HARVEST BIBLE CHAPEL ROLLING MEADOWS – BEWARE OF MATT CHANDLER

UPDATED 5/6/15 I enlarged and darkened the print to make this post easier for you to read on my new blog design. Lord willing, I will be doing this to all my previous posts, as well, when time allows).

INTRODUCTION

Well, I was planning on spending the day writing my testimony.  However, before I began writing I happened to see this tweet made on Twitter, (by an ‘unnamed person’ who will remain anonymous for their protection) that James MacDonald has informed everyone of the fact that Matt Chandler will be preaching at Harvest this weekend, May 25th and 26th 2013:

Capture james matt chandler

The sermon that Matt preached at Steven Furtick’s 2012 Code Orange Revival (which is the video I posted above) was the only Biblically solid message presented at this ‘revival.’ Matt not only gave a clear presentation of the gospel, but he also gave a much-needed rebuke and correction to Steven Furtick and others at this ‘revival’ who were focusing and praising  themselves and their ministries, rather than repenting, preaching God’s Word, and focusing on and praising God. Those are the true signs of  revival! If you’re interested, I encourage you to listen to his message, when time allows. 

I rejoiced while listening to Matt’s message because he was the only one who presented solid Biblical truth at this ‘revival.’ In spite of the fact that many of us have valid concerns about him, he was still like a light shining in the darkness that night. When he spoke the truths of God’s Word, it exposed the pride and arrogance that was in the hearts of these other pastors as they spoke and praised one another. However, I found it necessary to write this short post in order to warn all of you at Harvest Bible Chapel Rolling Meadows that Matt Chandler promotes mysticism; unbiblical, and even occultic practices that are said to draw a person closer to God. When something other than reading the Word of God in context is suggested to a Christian as a means to have a deeper, more intimate relationship with God, consider it a BIG red flag!

On Matt Chandler’s Village Church website, you will see a list of books on their ‘Recommended Reading’ list. They also have the following disclaimer posted:

Capture Village Church disclaimer

However, as a shepherd who is supposed to watch over and protect his sheep from the many wolves in sheep’s clothing, if Matt does “not endorse or believe all that is written in these books,” wouldn’t you think that he would protect his sheep and not even consider adding these books to their ‘recommended reading’ list? But because of the fact that he promotes ‘contemplative prayer’ as shown in the article posted by Pastor Ken Silva of Apprising Ministries, (see link posted below under ‘Further Reading’) it is clear that he in fact does endorse and believe in mysticism and contemplative prayer.

Here are some examples of the books that promote mysticism that are included on Matt Chandler’s Village Church website on their ‘Recommended Reading’ list. On page 12 the book ‘Sacred Marriage’ by Gary Thomas is listed:

Capture Gary Thomas - Sacred Marriage

Besides writing the book, ‘Sacred Marriage,’ Gary Thomas has also written the book, ‘Sacred Pathways’ in which he says the following which is posted on ‘Lighthouse Trails’ website and ‘quick captured’ for you below:

Capture Gary Thomas Lighthouse TrailsTo continue reading this article and other good information, continuing to test all you read in light of Scripture,  (Acts 17:11), click here.


Also on page 17 of Matt Chandler’s Village Church’s Recommended Reading list, another book, ‘The Ragamuffin Gospel’ written by Brennan Manning, who also promotes mysticism, is recommended:

Capture Brennan Manning Ragamuffin Gospel

Here’s some information on Brennan Manning:

BEWARE OF WOLVES IN SHEEP’S CLOTHING – MIKE GENDRON

BRENNAN MANNING AND CONTEMPLATIVE PRAYER- LIGHTHOUSE TRAILS

In the following video, Pastor Joe Schimmel shares some serious concerns about Brennan Manning and his book ‘The Ragamuffin Gospel.’

All that to say: Harvest Bible attendees, beware of Matt Chandler! Test all you will hear him say against the truth of God’s Word. (Acts 17:11) Search these things out to see if these things are true, and please keep your eyes on Jesus and in His Word so you will never be led astray. I am praying for all of you.

