodily resurrection as being sufficient for our salvation,  and not in our ‘good works’) try and fill that deep void that we all have, with behavior and relationships that only bring us regret and heartache.  But placing our trust completely in Christ, and putting God first in every area of our lives,  brings deep healing, peace that goes beyond all human understanding, and satisfaction that nothing in this world could ever bring to you.

When this book is completed and published, my prayer is that God will use His Word and my testimony, to plant seeds of hope and encouragement in many hearts, and also point many to seeking Him with all their hearts.  They will find Him to be as loving, faithful, and merciful as I, and many other people have found Him to be.

“You will seek Me and find Me when you seek Me with all your heart.”  Jeremiah 29:13

Because  I am trying very hard to get all my priorities in order the way God would want them to be, I will not be posting poems  as frequently as I have been.  However, I will continue to write them, and, Lord willing,  will be posting  one of a few that I am still working on sometime during the first week of February.

   *** NEW UPDATE JANUARY 18th 2011 *** ONE FINAL THOUGHT

Grace is not something we can earn, as I was once taught in the religion I was raised in, but it is God’s unmerited favor, simply understood this way…

Gods

Riches

At

Christ’s

Expense.

God’s Word says,  “For it is by grace you have been saved, through faith–and this not from yourselves, it is the gift of God–not by works, so that no one can boast.”  (Ephesians 2:8,9)

“And if by grace, then it is no longer by works; if it were, grace would no longer be grace.”  (Romans 11:6)

“For you know that it was not with perishable things such as silver or gold that you were redeemed from the empty way of life handed down to you from your forefathers, but with the precious blood of Christ, a lamb without blemish or defect.”  (1 Peter 1:18,19)

“But when the kindness and love of God our Savior appeared, He saved us, not because of righteous things we have done, but because of His mercy.  He saved us through the washing of rebirth and renewal by the Holy Spirit, whom He poured out on us generously through Jesus Christ, our Savior, so that having been justified by His grace, we might become heirs having the hope of eternal life.”  (Titus 3:4-7)

 SONGS TO BLESS YOU

This is one of my most favorite songs of all times.  It came to my mind when I was writing this poem, and I wanted to share it with you.  It clearly expresses my appreciation to God for reaching out and saving a lost and rebellious sinner like me.  If it wasn’t for His grace that saved me, and because of His mercy, I don’t know where I’d be.  I pray it will bless you as you listen…



 Just heard this beautiful song today (1/8/11) for the first time on my way home from work, and found it on YouTube.  It goes beautifully with all I have shared with you here.  Hope you enjoy it…

God bless you, and thank you very much for stopping by to read my poems : )

SCRIPTURES FOR YOU TO REFLECT UPON

“He lifted me out of the slimy pit, out of the mud and mire; He set my feet on a rock and gave me a firm place to stand.”  (Psalm 40:2) 

“A man’s spirit sustains him in sickness, but a crushed spirit who can bear?”         (Proverbs 18:14)

“He heals the brokenhearted and binds up their wounds.”  (Psalm 147:3)

“The LORD is close to the brokenhearted and saves those who are crushed in spirit.”  (Psalm 34:18)

“I will give them an undivided heart and put a new spirit in them; I will remove from them their heart of stone and give them a heart of flesh.”  (Ezekiel 11:19)

“I will give you a new heart and put a new spirit in you; I will remove from you your heart of stone and give you a heart of flesh.”  (Ezekiel 36:26)

“I will praise the LORD , who counsels me; even at night my heart instructs me.”  (Psalm 16:7)

“I will instruct you and teach you in the way you should go; I will counsel you and watch over you.”  (Psalm 32:8)

“You guide me with Your counsel, and afterward You will take me into glory.”        (Psalm 73:24)

“Your Word is a lamp to my feet and a light for my path.”  (Psalm 119:105)

“Your statutes are my delight; they are my counselors.”  (Psalm 119:24) 

“Godly sorrow brings repentance that leads to salvation and leaves no regret, but worldly sorrow brings death.” (2 Corinthians 7:10)

“You will again have compassion on us; You will tread our sins underfoot and hurl all our iniquities into the depths of the sea.”  (Micah 7:19)

“As far as the east is from the west, so far has He removed our transgressions from us.”  (Psalm 103:12)

“For I will forgive their wickedness and will remember their sins no more.”         (Jeremiah 31:34) (Hebrews 8:12)

“Their sins and lawless acts I will remember no more.”  (Hebrews 10:17)

“Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged.”  (Deuteronomy 1:21)

“The LORD Himself goes before you and will be with you; He will never leave you nor forsake you.  Do not be afraid;do not be discouraged.”  Deuteronomy 31:8)

“Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged.”  (Joshua 8:1)

“Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged.  Be strong and courageous.”                (Joshua 10:25)

“For I am the LORD, your God, who takes hold of your right hand and says to you,  Do not fear; I will help you.”  Isaiah 41:13

WHERE?

Where would I be if You had not opened my eyes,

To see Your grace and mercy, and free me from the sinful pleasures I now despise?

I am sure I would still be…alone and filled with anger, crushed from hurt, without any

 hope,

Paralyzed from fear and rejection, and turning to material pleasures to help me cope,

Where would I be if You had not heard and responded to my cries,

And revealed Your truth that set me free from false doctrines and deceitful lies?

I would be religious, but not righteous, still rejected and cast aside,

Building walls to protect myself and to withdraw from others, becoming hard-hearted

and full of pride,

Where would I be if You had not faithfully pursued me for all those years,

You were there every time I cried out to You, Your plan of redemption unknowingly

 would soon bring me truth that would cleanse me from sin and remove all my fears,

I would still be…under Your wrath,

And without Your Word to set me free, and to light my darkened path,

I would be depressed and forever wandering, not knowing Your love and grace,

Hands still clenched so tight by fear, no light or hope upon my face,

Never knowing the joy of salvation, that my debt Christ paid in full,

Never knowing how Your strength could be made perfect in my weakness, and break

sin’s unending pull,

Never knowing Your truth that flooded my soul,

That healed my broken heart and made me whole,

Painful moments meant to break the hearts of those You choose,

So we would look to You alone, and find new life, with just our sin and pain to lose,

Melting hearts of stone in the flames of affliction,

To help us see our need for You, as You expose our sinful hearts with conviction,

In the midst of loneliness and suffering there’s so much we’ll never understand,

But He longs to heal your broken heart, just reach out and take His hand.

 

Copyright©2011 Mary K. Dalke/Living4HisGlory/Living For His Glory

Picture obtained from Photobucket – Heartbreak-1

Scripture added to picture on Photobucket by Mary K. Dalke

 

 

