INTRODUCTION

Christmas can be an exciting time as we seek to find that special gift for loved ones, hoping to bring joy to them as they unwrap their gift.  And to hear the squeals of delight from our children as they excitedly tear open their presents, wrapped sometimes as the sun is beginning to rise, makes it worth every minute we spent wrapping them, in spite of the fact that there were times we never quite made it into bed to get some much needed sleep! 

But for many of us, Christmas is now just a reminder of special memories, or painful ones that come to mind for a while because of something that happened, or because we miss a loved one who is no longer with us.  Or hurt and even anger can linger, if we haven’t let go and made the choice (with God’s help) to forgive those who have hurt or left us,  and moved on with our lives. 

Our children may be grown and out on their own, and we may be left either alone, or starting to reconnect with our spouse once again, now that we find our home empty and painfully quiet.

For those of us who are still single, Christmas can be an especially hard time.  We have to face the fact that the year has almost come to an end, and we are still alone.  Loneliness can seem to be overwhelming at this time more than any other time of the year, especially when we see a man and woman, seemingly ‘in love,’ walking together hand in hand, or we find ourselves single among couples at a Christmas party.  

For those of us who are Christians, we long for God to one day bring that special someone who will complete us, even though we are already complete in Him.  We trust that day will one day come, but the lonliness can still be very real at times.

For some, there is a desire to have a child to love and nuture and to treasure every second they could have with them.  And to see children at Christmas makes them long for a child even more, and the emptiness they feel can be hard for them as well. 

MY PERSONAL THOUGHTS

Even though I thought I wasn’t going to write a Christmas poem this year, as I mentioned in my previous post, I found myself feeling sad as I sat in church two weeks ago and watched the children’s choir singing a Christmas song.  It brought to mind the many times I would watch my own children when they were little, singing Christmas songs in church.  How I longed for them to be living for God, or to go back to those days when I was able to hold them close or hold their little hands, and tried my best to teach them and protect them from getting involved with all the evil in the world. 

Then later a painful memory of Christmas past, came to mind…  I remembered when my son waited for his dad to come on Christmas as promised, and I remember seeing him crushed with disappointment, curled up in the corner of our couch, as he waited all day for him to come, but he never came.  I cried out to God in prayer today and asked Him to be the [F]father to my son and to my daughter that they need and never had.  I asked God to love and correct them, guide and convict them, and to do in their hearts what He alone could do.  No anger or bitter feelings came towards my ex-husband, only a realization of the hurt my children have experienced, and the desperate need for them to know the love of their Heavenly Father, and the truth of God’s Word to light their path and to direct their steps in this world that is growing increasingly dark and depraved.

Instead of allowing sadness or loneliness to overpower me this Christmas season, I made the choice to dwell on the hope that Christmas brings, and decided to use what I was going through to write a poem in hopes of encouraging someone else who may be feeling somewhat how I am feeling.

Even though Christmas is rooted in many pagan practices, the fact remains that one day God sent forth His Son into this world to save us from our sins.  Jesus willingly came into this world to ultimately lay His life down in our place.  And because of what Jesus did, He offers us real hope; an assurance of a love that will never leave or forsake us, and sins and failures that can be cast into the depths of the sea, if we will choose to repent (turn from sin) and receive this costly gift of His love and forgiveness .  (Almost finished…another work in progress).

Thank you for stopping by, and thank you very much for taking time to read my poems : )  Merry Christmas and may God bless you with ‘an understanding of the depth of the love He has for you.’  (Ephesians 3:17-19)

SCRIPTURES FOR YOU TO REFLECT ON

“Hope deferred makes the heart sick, but a longing fulfilled is a tree of life.”            (Proverbs 12:12) 

“I have been deprived of peace; I have forgotten what prosperity is.  So I say,  “My splendor is gone and all that I had hoped from the LORD.”  I remember my affliction and my wandering, the bitterness and the gall.  I well remember them, and my soul is downcast within me.  Yet this I call to mind and therefore I have hope: Because of the LORD’s great love we are not consumed, for His compassions never fail; they are new every morning;great is Your faithfulness.  I say to myself,  “The LORD is my portion; therefore I will wait for Him.”  The LORD is good to those whose hope is in Him, to the one who seeks Him; it is good to wait quietly for the salvation of the LORD.” (Lamentations 3:17-26)

“But Christ is faithful as a Son over God’s house.  And we are his house if we hold on to our courage and the hope of which we boast.” (Hebrews 3:6)

“Men swear by someone greater than themselves, and the oath confirms what is said and puts an end to all argument.  Because God wanted to make the unchanging nature of His purpose very clear to the heirs of what was promised, He confirmed it with an oath.  God did this, so that by two unchangeable things in which it is impossible for God to lie, we who have fled to take hold of the hope offered to us may be greatly encouraged.  We have this hope as an anchor for the soul, firm and secure.  It enters the inner sanctuary behind the curtain, where Jesus, who went before us, has entered on our behalf.  He has become a high priest forever, in the order of Melchizedek.” (Hebrews 6:16-20)

“Let us hold unswervingly to the hope we profess, for He who promised is faithful.” (Hebrews 10:23) 

“The reason My Father loves Me is that I lay down My life–only to take it up again.  No one takes it from Me, but I lay it down of My own accord.” (John 10:11,12)

“Yet to all who received Him, to those who believed in His name, He gave the right to become children of God.” (John 1:12)

“For it is by grace you have been saved, through faith-and this not from yourselves, it is the gift of God-not by works, so that no one can boast.”  (Ephesians 2:8)

“Thanks be to God for His indescribable gift!” (2 Corinthians 9:15)

 

 

CHRISTMAS – HOLDING ON TO HOPE

Christmas has a way of bringing memories to our mind,

Some may be treasured moments, some, painful thoughts left years behind,

Or they may be unmet expectations we trusted God would bring to pass this year,

Yet silently we hold on to hope, as we blink away a tear,

For hope was born that holy night, when Christ came to walk this earth,

God wrapped in flesh, unstained by sin, was born to die to bring us worth,

He would know our pain from rejection, betrayal, grief, and loss,

And He would one day bear our sin and shame, when He would bear them

 on the cross,

The virgin birth, a miracle, a child fully God and fully man,

God’s gift of love, to give His only Son, was His redemptive plan,

To bridge the gap between a Holy God and wretched humanity,

The sinless Son of God would one day bear our sin, and take God’s wrath for us

 to set us free,

Jesus came to die so that you and I might live,

Rising from the dead, new life to us He now can give,

We can be washed by His blood, clean and free from sin’s control,

Made righteous in the sight of God, our minds renewed, our hearts made whole,

In the midst of this Christmas season, when loneliness and sorrow attempts to

 affect our ability to cope,

I pray you will reflect upon these truths, and make the choice to keep holding

 on to hope,

God is always faithful, in spite of what we may or may not see,

His will is all we should desire, His grace, our strength will always be.

Copyright© 2011 Mary K. Dalke/Living For His Glory/Living4HisGlory All rights reserved.  Unauthorized use and/or duplication of any material on Living4HisGlory’s Blog, without expressed permission from this blog’s author and/or owner,  is strictly prohibited.  Exerpts and links to information may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Mary K. Dalke and Living4HisGlory’s Blog, with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Picture obtained on Photobucket – Artwork2copy-2

Scripture added by Mary K. Dalke on Photobucket

