Capture And this is life eternal, that they may know thee

INTRODUCTION

One day I heard the song by ‘Casting Crowns,’  ‘ To Know You,’ (which I have posted for you below) and I began to think about what knowing Jesus Christ means to me personally.  Now that my life has settled down a little, and my home is much more in order, I finally had the time to look up Scriptures and reflect upon that idea enough to gather my thoughts, and finish the following poem that I started to write a while ago. 

Not only did I want to write this poem as a reflection of what knowing Jesus means to me personally, but I also wanted to write it in such a way that will cause each one of us to take a good look at our lives, because if we sincerely are followers of Jesus Christ, not only should we be allowing God’s Holy Spirit to clean up our lives so that we  can be true reflections of His love and holiness, (not meaning in a legalistic manner) but we must also be learning to trust Him even in the deepest, darkest moments in our lives.

My main focus in this poem is to encourage you with the hope that I have found in choosing to trust God when I was in the midst of the many painful trials that came my way, and to give to those of you who have not yet placed your trust in Christ alone, a realistic view of what being a follower of Christ is really like.  It’s not being ‘religious,’  and having a righteousness of our own, because God’s Word says ‘all our righteous acts are like filthy rags’ in His sight.  (Isaiah 64:6)

Following Jesus doesn’t mean your life will be free from trouble, and overflowing with financial and other blessings, as some preachers falsely proclaim.  In reality, Jesus warns us and God’s Word declares, that as His followers we will face many trials…  (John 16:33, 1 Thessalonians 3:3, James 1:2-8, 1 Peter 1:6,7  )  We may not only have to deal with  persecution because of our faith in Christ, and the stand we take in certain situations, but we may also have to deal with physical problems, marital problems, financial problems, and/or rebellious children.  However, we can receive His strength, peace, wisdom, and grace…if we choose to rest in the fact that He is in control, in spite of the circumstances.  If we make that choice to trust Him, and seek His face and ask for His wisdom and grace, we can have peace in the midst of every storm that rages against us, but it is a choice that we must make each time.  Our first reaction may be to worry, but God commands us in Proverbs 3:5 to ‘trust in Him with all our heart, and not to lean on our own understanding,’ of the circumstances at hand.

The testing of our faith will also come… when things don’t turn out the way we have believed and prayed they would, are we going to make that choice to continue to trust God and live for Him…or will we grow bitter and angry, and turn from Him?  I remember the day that was a turning point in my life…After waiting many years with the hope that my husband would one day come to grasp the love and forgiveness of God and be sorry for leaving me and my children, and that he would repent, surrender to Christ, and return home, without going into detail, I instead began to see things grow progressively worse.  I found myself becoming angry at God, because, after all, He was not honoring my trust in Him to bring my husband back home.  Sometimes we lose sight of the fact that God will not violate man’s free will, and that our choice to live for Him does not guarantee that He will always answer our prayers, even when our will is in agreement with the truth presented in His Word.  Inwardly I was devistated by what I would soon have to deal with, and I began to distance myself from God and His Word, because reality was becoming too much for me to bear.  However, one day I opened my Bible, and my eyes fell upon this verse…”When the Son of Man comes, will He find faith on the earth?”  (Luke 18:8)  This verse jolted me into reality…God’s Word spoke very clearly to me, and revealed to me that because of sin, things would continue to get worse in the world, and many would lose their faith and turn from Him because of it.  I realized as I read this verse that I was at the verge of turning away from Him, and that I had to make a decision…was I going to continue to live for Him –no matter what, or was I going to turn from Him if things didn’t turn out the way I had believed He would work things out?  From that point on, the truth presented  in Daniel chapter 3:16-18, that God had also showed me around that same time, became my new statement of confession:”O Nebuchadnezzar, we do not need to defend ourselves before you in this matter.  If we are thrown into the blazing fire, the God we serve is able to save us from it, and He will rescue us from your hand O king.  But even if He does not, we want you to know O king,  that we will not serve your gods or worship the image of gold you have set up.”  God’s Word spoke very clearly to me and the truth that was now in my heart, was that…even if God did not bring my husband back home, I will not turn from God and the only hope and truth presented to us in the gospel, which is by grace alone, through faith alone, in Jesus Christ alone.

I remember the day I was called to the hospital when my dad took a turn for the worse. I prayed and prayed that he would pull through, so I could share the gospel with him again and to talk with him, but he died that day shortly after I arrived at the hospital. For a brief moment I found myself being angry at God, but how could I turn my back on Him?  The gospel was still true, and He was still in control, even though things didn’t turn out as I had prayed they would. “God is not willing that any should perish, but that all would come to repentance,” (2 Peter 3:9) so I just rested in His Sovereignty, and continue to share His love and truth with my family and others, every opportunity that God gives me.