SCRIPTURES FOR YOU TO REFLECT ON

“Now the Spirit speaketh expressly that in the latter times some shall depart from the faith , giving heed to seducing spirits and doctrines of devils…”      (1 Timothy 4:1)

“In the past God spoke to our forefathers through the prophets at many times and in various ways, but in these last days He has spoken to us by His Son, whom He appointed heir of all things, and through whom He made the universe.” (Hebrews 1:1,2)

“Preach the Word; be prepared in season and out of season; correct, rebuke and encourage–with great patience and careful instruction.  For the time will come when men will not put up with sound doctrine.  Instead, to suit their own desires, they will gather around them a great number of teachers to say what their itching ears want to hear.  They will turn their ears from the truth and turn aside to myths.” (2 Timothy 4:2-4)

“Be self-controlled and alert.  Your enemy the devil prowls around like a roaring lion looking for someone to devour.” (1 Peter 5:8)

“Now the Bereans were of more noble character than the Thessalonians, for they received the message with great eagerness and examined the Scriptures daily to see if what Paul said was true.” (Acts 17:11)

“Therefore I declare to you that I am innocent of the blood of all men.  For I have not hesitated to proclaim to you the whole will of God.  Keep watch over yourselves and all the flock of which the Holy Spirit has made you overseers.  Be shepherds of the church of God, which He bought with His own blood.  I know that after I leave, savage wolves will come in among you and will not spare the flock.  Even from your own number men will arise and distort the truth in order to draw away disciples after them.  Remember that for three years I never stopped warning each of you night and day with tears.” (Acts 20:26-31)

FURTHER READING:

ADDED 6/25/15 WARNING YOU WITH TEARS WEDNESDAY – (MORE INFORMATION CONCERNING MATT CHANDLER)

5/25/13 MATT CHANDLER AND VILLAGE CHURCH PROMOTING CONTEMPLATIVE SPIRITUALITY -KEN SILVA ‘APPRISING MINISTRIES’

**ADDED 11/30/13**

CONCERNS ABOUT MATT CHANDLER ‘S THE VILLAGE CHURCH- ‘STEAK AND A BIBLE’

 PURPOSE DRIVEL: MATT CHANDLER, CALVINIST MYSTIC, DOESN’T BELIEVE IN SOLA SCRIPTURA

Not only are people concerned about Matt’s promotion of ‘mysticism/Contemplative Spirituality,’ but also there are many who are concerned about certain things that he teaches.  As you can see from the quick capture below of a portion of a review of Matt Chandler’s book ‘THE EXPLICIT GOSPEL,’ Pastor Gary Gilley of Southern View Chapel explains just one of the problems he finds in Matt’s book, and calls it what it is: “unbiblical.”

Capture Matt Chandler's Book 'The Explicit Gospel'

You can read Pastor Gary Gilley’s  full review of Matt’s book at the link below:

REVIEW OF MATT CHANDLER’S BOOK, ‘THE EXPLICIT GOSPEL’ – BY PASTOR GARY GILLEY

VIDEOS FOR YOU TO CONSIDER WATCHING THAT CONTAIN IMPORTANT INFORMATION THAT YOU NEED TO BE AWARE OF:

EXPERIENCING GOD THROUGH DECEITFUL MYSTICISM

FORMER CATHOLIC PRIEST RICHARD BENNETT AND JAMES SUNDQUIST

VOICES OF THE EMERGING CHURCH

THE REAL ROOTS OF THE EMERGENT CHURCH

CHURCH OF TARES

THE SUBMERGING CHURCH

12 Comments:

  • There are indeed a lot of fanatics these days who are rather “obsessed” with their faith. These fanatics need to be herded back to the right path but not by shepherds who promote further mysticism.

    • Thank you for your comment, Rolling Meadows, Apt. I am not quite sure how to take your first sentence, since true Bible believing Christ followers should be rather “obsessed” with our faith…meaning if we are true Christians, Jesus should be the main focus of our lives, and sharing the gospel with unbelievers should be our greatest desire, knowing the grace and the mercy of God, as well as the fear of God…

      “Since, then, we know what it is to fear the Lord, we try to persuade others. What we are is plain to God, and I hope it is also plain to your conscience. We are not trying to commend ourselves to you again, but are giving you an opportunity to take pride in us, so that you can answer those who take pride in what is seen rather than in what is in the heart. If we are “out of our mind,” as some say, it is for God; if we are in our right mind, it is for you. For Christ’s love compels us, because we are convinced that one died for all, and therefore all died. And He died for all, that those who live should no longer live for themselves but for Him who died for them and was raised again. So from now on we regard no one from a worldly point of view. Though we once regarded Christ in this way, we do so no longer. Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation: The old has gone, the new is here! All this is from God, who reconciled us to Himself through Christ and gave us the ministry of reconciliation: that God was reconciling the world to Himself in Christ, not counting people’s sins against them. And He has committed to us the message of reconciliation. We are therefore Christ’s ambassadors, as though God were making His appeal through us. We implore you on Christ’s behalf: Be reconciled to God. (2 Corinthians 5:11-20)

      However…by your second sentence, I understand you to realize the dangers of mysticism and the importance of shepherds to be aware of the spiritual deceptions that are invading the church, and how they are to be a voice of warning so as to lead them back to the right path…at least I hope that’s what you meant. God bless you, and thank you for stopping by and also for taking the time to make a comment.

