**UPDATE 12/30/12** Lord willing, by tomorrow night I hope to post a poem that I am at this very moment in the process of  writing, entitled ‘OUT OF THE DARKNESS AND INTO THE LIGHT,’  which has to do with what many of us are sadly experiencing in our churches today.  The information I want to add to my previous post will take too much time, which I don’t have enough of at this point.  Lord willing, if I don’t have the time within the next few weeks to update my previous post, I will add the information during the first week of February when I have some time off of work.

**DECEMBER 24TH 2012** I am very sorry that I have not been able to update my previous post yet as promised, but because I  work full time, trying to keep things in order in my home (not to mention preparing for Christmas) has to be higher up on my  priority list right now.

Today I decided to take a break from the somewhat discouraging, but necessary and important task of being a gentle, but strong and silent voice of warning to all of you concerning what’s happening in many of our churches today, in order to try and help us all to get our focus on the main ‘Reason’ for this season, and that is so we can praise and thank God for the gift of His One and Only Son, Jesus Christ. 

So, please take some time with me now to look into God’s Word at some of the Messianic prophecies in Scriptures concerning Jesus Christ, who was (and is) God, wrapped in human flesh, and who entered our world on that silent, holy night — whenever it actually took place — to willingly one day lay down His life (John 10:18) to bear our sin and take upon Himself  the wrath that God intended for us because of our sin and rebellion against Him.  I pray the truth of His Word will fill your heart with joy this Christmas season. 

I pray also for those of you who have not yet come to understand God’s mercy and grace.  The greatest gift of God’s love and forgiveness can be yours, if you will only turn from your sin and no longer depend upon your own ‘righteous acts which are like filthy rags’ (Isaiah 64:6) before a completely Holy God, but that you would place your trust in the finished work of Jesus when He died in your place and mine to become the atoning sacrifice for our sins.

“This is how God showed His love among us: He sent His one and only Son into the world that we might live through Him.  This is love: not that we loved God, but that He loved us and sent His Son as an atoning sacrifice for our sins.”  (1 John 4:9,10)

“But God demonstrates His own love for us in this: While we were still sinners, Christ died for us.”         (Romans5:8)

“For what the law was powerless to do in that it was weakened by the sinful nature, God did by sending His own Son in the likeness of sinful man to be a sin offering.”  (Romans 8:3)

Yet to all who received Him, to those who believed in His name, He gave the right to become children of God.”  (John 1:12)

“Whoever believes in the Son has eternal life, but whoever rejects the Son will not see life, for God’s wrath remains on him.”  (John 3:36)

“He who has the Son has life; he who does not have the Son of God does not have life.”  (1 John 5:12)

“But when the kindness and love of God our Savior appeared , He saved us, not because of righteous things we have done, but because of His mercy.  He saved us through the washing of rebirth and renewal by the Holy Spirit, whom He poured out on us generously through Jesus Christ our Savior, so that having been justified by His grace, we might become heirs having the hope of eternal life.”  (Titus 2:4-7)

“For Christ died for sins once for all, the righteous for the unrighteous, to bring you to God.”                   (1 Peter 3:18)

“Thanks be to God for His indescribable gift!”  (2 Corinthians 9:15)

PROPHECIES RELATING TO CHRIST 

Genesis 3:15 “And I will put enmity between you and the woman, and between your offspring and hers; he will crush your head, and you will strike his heel.”

Genesis 12:3  “I will bless those who bless you and whoever curses you I will curse; and all peoples on earth will be blessed through you.”

Genesis 49:10  “The scepter will not depart from Judah, nor the ruler’s staff from between his feet, until he comes to whom it belongs and the obedience of the nations is his.”

Deuteronomy 18:15  “The LORD your God will raise up for you a prophet like me from among your brothers.  You must listen to him.”

Psalm 2:2  “The kings of the earth rise up and the rulers band together against the LORD and against His anointed…”

Psalm 45:2  “You are the most excellent of men and your lips have been anointed with grace, since God has anointed you forever.”

Psalm68:18  “When you ascended on high, you took many captives; you received gifts from people, even from the rebellious–that You, LORD God, might dwell there.”

Psalm 69:21 “They put gall in my food and gave me vinegar for my thirst.”

Psalm 110:1  “The LORD says to my lord: “sit at my right hand until I make your enemies a footstool for your feet.”

Psalm 118:22  “The stone the builders rejected has become the cornerstone;”

Psalm132:11″The LORD swore an oath to David, a sure oath he will not revoke: “One of your own descendants I will place on your throne.”

Isaiah 2:4  “He will judge between the nations and will settle disputes for many peoples.  They will beat their swords into plowshares and their spears into pruning hooks.  Nation will not take up sword against nation, nor will they train for war anymore.”

Isaiah 7:14″Therefore the LORD himself will give you a sign: The virgin will conceive and give birth to a son, and will call him Immanuel.”

Isaiah 9:2,6,7  “The people walking in darkness have seen a great light; on those living in the land of deep darkness a light has dawned.  For to us a child is born, to us a son is given, and the government will be on his shoulders.  And he will be called Wonderful Counselor, Mighty God, Everlasting Father, Prince of Peace.  Of the greatness of his government and peace there will be no end.  He will reign on David’s throne and over his kingdom, establishing and upholding it with justice and righteousness from that time on and forever.  The zeal of the LORD Almighty will accomplish this.”

