INTRODUCTION

Before I begin my day I always start by reading a chapter from the Bible.  On Friday, January 6, 2012, as I was reading chapter 1 in Ephesians — though I have read Ephesians many times before — the beautiful words “for the praise of His glory”  caught my full attention for the first time.  I also thought that would make a wonderful title and subject for a poem, and even wrote the last few verses of the following poem that morning.

The following day at work when I checked my schedule, I found out they had again added more time for me to work on Saturdays.  So much could be said, but I will just simply say that I have been taken advantage of and treated unfairly, as many others there have been, and in that moment, I was overwhelmed by frustration, hurt, and anger.  I silently expressed my anger to God, and I must admit, though I do not have a problem with anger, I did throw around a few boxes as I worked that day!

A lot of thoughts went through my mind, but I knew I had to make the choice to trust that God was still in control, and that He had a reason for allowing this to happen…  Maybe I would be spared from being in an accident, or maybe I would be able to witness to someone at work that I would not be able to witness to, if I would not have worked that extra half an hour they now added to my 3 extra hours they had recently added on to my Saturday’s schedule.  😦 Only God knows the reason, but I just wanted to continue to live in a way that would honor God, and staying angry and frustrated was not going to bring God glory.

I forced my mind off the thought that “God doesn’t care,” among many other thoughts that were leading me deeper into being angry and frustrated, and chose a Scripture to focus on that would help me to get my thoughts back in line with the truth in God’s Word, and to honor God and show Him that I will choose to trust Him in spite of the way I am being treated.  The verse that came to my mind was,  “…for the joy set before Him, He endured the cross.”  (Hebrews 12:2)  I began to think about all that Jesus went through, taking the punishment for all my (our) sins–past, present, and future–and realized what I am going through now, is nothing compared to the sufferings Jesus endured taking God’s wrath that I deserve for my sins upon Himself!  That thought helped me put things back into perspective, and by His grace and with His strength alone, I was determined to believe and trust God and live for Him…no matter what.

When I got home that night and read those verses in Ephesians again, they began to take on a deeper and more personal meaning, because I want so much to be able to live my life in such a way that I will bring God praise and glory, and not shame and dishonor, even when I am being treated unfairly.

As true followers of Christ, we must all make that choice to die to our rights and desires, and to turn from sin, ‘for the praise of His glory.’

God bless you, and thank you very much for stopping by and for reading my poems.

SCRIPTURES FOR YOU TO REFLECT UPON

“Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, who has blessed us in the heavenly realms with every spiritual blessing in Christ.  For He chose us in Him before the creation of the world to be holy and blameless in His sight.  In love He predestined us to be adopted as His sons through Jesus Christ, in accordance with His pleasure and will–to the praise of His glorious grace, which He has freely given us in the One He loves.  In Him we have redemption through His blood, the forgiveness of sins, in accordance with the riches of God’s grace that He lavished on us with all wisdom and understanding.  And He made known to us the mystery of His will according to His good pleasure, which He purposed in Christ, to be put into effect when the times will have reached their fulfillment–to bring all things in heaven and on earth together under one head, even Christ.  In Him we were also chosen, having been predestined according to the plan of Him who works out everything in conformity with the purpose of His will, in order that we, who were the first to hope in Christ, might be for the praise of His glory.  And you also were included in Christ when you heard the Word of truth, the gospel of your salvation.  Having believed, you were marked in Him with a seal, the promised Holy Spirit, who is a deposit guranteeing our inheritance until the redemption of those who are God’s possession–to the praise of His glory.”         (Ephesians 1:3-14)

“Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles, and let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us. Let us fix our eyes on Jesus, the author and perfecter of our faith, who for the joy set before Him, endured the cross, scorning its shame, and sat down at the right hand of the throne of God.  Consider Him who endured such opposition from sinful men, so that you will not grow weary and lose heart.”  (Hebrews 12:1-3)

“And whatever you do, whether in word or deed, do it all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through Him.”  (Colossians 3:17)

“Slaves, obey your earthly masters in everything; and do it, not only when their eye is on you and to win their favor, but with sincerity of heart and reverence for the Lord.  Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the Lord, not for men, since you know that you will receive an inheritance from the Lord as a reward.  It is the Lord Christ you are serving.”  (Colossians 3:22-24)

FOR THE PRAISE OF HIS GLORY

Life is filled with trials that rip at our very soul,

A never ending battle, to keep our thoughts and attitudes under His control,

We sometimes feel like giving up, hope for change seems so unreal,

To think that “God doesn’t really care” is sometimes how we feel,

Things just continue on and intensify, pressure seems only to increase,

It’s then we must choose to live to glorify God, then stress and sorrow

 will begin to cease,

For the joy set before Him, Jesus endured the cross,

His death and resurrection brought about our redemption, sin’s power over us

 is now at a loss,

Those truths brought my thoughts back into focus, for the praise of His glory

 is what I desire,

May all those who have placed their trust in Christ, die to self, and I end

with these words to motivate and to inspire…

For the praise of His glory, I will press on to win this race,

Depending on His strength alone, for sufficient is His grace,

For the praise of His glory, even when hope seems gone, without a trace,

I will trust Him in each trial He brings, till I see Him face to face.

Copyright©2012 Mary K. Dalke/Living For His Glory/Living4HisGlory All rights reserved.  Unauthorized use and/or duplication of any material on Living4HisGlory’s Blog, without expressed permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited.  Exerpts and links to information may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Mary K. Dalke and Living4HisGlory’s Blog, with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Scriptures taken from The Holy Bible New International Version® 1973, 1978, 1984, International Bible Society.  Used by permission of Zondervan.  All rights reserved. 

Photo obtained from Photobucket – cross_sunset-1

