Capture 'It Is Finished' picture

INTRODUCTION

It is finished.”  Never have words been spoken that seem so simple, yet have so much depth and power in their meaning as it relates to the gospel message.  When we come to understand what Jesus actually meant when He said them, these words can bring so much joy to all of us who have never really heard the “good news” of the gospel, and also to those of us who have tried all our lives to find peace with God and acceptance by Him through our own efforts, good works, and religious practices.

At times I reflect back to when I was a child, and remember how before every Easter I would try so hard to be good, to show my love for God and my love and appreciation to Jesus for dying on the cross for our sins.  Being raised   Catholic, we were told to abstain from eating meat on Fridays during ‘Lent,’ the observance of the 40 days before Easter, and I also gave up eating candy; the ultimate sacrifice for a child.  I remember during those 40 days, it seemed that no matter how hard I tried to be good, I ended up being worse than I was at any other time of the year!  I would fight more with my sisters and brothers, and say hurtful things to them that made me feel horrible inside.  I ended up feeling that I could never please God, and felt more distant from Him when I realized just how sinful I was as I attempted by my own efforts to earn His forgiveness, love, and acceptance.  Looking back now, I realize that’s how God wanted me to feel, and how He wants all of us to feel; He wants us all to come to the point of realizing we are sinners in need of a Savior, and that ‘all our righteous acts are as filthy rags’ to Him.  (Isaiah 64:6)

And in 1980, in the midst of all the rejection and heartache I felt during all I was going through in my marriage, I remember the joy I felt when I began to read the Bible, as God began to open up my understanding to the gospel.  I read verses like: 

“For I will forgive their wickedness and will remember their sins no more.”  (Hebrews 8:12)

  “Their sins and lawless acts I will remember no more.”  (Hebrews 10:17)  

As I sought God and questioned all I had learned against the truth of His Word, God opened my eyes to understand that Jesus paid my debt in full upon the cross for all my sin and failure, and all that I did that filled me with guilt and shame.  The truth of His Word filled me with a joy and peace I had never known before!  The fear I had of death for many years soon left me, and I rested in the assurance that Jesus’ death was sufficient to pay the penalty for my sins –just as His Word says.  (In the near future, I will be posting my whole testimony, hoping that God will use it to reveal His truth to those of you who do not yet realize you can have the assurance of sins forgiven and know where you will spend eternity). 

“It is finished.”  …My first Bible study teacher shared with us that those words that Jesus spoke comes from the Greek word ‘tetelestai.’  The literal translation of the word means,  “Paid in full.”  In that time period, all would understand what Jesus was actually saying, because when someone owed a debt, a bill would be written, and when it was paid in full the word, ‘tetelestai’ would be stamped on the receipt.  Clearly Jesus was making it known that He had given His life in place of ours and had paid our debt to sin in full.  What an amazing God we have that He chose to pay such a high price to redeem us!

“As obedient children, do not conform to the evil desires you had when you lived in ignorance.  But just as He who has called you is holy, so be holy in all you do; for it is written: “Be holy, because I am holy.”   Since you call on a Father who judges each man’s work impartially, live your lives as strangers here in reverent fear.  For you know that is was not with perishable things such as silver or gold that you were redeemed from the empty way of life handed down to you from your forefathers, but with the precious blood of Christ, a lamb without blemish or defect.  He was chosen before the creation of the world, but was revealed in these last times for your sake.”                          (1 Peter 1:14-20)

Thank you very much for stopping by and taking time out of your busy day to read some of my poems and posts.

God Bless You

~Mary Dalke/Living4HisGlory

 

SCRIPTURES FOR YOU TO REFLECT ON, AS GOOD FRIDAY APPROACHES

“For the message of the cross is foolishness to those who are perishing, but to us who are being saved it is the power of God.  For it is written,  “I will destroy the wisdom of the wise; the intelligence of the intelligent I will frustrate.” (1 Corinthians 1:18,19)

“Since the children have flesh and blood, He too shared in their humanity so that by His death He might destroy him who holds the power of death–that is, the devil–and free those who all their lives were held in slavery by their fear of death.” (Hebrews 2:14,15)

“The Son of Man did not come to be served, but to serve, and to give His life as a ransom for many.” (Matthew 20:28)

“The reason My Father loves Me is that I lay down My life — only to take it up again.  No one takes it from Me, but I lay it down of My own accord.” (John 10:17,18)

“For what the law was powerless to do in that it was weakened by the sinful nature, God did by sending His own Son in the likeness of sinful man to be a sin offering.” (Romans 8:3)

