INTRODUCTION (UPDATED AUGUST 14, 2011)

“What is your life?  You are a mist that appears for a little while and then vanishes.”  (James 4:14) 

So many of us take life for granted and ignore the fact that one day our life will indeed come to an end.  We try to ignore the pain we have experienced in life, and just continue on allowing days to turn into weeks, weeks into months, and before you know it, the months have turned into years.  We are still choosing to carry the painful memories of days gone by, instead of coming to Christ and allowing Him to forgive us of our sins, bear our heavy burdens, and heal us from all that hinders us from becoming ‘a new creation.’  (2 Corinthians 5:17)

Instead of crying out to God for His help, many  choose to numb their pain with alcohol or other drugs, or they attempt to silence their sorrow by trying to find satisfaction in life with material possessions, or many short-lived shallow, and possibly sexual relationships, or involving themselves more in their career with longer hours, aiming for success to fill their empty void.  Some of these things many of us do or have done, so we don’t allow ourselves enough free and quiet time where we  will then come face to face with the realization that we must deal with our pain, sin, guilt, and regrets.

As painful as the circumstances of our lives may be, sometimes we would rather stay right where we are, hiding behind our fears and excuses instead of coming to Christ and forgiving those who have hurt us and moving forward with our lives.  I was at that point many years ago…not able to forgive my ‘husband’ for all he was continuing to do and how he was treating me, but some Christian friends helped me to see that I needed to make the choice to forgive him even though he was not in the least bit sorry for what he was continuing to do.  It was when I came to realize that God requires us to forgive in spite of how others treat us, that I made the choice to forgive him, and God then began a deep healing in my heart and mind, and filled me with His love towards my ‘husband.’  The circumstances never changed, but God began to change me in ways that I could never have imagined, filling me with courage to confront my ‘husband’ and enabling me to speak truth to him in love, in spite of the hurt and rejection I felt.  God gave me divine wisdom to see certain things he was about to do, and gave me the strength to put an end to the deceptive and manipulative things he was doing.  God brought me to the point where His strength was being made perfect in every area where I found myself weak, and I was able to hold my head up high because my worth now came from who I was in Christ, and I no longer allowed my ‘husband’ to  have the power to try and destroy my worth as a person or the courage that God was giving me to face life’s challenges instead of hiding behind excuses and living in fear.

God so desires to reach down into our broken hearts and to heal us and transform us into men and women of strength and courage, using us to be examples of His power so that He will receive the glory, and draw many to Himself as they see just how real God is through our lives.  But we need to be willing to turn from our sins and everything we are using as a substitute for surrender to Him, and to allow Him to use the pain from the circumstances in our lives to conform us into the image of Christ, and to live our lives to bring Him glory.

We need to respond to His voice calling out to us to surrender to Him, before we find that it’s too late and our life has come to an end.  We will not only miss out on the joy of being able to have a personal relationship with the Creator of the universe and the many blessings He would have had for us during this life time, and the many opportunities to lead others to come to understand about the love and mercy of God, but we will also realize that rejecting the love and forgiveness of God through Christ, will be the only reason we will be eternally separated from God and find ourselves in hell, a place of eternal torment created for the devil and his angels (Matthew 25:41) that Jesus laid His life down and God raised Him back up to save us from.

Thank you very much for stopping by and taking time out of your busy day to read some of my poems and posts.

God Bless You

~Mary Dalke/Living4HisGlory

SCRIPTURES FOR YOU TO FOCUS ON  

“Now listen, you who say,  “Today or tomorrow we will go to this or that city, spend a year there, carry on business and make money.”  Why, you do not even know what will happen tomorrow.  What is your life?  You are a mist that appears for a little while and then vanishes.”  (James 4:13,14)

“Then He (Jesus) said to them,  “Watch out!!  Be on your guard against all kinds of greed; a man’s life does not consist in the abundance of his posessions.”  And He told them this parable: “The ground of a certain rich man produced a good crop.  He thought to himself,  ‘What shall I do?  I have no place to store my crops.’  “Then he said,  ‘This is what I’ll do.  I will tead down my barns and build bigger ones, and there I will store all my grain and my goods.  And I’ll say to myself,  “You have plenty of good things laid up for many years.  Take life easy; eat, drink, and be merry.”  ‘ ” But God said to him,  ‘You fool!  This very night your life will be demanded of you.  Then who will get what you have prepared for yourself?’  This is how it will be with anyone who stores up things for himself but is not rich towards God.” (Luke 12:15-21)

“Now there were some present at that time who told Jesus about the Galileans whose blood pilate had mixed with their sacrifices.  Jesus answered,  “Do you think that these Galileans were worse sinners that all the other Galileans because they suffered this way?  I tell you, no!  But unless you repent, you too will all perish.  Or those eighteen who died when the tower of Siloam fell on them-do you think they were more guilty than all the others who living in Jerusalem?  I tell you, no!  But unless you repent , you too will all perish!”  Then He told this parable: “A man had a fig tree, planted in his vineyard, and he went to look for fruit on it, but did not find any.  So he said to the man who took care of the vineyard,  ‘For three years now I’ve been coming to look for fruit on this fig tree and haven’t found any.  Cut it down!  Why should it use up the soil?’   ” ‘Sir,’ ”  the man replied,  ‘leave it alone for one more year, and I’ll dig around it and fertilize it.  If it bears fruit next year, fine!  If not, then cut it down.” (Luke 13: 1-9)