Isaiah 11:10  “In that day the Root of Jesse will stand as a banner for the peoples; the nations will rally to him, and his resting place will be glorious.”

Isaiah 25:8  “He will swallow up death forever.  The Sovereign LORD will wipe away the tears from all faces; he will remove his people’s disgrace from all the earth.  The LORD has spoken.”

Isaiah 28:16  “So this is what the Sovereign LORD says:  “See, I lay a stone in Zion, a tested stone, a precious cornerstone for a sure foundation; the one who relies on it will never be stricken with panic.”

Isaiah 42:1  “Here is my servant, whom I uphold, my chosen one in whom I delight; I will put my Spirit on him, and he will bring justice to the nations.”

Isaiah 49:6  “he says: “It is too small a thing for you to be my servant to restore the tribes of Jacob and bring back those of Israel I have kept.  I will also make you a light for the Gentiles, that my salvation may reach to the ends of the earth.”

Isaiah 52:14  “Just as there were many who were appalled at him–his appearance was so disfigured beyond that of any human being and his form marred beyond human likeness–”

Isaiah 53:2  “He grew up before him like a tender shoot, and like a root out of dry ground.  He had no beauty or majesty to attract us to him, nothing in his appearance that we should desire him.”

Isaiah 55:4  “See, I have made him a witness to the peoples, a ruler and commander of the peoples.”

Isaiah 59:16  “He saw that there was no one, he was appalled that there was no one to intervene; so his own arm achieved salvation for him, and his own righteousness sustained him.”

Isaiah 61:1  “The Spirit of the Sovereign LORD is on me, because the LORD has anointed me to proclaim good news to the poor.  He has sent me to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim freedom for the captives and release from darkness for the prisoners…”

Isaiah 62:11  “The LORD has made proclamation to the ends of the earth:  “Say to Daughter Zion, ‘See your Savior comes!  See, his reward is with him, and his recompense accompanies him.”

Isaiah63:1  “Who is this coming from Edom, from Bozrah, with his garments stained crimson?  Who is this, robed in splendor, striding forward in the greatness of his strength?”  “It is I, proclaiming victory, mighty to save.”

Jeremiah 23:5  “The days are coming,”  declares the LORD,  “when I will raise up for David a righteous Branch, a King who will reign wisely and do what is just and right in the land.”

Ezekiel 17:22″This is what the Sovereign LORD says,  I myself will take a shoot from the very top of a cedar and plant it; I will break off a tender sprig from its topmost shoots and plant it on a high and lofty mountain.”

Daniel 2:34,44  “While you were watching, a rock was cut out, but not by human hands.  It struck the statue on its feet of iron and clay and smashed them.  In the time of those kings, the God of heaven will set up a kingdom that will never be destroyed, nor will it be left to another people.  It will crush all those kingdoms and bring them to an end, but it will itself endure forever.”

Daniel 7:13  “In my vision at night I looked, and there before me was one like the son of man, coming with the clouds of heaven.  He approached the Ancient of Days and was led into His presence.”

Daniel 9:25″Know and understand this: From the time the word goes out to restore and rebuild Jerusalem until the Anointed One, the ruler, comes,  there will be seven ‘sevens,’ and sixty-two ‘sevens.’  It will be rebuilt with streets and a trench, but in times of trouble.”

Micah 5:2  “But you, Bethlehem Ephrathah, though you are small among the clans of Judah, out of you will come for me one who will be ruler over Israel, whose origins are from of old, from ancient times.”

Haggai 2:7  “I will shake all nations, and what is desired by all nations will come, and I will fill this house with glory,’ says the LORD Almighty.”

Zechariah 3:8  “Listen, High Priest Joshua, you and your associates seated before you, who are men symbolic of things to come: I am going to bring my servant, the Branch.”

Zechariah 6:12  “Tell him this is what the LORD Almighty says:  ‘Here is the man whose name is the Branch, and he will branch out from his place and build the temple of the LORD.”

Zechariah 9:9  “Rejoice greatly, Daughter Zion!  Shout, Daughter Jerusalem!  See, your king comes to you, righteous and victorious, lowly and riding on a donkey, on a colt, the foal of a donkey.”

Zechariah 12:10  “And I will pour out on the house of David and the inhabitants of Jerusalem a spirit of grace and supplication.  They will look on me, the one they have pierced, and they will mourn for him as one mourns for an only child, and grieve bitterly for him as one grieves for a firstborn son.”

Zechariah 13:7  “Awake, sword, against my shepherd, against the man who is close to me!”  declares the LORD Almighty.  “Strike the shepherd, and the sheep will be scattered, and I will turn my hand against the little ones.”

Malachi 3:1  “I will send my messenger, who will prepare the way before me.  Then suddenly the LORD you are seeking will come to his temple; the messenger of the covenant, whom you desire, will come,”  says the LORD Almighty.”

Scriptures taken from The Holy Bible New International Version® Copyright© 1973, 1978, 1984 International Bible Society.  Used by permission of Zondervan.  All rights reserved.

MORE PROPHECIES FULFILLED IN JESUS CHRIST

I’LL END WITH MY FAVORITE CHRISTMAS SONG, ‘O HOLY NIGHT’

