INTRODUCTION

As I was doing my errands on a very cold winter day, I was amazed at the warmth of the sun that surrounded and warmed me, in spite of the 20 degree temperature.  I began to express my thanks to God for just the simple things we sometimes take for granted, such as the warmth of the sun on an otherwise frigid day.  And that’s how this poem started…with just the first verse on that very cold, but sunny winter day.

Over time, I began to think about the many other blessings I could thank God for: the beauty of a starlit night, the many friends God has brought into my life, and even for the trials that God has allowed into my life.  When I reflect back, I can always see how He uses trials to make Himself more real to me, and to draw me closer to Himself and into His Word, making me stronger and helping me to overcome weaknesses and fears.

Since Thanksgiving Day is almost here, I decided this would be the best time to try and finish this poem, expressing my thanks to God for some of the many things I am thankful for.  ‘Above all,’ my heart is overwhelmed with deep thankfulness because He chose to reveal the truth of the gospel to me; that the costly price for my sins has been paid in full with the precious blood and life of His one and only Son, Jesus Christ.  Because of His mercy alone, He chose to set me free from sin, guilt, and fear.    I am a sinner, being transformed by His grace, forever thankful that Jesus died in my place.  Hmmm…that  rhymes; that may very well be the start of another poem.

Lord willing, I will be taking time next month to try and finish previous poem introductions left undone, so I will probably not write a Christmas poem this year.  The poems I wrote the past two years expressed almost all that’s on my heart to share on the subject, although I do have one I started last year, but will save that for Christmas 2012, Lord willing.

I will also be continuing to work on the ‘YOUNG DECEIVED AND PLACED IN THE PULPIT,’ experience that occurred at my church this summer, and may possibly have it done in December, otherwise I will post it in January.  JULY 26, 2012(UPDATE: I CHOSE INSTEAD TO WRITE ABOUT IT BRIEFLY IN THE INTRODUCTION TO MY POEM ‘>> WARNING YOU WITH TEARS <<CLICK HERE TO READ A BRIEF ACCOUNT OF THAT DAY)  Because of all that is happening at my church, I have been rather preoccupied with doing searches to find information, as well as praying for my pastor, and what God would have me to do…stay there and try to bring change, or search for another church…again.  So, besides the fact that I am finally getting my priorities in order, that is the other reason why I have not been writing as many poems.

Thank you for stopping by, and thank you very much for reading my poems : )

VERSES FOR YOU TO REFLECT UPON

What a wretched man I am!  Who will rescue me from this body of death?  Thanks be to God–through Jesus Christ, our Lord!  So then, I myself in my mind am a slave to God’s law, but in the sinful nature a slave to the law of sin.  Therefore there is now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus, because through Christ Jesus the law of the Spirit of life set me free from the law of sin and death.  For what the law was powerless to do in that it was weakened by the sinful nature, God did by sending His own Son in the likeness of sinful man to be a sin offering.  And so He condemned sin in sinful man, in order that the righteous requirements of the law might be fully met in us, who do not live according to the sinful nature, but according to the Spirit.  Those who live according to the sinful nature have their minds set on what that nature desires; but those who live in accordance with the Spirit, have their minds set on what the Spirit desires.  The mind of sinful man is death, but the mind controlled by the Spirit is life and peace; the sinful mind is hostile to God.  It does not submit to God’s law, nor can it do so.  Those controlled by the sinful nature cannot please God.  You, however, are controlled not by the sinful nature but by the Spirit, if the Spirit of God lives in you.  And if anyone does not have the Spirit of Christ, he does not belong to Christ.  But if Christ is in you, your body is dead because of sin, yet your spirit is alive because of righteousness.  And if the Spirit of Him who raised Jesus from the dead is living in you, He who raised Christ from the dead will also give life to your mortal bodies through His Spirit, who lives in you.  Therefore, brothers, we have an obligation–but it is not to the sinful nature, to live according to it.  For if you live according to the sinful nature, you will die; but if by the Spirit you put to death the misdeeds of the body, you will live, because those who are led by the Spirit of God are sons of God.  For you did not receive a spirit that makes you a slave again to fear, but you received the Spirit of sonship.  And by Him we cry,  “”Abba,” Father.”  The Spirit Himself testifies with our spirit that we are God’s children.  Now if we are children, then we are heirs–heirs of God and co-heirs with Christ, if indeed we share in His sufferings in order that we may share in His glory.  I consider that our present sufferings are not worth comparing with the glory that will be revealed in us. ”  (Rom.7:24,25,  8:1-17)

“But God demonstrates His own love for us in this: While we were still sinners, Christ died for us.”          (Romans 5:8)

“This is how God showed His love among us: He sent His one and only Son into the world that we might live through Him.  This is love: not that we loved God, but that He loved us and sent His Son as an atoning sacrifice for our sins.”  (1 John 4:9,10)

“But thanks be to God!  He gives us the victory through our Lord Jesus Christ.”  (1 Corinthians 15:57)

“And whatever you do, whether in word or deed, do it all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through Him.”  (Colossians 3:17)

“Give thanks in all circumstances, for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.”  (1 Thessalonians 5:18)

“Amen!  Praise and glory and wisdom and thanks and honor and power and strength be to our God for ever and ever.  Amen!”  (Revelation 7:12) 

“Thanks be to God for His indescribable gift!”  (2 Corinthians 9:15)

WORDS AND MUSIC BY PAUL BALOCHE AND GRAHAM KENDRICK

 

 

ABOVE ALL, THANK YOU

Thank you for the sun that shines upon my face,

And surrounds me when the air is cold, just like a warm embrace,

Thank You for the stars that shimmer in the night,

I stand speechlessly in awe of You, Lord, at such a beautiful sight,

Thank You for Your Word that revealed Your truth to me,

And for Your Holy Spirit, who gave me eyes to see,

Thank You for Christ’s righteousness that now covers all my sin,

And for healing me from my painful past, so I am new within,

Thank You for Your strength, that fills me when I’m weak,

And for Your wisdom that You supply, when Your Spirit leads me to speak,

Thank You for the trials that bring me to my knees,

And for Your grace to see me through, so You I then can please,

Thank You for the many friends You have brought into my life,

Welcomed interruptions in life’s heartache and strife,

Thank You for Your peace, that guards my heart and mind,

When I pray to still my anxious thoughts, it’s always there for me to find,

Above all, thank You for Your costly love that transformed my sinful soul,

And for the healing of my broken heart, so I now stand before You whole.

Copyright©2011 Mary K. Dalke/Living For His Glory/Living4HisGlory All rights reserved.  Unauthorized use and/or duplication of any material on Living4HisGlory’s Blog, without express permission from this blog’s author and/or owner, is strictly prohibited.  Exerpts and links to information may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Mary K. Dalke and Living4HisGlory’s Blog, with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Scriptures taken from The Holy Bible New International Version®1973, 1978, 1984, International Bible Society.  Used by permission of Zondervan.  All rights reserved.

Photo obtained from Photobucket – ‘Starry Night’ by ‘DeathCrypt-2’

Scripture added by Mary K. Dalke on Photobucket

 

 

 

 

 