  • Thank you so much for your choice to faithfully preach God’s Word. Your preaching has impacted my life and has helped me through some personal challenges with wrong theology. Thank you for not yielding to the “feel good” theology. May God continue to bless you and your ministry.

    • Thank you very much for your encouraging comment, John. Although I would never consider myself “preaching,” since God’s Word is clear about women not having that role, (1 Timothy 2:11,12 http://www.gotquestions.org/women-pastors.html) I praise God that He used His Word that I posted to ‘impact your life and help you through some personal challenges with wrong theology’ as you said in your comment. I am simply a person who was once deceived by false teachings, and when God opened my eyes to see the truth by reading a Bible for the first time I was filled with an urgency to share the Gospel and the truth of God’s Word, as well as to expose deception with whomever would come my way. I consider myself more like a ‘watchman/woman on the wall’ (or should I say “on the Internet” 🙂 ) sending out a loud warning to wake up the slumbering church so they may come to realize the importance of reading God’s Word and testing the words of men (and women, such as Beth Moore, to name just one) who claim to speak for God in light of Scripture (Acts 17:11) so they will not be led into deception.

      There is SO much spiritual deception entering many churches today in the name of ‘Christianity,’ as well as the “feel good” theology that you rightly mentioned. That is why it is so very important to read and study God’s Word so we will not be enticed and led astray by these things. I will be writing about ‘Mysticism in the Church’ in the future because of how widespread these teachings and practices are becoming.

      Thank you, John. And may God continue to bless you with discernment as you read and study His Word, and use you for His glory wherever He may lead you.

  • Ryan

    How can you post something denouncing the teaching of a man of God who faithfully teaches the Word of God, who is faithful to the text, and your entire basis of that is a couple of books on a ‘selective reading list’? You did not give one example of Matt promoting one of those topics in his actual preaching! I am shocked and saddened that people do this.. Getting off on defaming a faithful preacher of the Word without any good reason – it is arrogance that I see – that you possess some kind of secret insight into the heart of great men of God, that you can denounce them, in essence saying that you are more spiritual and biblically accurate then they are.. Come on man! You might just be immature in your faith, and in that case I humbly rebuke you in love, and pray that the Holy Spirit matured you.. If you are knowingly tearing down people for your own ego or renown, still I pray for you.. I have actually listened to about 80% of Matt’s material (I’m from New Jersey – listen on podcast) and haven’t heard an inkling of what you claim he believes! Please recant this nonsense, in the name of Christ! Love ya bro, but come on!

    • Ryan

      I just re-read my post, and after reading your responses, now know that you are a woman, so I’m sorry for using words like ‘man’ and ‘bro’..

      Also, I realized I came off a little harsh. It’s just that Matt Chandler has really helped me grow in my faith and knowledge of scripture. I was emotionally charged in my response.. Although my tone was harsh, which I apologize for, my reasoning still stands. Love ya sis!

      • Apology accepted, Ryan…I forgive you, brother-in-Christ. I am very glad you are growing in your faith, but please rely on the Holy Spirit to be your main teacher concerning your knowledge of Scripture, (John 14:26) (1 John 2:27) (2 Timothy 2:15) and be cautious concerning who you listen to. And please, again I want to remind you to constantly test everything you read and listen to in light of Scripture.

        Also, please consider checking back within the next few days because I will definitely be adding information to this post that will help you see that the concerns many have about Matt Chandler are valid. I’ll add the information at the bottom of this post under: ‘FURTHER READING.’

        Lord willing, within the months to come I am also planning on writing a post entitled, ‘MYSTICISM IN THE CHURCH’ so that people can see how mysticism and the occult are indeed entering the church today! I have been wanting to write about that for over a year now. In the mean time, please consider searching that topic on YouTube and you will find many videos that will help you see how widespread this is becoming, but again, use caution.

        Jesus warned that spiritual deception would be one of the signs pointing to His soon return, (Matthew 24:4-8) so He could be coming back sooner than any of us can even imagine! God bless you, Ryan.