“This is what the Sovereign LORD, the Holy One of Israel says:  “In repentance and rest is your salvation, in quietness and trust is your strength, but you would have none of it.”  (Isaiah 30:15)

“The teachers of the law and the Pharisees brought in a woman caught in the act of adultery.  In the Law Moses commanded us to stone such women.  Now what do You say?”  They were using this question as a trap, in order to have a basis for accusing Him.  But Jesus bent down and started to write on the ground with His finger. When they kept on questioning Him, He straightened up and said to them,  “If any one of you is without sin, let him be the first to throw a stone at her.”  Again He stooped down and wrote on the ground.  At this, those who heard began to go away one at a time, the older ones first, until only Jesus was left, with the woman still standing there.  Jesus straightened up and asked her,  “Woman, where are they?  Has no one condemned you?”  “No one, sir,”  she said.  “Then neither do I condemn you,”  Jesus declared.  “Go now, and leave your life of sin.” (John 8:3-11)

“Godly sorrow brings repentance that leads to salvation and leaves no regret, but worldly sorrow brings death.” (2 Corinthians 7:10)

“Come to Me, all you who are weary and burdened and I will give you rest.  Take My yoke upon you and learn from Me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls.  For My yoke is easy and My burden is light.” (Matthew 11:28-30)

“Therefore, if anyone is in Christ he is a new creation; the old has gone, the new has come!” (2 Corinthians 5:17)

“The LORD is close to the brokenhearted and saves those who are crushed in spirit.” (Psalm 34:18)

“Cast your cares on the LORD and He will sustain you; He will never let the righteous fall.” (Psalm 55:22)

“But when the kindness and love of God our Savior appeared, He saved us, not because of righteous things we have done, but because of His mercy.  He saved us through the washing of rebirth and renewal by the Holy Spirit, whom He poured out on us generously through Jesus Christ our Savior, so that having been justified by His grace we might become heirs having the hope of eternal life.” (Titus 3:4-7)

“When Christ came as High Priest of the good things that are already here, He went through the greater and more perfect tabernacle that is not man-made, that is to say, not a part of this creation.  He did not enter by means of the blood of goats and calves; but He entered the Most Holy Place once for all by His blood, having obtained eternal redemption.   The blood of goats and bulls and the ashes of a heifer sprinkled on those who are ceremonially unclean sanctify them so that they are outwardly clean.  How much more, then, will the blood of Christ, who through the eternal Spirit offered Himself unblemished to God, cleanse our consciences from acts that lead to death, so that we may serve the living God!” (Hebrews 9:11-14)

“Therefore, brothers, since we have confidence to enter the Most Holy Place by the blood of Jesus, by a new and living way, opener for us through the curtain, that is His body, and since we have a great priest over the house of God, let us draw near to God with a sincere heart in full assurance of faith, having our hearts sprinkled to cleanse us from a guilty conscience and having our bodies washed with pure water.  Let us hold unswervingly to the hope we profess, for He who promised is faithful.”  (Hebrews 10:19-23)

“I thank Christ Jesus our Lord, who has given me strength, that He considered me faithful, appointing me to His service.  Even though I was once a blasphemer and a persecutor and a violent man, I was shown mercy because I acted in ignorance and unbelief.  The grace of our Lord was poured out on me abundantly, along with the faith and love that are in Christ Jesus.  Here is a trustworthy saying that deserves full acceptance: Christ Jesus came into the world to save sinners–of whom I am the worse.  But for that very reason I was shown mercy so that in me, the worst of sinners, Christ Jesus might display His unlimited patience as an example for those who would believe on Him and receive eternal life.  Now to the King, eternal, immortal, invisible, the only God, be honor and glory for ever and ever.  Amen.” (1 Timothy 1:12-17)

WOULD YOU BE READY?

Would you be ready if your life ended today?

Would you be ready if death was just one breath away?

Some live as though there were a million tomorrows,

Never repenting of sin, or grieving of sorrows,

We harden our hearts to our sin and our pain,

Never coming to Christ for a new life to gain,

Christ gives freedom from sin, and the pain from your past,

He’ll give you hope for your future, and real peace that will last,

He’ll renew your mind with the truth of His Word,

And heal your emotions from destructive things you have heard,

Your past can be washed away, you can have a new start,

He’ll wash your conscience clean, and heal your broken heart,

Life is so short, don’t keep on ignoring His voice,

He offers you His love and forgiveness, but it must be your choice,

The end will come quickly, time goes so fast,

Today could be your final chance, don’t let this day slip past.

Copyright©2011 Mary K. Dalke/LivingForHisGlory/Living4HisGlory

Scriptures taken from The Holy Bible New International Version® Copyright©1973, 1978, 1984, International Bible Society.  Used by permission of Zondervan.  All rights reserved. 

Picture obtained from Photobucket – LeighsPhotography2-1

Scripture added by Mary K. Dalke on Photobucket