“Here is a trustworthy saying that deserves full acceptance: Christ Jesus came into the world to save sinners–of whom I am the worst.  But for that very reason I was shown mercy so that in me, the worst of sinners, Christ Jesus might display His unlimited patience as an example for those who would believe on Him and receive eternal life.”  (1 Timothy 1:15,16)

“But God demonstrates His own love for us in this: While we were still sinners, Christ died for us.” (Romans 5:8)

“This is how God showed His love among us: He sent His one and only Son into the world that we might live through Him.  This is love: not that we loved God, but that He loved us and sent His Son as an atoning sacrifice for our sins.” (1 John 4:9,10)

“But when the time had fully come, God sent His Son, born of a woman, born under law, to redeem those under law, that we might receive the full rights as sons.” (Galatians 4:4)

“He grew up before him like a tender shoot, and like a root out of dry ground.  He had no beauty or majesty to attract us to Him, nothing in His appearance that we should desire Him.  He was despised and rejected by men, a man of sorrows, and familiar with suffering.  Like one from whom men hide their faces He was despised, and we esteemed Him not.  Surely He took up our infirmities and carried our sorrows, yet we considered Him stricken by God, smitten by Him, and afflicted.  But He was pierced for our transgressions, He was crushed for our iniquities; the punishment that brought us peace was upon Him, and by His wounds we are healed.  We all, like sheep, have gone astray, each of us has turned to his own way; and the LORD has laid on Him the iniquity of us all.  He was oppressed and afflicted, yet did not open His mouth; He was led like a lamb to the slaughter, and as a sheep before his shearers is silent, so He did not open His mouth.”           (Isaiah 53:2-7)

“Consider Him who endured such opposition from sinful men, so that you will not grow weary and lose heart.  In your struggle against sin, you have not yet resisted to the point of shedding your blood.” (Hebrews 12:3,4)

“Consequently, just as the result of one trespass was condemnation for all men, so also the result of one act of righteousness was justification that brings life for all men.  For just as through the disobedience of the one man the many were made sinners, so also through the obedience of the one man the many will be made righteous.” (Romans 5:18,19)

“For it is grace you have been saved, through faith–and this not from yourselves, it is the gift of God–not by works, so that no one can boast.  For we are God’s workmanship created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God prepared in advance for us to do.”  (Ephesians 2:8-10)

“For Christ died for sins once for all, the righteous for the unrighteous to bring you to God.” (1 Peter 3:18)

“When you were dead in your sins and in the uncircumcision of your sinful nature, God made you alive with Christ.  He forgave all our sins, having canceled the written code, with its regulations, that was against us and that stood opposed to us; He took it away, nailing it to the cross.  And having disarmed the powers and authorities, He made a public spectacle of them, triumphing over them by the cross.” (Colossians 2:13-15)

“I have been crucified with Christ and I no longer live, but Christ lives in me.  The life I live in the body, I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave Himself for me.  I do not set aside the grace of God, for if righteousness could be gained through the law, Christ died for nothing!” (Galatians 2:20,21)

“May I never boast except in the cross of our Lord Jesus Christ, through which the world has been crucified to me, and I to the world.”             (Galatians 6:14)

“But now in Christ Jesus you who were once far away have been brought near through the blood of Christ.  For He Himself is our peace, who has made the two one and has destroyed the barrier, the dividing wall of hostility, by abolishing in His flesh the law with His commandments and regulations.  His purpose was to create in Himself one new man out of the two, thus making peace, and in this one body to reconcile both of them to God through the cross, by which He put to death their hostility.” (Ephesians 2:13-16)

“In Him and through faith in Him we may approach God with freedom and confidence.” (Ephesians 3:12)

“He is the image of the invisible God, the firstborn over all creation.  For by Him all things were created; things in heaven and on earth, visible and invisible, whether thrones or powers or rulers or authorities; all things were created by Him and for Him.  He is before all things, and in Him all things hold together.  And He is the head of the body, the church; He is the beginning and the firstborn from among the dead, so that in everything He might have the supremacy.  For God was pleased to have all His fullness dwell in Him, and through Him to reconcile to Himself all things, whether things on earth or things in heaven, by making peace through His blood, shed on the cross.  Once you were alienated from God and were enemies in your minds because of your evil behavior.  But now He has reconciled you by Christ’s body through death to present you holy in His sight, without blemish and free from accusation–if you continue in your faith, established and firm, not moved from the hope held out in the gospel.  This is the gospel that you heard and that has been proclaimed to every creature under heaven, and of which I, Paul, have become a servant.” (Colossians 1:15-23)