Then there was the actual day my husband first told me he was leaving me, because of how much I had changed since I became a Christian.  God had already prepared me by showing me many Scriptures in my quiet time, that certain things were happening and that he was going to leave me, and even though God had given me His peace and strength, humanly speaking I was heartbroken. When he went upstairs to pack his bags, I grabbed my Bible and went down to the family room. As I opened my Bible, my eyes fell upon  Matthew 5:10-12

“Blessed are those who are persecuted because of righteousness , for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.  “Blessed are you when people insult you, persecute you and falsely say all kinds of evil against you because of Me.  Rejoice and be glad, because great is your reward in heaven…” 

Tears filled my eyes, and God’s presence became so real as He revealed Himself to me through His Word in that moment of sorrow! He becomes more real to us during our hardest moments in life, than the times when we are filled with joy, if we choose to draw near to Him during those painful moments. The truth of God’s Word always has a way of silencing  false accusations, exposing the lies in men’s words, as well as comforting us, and setting us free.

You and I should also be drawing close to God in prayer  and filling our minds with the truth of His Word so that we can not only allow God to conform us into the image of Christ, by having our minds renewed and washed clean from our old and sinful patterns of thinking, caused by the things our minds are exposed to, and by the sinful things we willingly choose to fill our minds with, but we should also seek God, turn from sin, and strive to know His Word well, so that we may also have His wisdom and His heart to share His love and truth with others.  Because of the hope we now have in understanding what Christ has done for us, there should be an urgency within us to reach those whom God has placed within our lives, with the truth of the gospel, relying on God’s Holy Spirit to guide our thoughts and words, as we do.  All we must do is to be faithful to ‘make the most of every opportunity’ (Ephesians 5:16, Colossians 4:5) He presents to us, and God will be faithful to do the work that only He alone can do.

At times, our lives will be filled with many challenges and heartaches, but if we surrender our lives to Christ, we will not only have the assurance that He will never leave or forsake us, (Deuteronomy 31:8, Joshua 1:5, Hebrews 13:5) but we will also have His perfect peace that surpasses all human understanding, constantly guarding our hearts and minds in Christ Jesus, when we choose to pray and not worry about anything that comes our way.  (Philippians 4:6,7)

Thank you very much for stopping by and taking time out of your busy day to read some of my poems and posts.

God Bless You

~Mary Dalke/Living4HisGlory/Living For His Glory

 

 

Below is another beautiful song that brings tears to my eyes every time I hear it.  Hope it blesses you too.  If you have come to understand what God has done to provide a way for you to have a relationship with Him, I am certain that this song expresses your appreciation and the love you have for God as well.  God bless you.

SCRIPTURES FOR YOU TO REFLECT UPON

“Now this is eternal life: that they may know You, the only true God and Jesus Christ, whom You have sent.” (John 17:3) 

“No one who denies the Son has the Father; whoever acknowledges the Son has the Father also.  See that what you have heard from the beginning remains in you.  If it does, you also will remain in the Son and in the Father.  And this is what He promised us–even eternal life.  I am writing these things to you about those who are trying to lead you astray.  As for you, the anointing you received from Him remains in you, and you do not need anyone to teach you.  But as His anointing teaches you about all things and as that anointing is real, not counterfeit–just as it has taught you, remain in Him.  And now, dear children, continue in Him, so that when He appears we may be confident and unashamed before Him at His coming.  If you know that He is righteous, you know that everyone who does what is right has been born of Him” (1 John 2:23-29) 

“For I take no pleasure in the death of anyone, declares the Sovereign LORD.  Repent and live!” (Ezekiel 18:32)

“From that time on, Jesus began to preach,  “Repent, for the kingdom of heaven is near.” (Matthew 4;17)

“They went out and preached that people should repent.”  (Mark 6:12)

“But unless you repent, you too will all perish.” (Luke 13:3)

“Repent, then, and turn to God, so that your sins may be wiped out, that times of refreshing may come from the Lord.” (Acts 3:19)

“In the past God overlooked such ignorance, but now He commands all people everywhere to repent.” (Acts 17:30)

“…I preached that they should repent and turn to God and prove their repentance by their deeds.” (Acts 26:20)

“Remember the height from which you have fallen!  Repent and do the things you did at first.  If you do not repent, I will come to you and remove your lampstand from its place.” (Revelation 2:5)

“Remember, therefore, what you have received and heard; obey it, and repent.  But if you do not wake up, I will come like a thief, and you will not know at what time I will come to you.” (Revelation 3:3)

“Those whom I love I rebuke and discipline.  So be earnest, and repent.” (Revelation 3:19)

“Do not conform any longer to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind.  Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is–His good, pleasing, and perfect will.” (Romans 12:2)

