INTRODUCTION

As I was getting ready for church one Sunday morning, I began to think about how God is bringing good out of all the pain I have been through in my past, by helping me share some of those experiences in hopes of bringing Him glory and encouraging someone, and how He is also using my love of writing poetry to do it.

The words ‘ashes to beauty’ came to mind from Isaiah 61, as I reflected upon  how He took me in my brokenness, when I had no hope at all;  When I was in the depths of despair He reached out to me and revealed His love and truth to me.  He filled me with hope by revealing to me how Jesus took God’s wrath He has towards me because of my sins, upon Himself, as well as all the sorrow I have felt from all I have been through, and gave me His peace in place of fear, and filled my heart with joy and praise, because of who He is and for all He has done for me.

God is amazing and desires to have a personal relationship with each of us.  If we choose to place our trust in Him, and surrender our lives completely to Him, putting Him first in every area of our lives, He will bring beauty out of the ashes of our broken dreams, and use us to display to others what He can do in a person’s life, not only to bring Him glory, but also to give hope to those who feel there is no hope left .

 No matter how difficult the circumstances may be that we face in life, if we allow His strength to be made perfect in our weakness, and turn to Him for the wisdom we need to deal with each situation we face, we will one day stand in awe of  what we see that He has done in our lives! 

There was a time when I had no hope.  I had tried everything humanly possible to try and make things work in my marriage.   I am sure many of you can say the same thing, no matter what your situation is or was, or what your circumstances are, or may have been.  But when a person comes to know Christ, even though He never promises to make things turn out the way we think and pray they will, He does promise that He will never leave or forsake us, (Deuteronomy 31:6,8, Hebrews 13:5) and that He will ‘work all things together for our good.’ (Romans 8:28) Knowing this is what enables us  to have hope, and courage to face tomorrow.   No matter what the future may hold for us, we know He is the one who holds our futures safely in His hands, and will somehow bring beauty out of the pain we face in life. 

For those of you who do not yet have a personal relationship with God, through placing your trust completely in the fact that Jesus died in your place (and mine) on the cross to take the punishment you (and I) deserve because of sinful choices, I pray you will turn to Him with all of your heart and seek Him in His Word, the Bible, so that you will find Him.  If you choose to surrender your life to Him and are willing to turn from sin, you will then receive His forgiveness and His peace that surpasses all human understanding, and His strength and joy in the midst of any trial that may attempt to fill your heart with discouragement and sorrow.

God bless you, and thank you very much for stopping by and reading my poems : )

SCRIPTURES TO BRING YOU HOPE AND ENCOURAGEMENT

Therefore, since we have been justified through faith, we have peace with God through our Lord Jesus Christ, through whom we have gained access by faith into this grace in which we now stand.  And we rejoice in the hope of the glory of God.  Not only so, but we also rejoice in our suffering, because we know that suffering produces perseverance; perseverance, character, and character, hope.  And hope does not disappoint us, because God has poured out His love into our hearts, by the Holy Spirit, who He has given us.  You see, at just the right time, when we were still powerless, Christ died for the ungodly.  Very rarely will anyone die for a righteous man, though for a good man someone might possibly dare to die.  But God demonstrates His own love for us in this: While we were still sinners, Christ died for us.”  (Romans 5:1-8)

“Be joyful in hope, patient in affliction, faithful in prayer.”  (Romans 12:12)

“May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in Him, so that you may overflow with hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.”  (Romans 15:13)

“The LORD is good to those whose hope is in Him, to the one who seeks Him.”  (Lamentations 3:25)

“But as for me, I watch in hope for the LORD, I wait for God my Savior; my God will hear me.”  (Micah 7:7)

“You will be secure because there is hope; you will look about you and take your rest in safety.”  (Job 11:18)

“Guide me in your truth and teach me, for You are God my Savior, and my hope is in You all day long.” (Psalm 25:5)

“Why are you downcast, O my soul?  Why so disturbed within me?  Put your hope in God, for I will yet praise Him, my Savior and my God.”  (Psalm 42:5)

“Find rest, O my soul, in God alone; my hope comes from Him.”  (Psalm 62:5)

“For You have been my hope, O Sovereign LORD, my confidence since my youth.”  (Psalm 71:5)

“But as for me, I will always have hope; I will praise You more and more.”           (Psalm 71:14)

“I rise before dawn and cry for help; I have put my hope in Your Word.”            (Psalm 119:147)

“Blessed is he whose help is the God of Jacob, whose hope is in the LORD his God, the Maker of heaven and earth, the sea, and everything in them–the LORD who remains faithful forever.”  (Psalm 146:5)

“The LORD delights in those who fear Him, who put their hope in His unfailing love.”  (Psalm 147:11)

“Hope deferred makes the heart sick, but a longing fulfilled is a tree of life.”  (Proverbs 13:12)

“Know also that wisdom is sweet to your soul; if you find it, there is a future hope for you, and your hope will not be cut off.”  (Proverbs 24:12)

“Do you not know?  Have you not heard?  The LORD is the everlasting God, the Creator of the ends of the earth.  He will not grow tired or weary, and His understanding no one can fathom.  He gives strength to the weary and increases the power of the weak.  Even youths grow tired and weary, and young men stumble and fall; but those who hope in the LORD will renew their strength.  They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint.”        (Isaiah 40:28-31)

“…to bestow on them a crown of beauty instead of ashes, the oil of gladness instead of mourning, and a garment of praise instead of a spirit of despair.  They will be called oaks of righteousness, a planting of the LORD for the display of His splendor.”       (Isaiah 61:3)

 

FROM PAIN TO POETRY

From ashes to beauty,

From pain to poetry,

My life in hindsight, now gives praise to thee,

You’ve taken many painful moments, beyond what I alone could bear,

And helped me form them into poetry, a gift that I could share,

Use them to touch the hearts of those who are broken and without hope,

Give them a hunger to know Your Word, so they may have Your wisdom and grace

 to cope,

Let many come to know Your love, a love so real and true,

Lead them to seek You with all of their hearts, and to cast all their cares upon You,

May each poem be like a seed of truth, inspiring many to seek Your face,

In their moments of pain and hopelessness, I pray they would cry out for Your help

 and Your grace,

May they find the strength I found in You, to deal with life’s unending sorrow,

As You use their pain to draw them close, and help them find hope to face tomorrow.

Copyright©2011 Mary K. Dalke/Living For His Glory/Living4HisGlory All rights reserved.

Scriptures taken from The Holy Bible New International Version® Copyright© 1973, 1978, 1984 International Bible Society.  Used by permission of Zondervan.  All rights reserved.

Picture obtained from Photobucket.  20100909_11-1

Scripture added by Mary K. Dalke on Photobucket

 

 

 