“In the past God spoke to our forefathers through the prophets at many times and in various ways, but in these last days He has spoken to us by His Son, whom He appointed heir of all things, and through whom He made the universe.  The Son is the radiance of God’s glory and the exact representation of His being, sustaining all things by His powerful word.  After He had provided purification for sins, He sat down at the right hand of the Majesty in heaven.  So He became as much superior to the angels as the name He has inherited is superior to theirs.  For to which of the angels did God ever say,  “You are My Son; today I have become Your Father” ?  Or again,  “I will be His Father, and He will be My Son” ?  And again, when God brings His firstborn into the world, He says,  “Let all God’s angels worship Him.”  In speaking of the angels He says,  “He makes His angels winds, His servants flames of fire.”  But about the Son He says,  “Your throne, O God, will last for ever and ever, and righteousness will be the scepter of Your kingdom.”  (Hebrews 1:1-8)

“…it is impossible for the blood of bulls and goats to take away sins.  Therefore when Christ came into the world He said:  “Sacrifice and offerings You did not desire, but a body You prepared for Me; with burnt offerings, and sin offerings You were not pleased.  Then I said, ‘Here I am–it is written about Me in the scroll–I have come to do Your will, O God.’  First He said,  ‘ Sacrifices and offerings, burnt offerings and sin offerings You did not desire, nor were You pleased with them” (although the law required them to be made).  Then He said,  “Here I am, I have come to do Your will.”  He sets aside the first to establish the second.  And by that will, we have been made holy through the sacrifice of the body of Jesus Christ once for all.  Day after day every priest stands and performs His religious duties; again and again he offers the same sacrifices which can never take away sins.  But when this priest had offered for all time one sacrifice for sins, He sat down at the right hand of God.  Since that time He waits for His enemies to be made His footstool, because by one sacrifice He has made perfect forever those who are being made holy.  The Holy Spirit also testifies to us about this.  First He says:  “This is the covenant I will make with them after that time, says the Lord.  I will put My laws in their hearts, and I will write them on their minds.”  Then He adds: “Their sins and lawless acts I will remember no more.”  And where these have been forgiven, there is no longer any sacrifice for sins.” (Hebrews 10:4-18)

“I will make an everlasting covenant covenant with them: I will never stop doing good to them, and will inspire them to fear Me, so that they will never turn away from Me.”  (Jeremiah 32:40)

“…from Jesus Christ, who is the faithful witness, the firstborn from the dead, and the ruler of the kings of the earth.  To Him who loves us and has freed us from our sins by His blood, and has made us to be a kingdom and priests to serve His God and Father–to Him be glory and power for ever and ever!  Amen.” (Revelation 1:5,6)

“The sacrifices of God are a broken spirit; a broken and contrite heart, O God, you will not despise.” (Psalm 51:17)

“Later, knowing that all was now completed, and so that the Scripture would be fulfilled,  “Jesus said,  “I am thirsty.”  A jar of wine vinegar was there, so they soaked a sponge in it, put the sponge on a stalk of the hyssop plant, and lifted it to Jesus’ lips.  When He has received the drink, Jesus said,  “It is finished.”  With that, He bowed His head and gave up His spirit.”                     (John 19:28-30)

“Blessed are they whose transgressions are forgiven, whose sins are covered.  Blessed is the man whose sin the LORD will never count against him.” (Romans 4:7,8)

“Therefore since we have been justified through faith, we have peace with God through our Lord Jesus Christ.” (Romans 5:1)

IT IS FINISHED

“It is finished,”  Three simple words Jesus uttered, before He took His final breath

Yet those words were filled with such truth and power, for He had paid our debt to sin

in full by His death

The sinless Son of God, our Sacrificial Lamb, bore it all that Passover day

The day the Father placed all our sin and guilt upon His Son and had to turn His

eyes away

Jesus felt forsaken by God His Father, but God’s wrath for our sins He did satisfy

God’s will through Jesus was accomplished, “It is finished,” was Christ’s triumphant

final cry

The curtain in the temple from top to bottom was torn in two

To show complete atonement was made by His blood shed for me and you

God accepted Christ’s death, His willing sacrifice, a demonstration of His love for

us all

No matter what we’ve done, if it brings true sorrow to our hearts, forgiveness we will

find, if upon His name we call

Turning from our sin, before His throne we can now enter in, finding grace and mercy

in our daily and desperate times of need

Complete forgiveness and peace you will find, trusting in the finished work of Christ,

if you come in brokenness and for His mercy you do plead

Copyright© Mary K. Dalke/Living For His Glory/Living4HisGlory All rights reserved.

Scriptures taken from The Holy Bible New International Version® Copyright© 1973, 1978, 1984 International Bible Society.  Used by permission of Zondervan.  All rights reserved.

Picture obtained from Photobucket – ‘Jesus’

Updated 4-11-14 Blockquoted and changed color of Scriptures, and corrected a few typing errors.

Updated 10/14/15 Enlarged the print of this post for easier reading.

 

 