“And this is the testimony: God has given us eternal life, and this life is in His Son.  He who has the Son has life; he who does not have the Son of God does not have life.  I write these things to you who believe in the name of the Son of God so that you may know that you have eternal life.” (1 John 5:11-13)

“But God demonstrates His own love for us in this: While we were still sinners, Christ died for us.” (Romans 5:8)

“This is how God showed His love among us: He sent His one and only Son into the world that we might live through Him.  This is love: not that we loved God, but that He loved us and sent His Son as an atoning sacrifice for our sins.” (1 John 4:9,10)

“Therefore, my dear brothers, stand firm.  Let nothing move you.  Always give yourselves fully to the work of the Lord, because you know that your labor in the Lord is not in vain.” (1 Corinthians 15:58)

“I keep asking that the God of our Lord Jesus Christ, the glorious Father, may give you the spirit of wisdom and revelation so that you may know Him better.  I pray also that the eyes of your heart may be enlightened in order that you may know the hope to which He has called you, the riches of His glorious inheritance in the saints, and His incomparably great power for us who believe.  That power is like the working of His mighty strength, which He exerted in Christ when He raised Him from the dead and seated Him at His right hand in the heavenly realms, far above all rule and authority, power, and dominion, and every title that can be given, not only in the present age but also in the one to come.  And God placed all things under His feet and appointed Him to be head over everything for the church, which is His body, the fullness of Him who fills everything in every way.”              (Ephesians 1:17-23)

“And I pray that you, being rooted and established in love, may have power, together with all the saints, to grasp how wide and long and high and deep is the love of Christ, and to know this love that surpasses knowledge–that you may be filled to the measure of all the fullness of God.” (Ephesians 3:17-19)

“Then I heard a loud voice in heaven say: “Now have come the salvation and the power and the kingdom of our God, and the authority of His Christ.  For the accuser of our brothers, who accuses them before our God day and night, has been hurled down.  They overcame him by the blood of the Lamb and the word of their testimony; they did not love their lives so much as to shrink from death.” (Revelation 12:10)

“…because Jesus lives forever, He has a permanent priesthood.  Therefore He is able to save completely those who come to God through Him, because He always lives to intercede for them.  Such a high priest meets our need–one who is holy, blameless,  pure, set apart from sinners, exalted above the heavens.  Unlike the other high priests, He does not need to offer sacrifices day after day, first for his own sins, and then for the sins of  the people.  He sacrificed for their sins once for all when He offered Himself.” (Hebrews 7:24-27) 

“In the shelter of Your presence you hide them from the intrigues of men; in Your dwelling You keep them safe from accusing tongues.” (Psalm 31:20)

“He who did not spare His own Son, but gave Him up for us all–how will He not also, along with Him, graciously give us all things?  Who will bring any charge against those whom God has chosen?  It is God who justifies.  Who is He that condemns?  Christ Jesus, who died–more than that, who was raised to life–is at the right hand of God and is also interceding for us.  Who shall separate us from the love of Christ?  Shall trouble or hardship, or persecution or famine or nakedness or danger or sword?  As it is written: “For Your sake we face death all day long: we are considered as sheep to be slaughtered.”  No, in all these things we are more than conquerors through Him who loved us.  For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.”             (Romans 8:32-39)

 

KNOWING YOU

Knowing You means I can trust you even though my heart is breaking,

And that I can depend upon your peace and strength at times I would be scared

 or shaking,

Knowing You means I can have the calm assurance that You’ll work all things

together for my good,

Even when a situation doesn’t turn out as it should,

Knowing you means I no longer stand condemned by sinful choices,

Your blood has washed me and my conscience clean, and by rising victoriously, You

now silence all accusing voices,

Knowing You means I no longer try to earn Your love for me,

For now I understand when I was still in sin, out of love You laid down Your life to

set me free,

Knowing You means our hearts are filled with Your Spirit’s overwhelming desire,

To urgently share Your love and truth with others, to warn them of hell’s eternal fire,

Knowing You brings unexplainable joy even in the midst of pain and sorrow,

Your grace always proves to be sufficient for today and for every tomorrow,

Knowing You brings satisfaction that this world can never give,

And a solid confidence that for all eternity in heaven with You I’ll one day live,

Our assurance doesn’t come from any good that we may do,

Only when we turn from sin and place all our trust in You,

Lord, I pray that You would touch the hearts of all who come this way,

And with our voice all of Your own can one day truly say,

“There is no greater joy in life than knowing You,

You paid the price for all my sin, with my heart and life I give You the praise

that You are due.”

Copyright©2011 Mary K. Dalke/LivingForHisGlory/Living4HisGlory All rights reserved.

Beautiful picture by KingJamesBibleOnline.org