        “Be on your guard; stand firm in the faith; be courageous; be strong.” (1 Corinthians 16:13)

    • Ryan, thank you for stopping by and thank you for expressing your thoughts, as well. And, yes, concerning what you said in your second comment, you were rather harsh in this first comment you made, but your point was well taken. It reminded me that I need to add more ‘examples’/information to back up the valid concerns I have (along with many other Christians) about Matt Chandler, and I will soon (Lord willing) be adding information so that you can clearly see my warnings about Matt are valid.

      I can assure you that I am not out to bash Matt and I do not claim to “possess some kind of secret insight into the heart of “great men of God.” I am a concerned Christian who has been deceived by men of God in the past, and my desire is to remind Christians of the importance of testing the words of men (and women who teach God’s Word) against Scripture, as the Bereans did in Acts 17:11. Many Christians today have become followers of men and their ministries instead of followers of Christ, (1 Corin. 1:10-13) and forget the many warnings in Scripture about spiritual deception entering the church, (Acts 20:26-31) ( 1 Timothy 4:1) and because I care I am trying not only to encourage people through my poems, but also to warn them through the many posts and poems that I write.

      First I want to remind you that I did commend Matt for his very Biblical message at the Code Orange ‘revival,’ and had a lot of good to say about him. However, sadly many preachers today mix unbiblical teachings and even mystical practices into their sermons, as well as promote them on their websites, and when I see this happen I can’t remain silent. It’s my responsibility before God to warn Christians no matter what people may think my motive is. I can assure you that I am not “arrogant, or “immature in my faith,” and I am not ‘tearing people down for my own ego,’ and I still stand by what I said.

      Harvest Bible Chapel Rolling Meadows was the former church I attended for almost 15 years, (if you want you can read about that in my post, ‘Warning You With Tears’) and when I heard Matt was preaching there, I felt compelled to write this post in the hopes of warning those who attend Harvest Bible Chapel Rolling Meadows so they would know what to look out for. It’s just that I lead a very hectic life, and sometimes I forget to complete a post because all of a sudden something else of great importance comes along, and I start writing about that and forget to go back and add more important details to a post to allow readers such as yourself to see solid evidence for what I claim to be true.

      Just please use caution when listening to preachers today…the size of their ministry does not determine how Biblical they are. Please listen carefully to what every preacher says, pray for discernment, and above all read and study God’s Word so that you can spot errors immediately.

      God bless you, Ryan. I hope you had a very nice Thanksgiving, and pray you have a wonderful Christmas reflecting on the fact that whatever day Jesus was actually born on, He willingly came into this world; God, wrapped in human flesh, came to live a perfect, sinless life that none of us could ever live, to become the perfect sacrifice for our sins.

      “This is love: not that we loved God, but that He loved us and sent His Son as an atoning sacrifice for our sins.” (1 John 4:10)

  • I hardly drop remarks, but i did a few searching and wound up here HARVEST BIBLE CHAPEL ROLLING MEADOWS –
    BEWARE OF MATT CHANDLER | Living4HisGlory’s Blog.
    And I actually do have a few questions for you if it’s allright.
    Could it be simply me or does it appear like some of these
    comments come across like written by brain dead folks?

    😛 And, if you are writing on additional social sites, I would
    like to keep up with anything fresh you have to post. Could you list of the complete urls of
    your communal sites like your twitter feed, Facebook page or linkedin profile?

    • Hi Penelope 🙂 Thank you for stopping by, and thank you very much for taking the time to make a comment, as well.

      In answer to your first question: I always appreciate those who take the time to stop by my blog and those who take the extra time to make a comment. However, I must admit that there have been a couple of times when I have found it rather difficult to figure out what someone was trying to say because they didn’t express themselves enough to make their thoughts clear enough for me to understand, but I would never classify them as appearing “brain dead” as you jokingly (I hope) suggested.

      And concerning your second question: Thank you for expressing an interest in ‘keeping up with anything fresh I have to post’…Everything of importance that I write I always post here, so If you’re interested in keeping up with what I write you can simply click on the ‘follow’ button that’s near the right hand corner of my blog, and every time I publish something WordPress will send you a notification. However, I must tell you that one of my subscribers told me that she does not always receive a notification from WordPress when I publish something, so it’s possible that since my blog is classified as a “poetry” site, they may only notify you when I publish a poem. Originally I started this blog to simply express all the heartbreaking experiences that I have been through in life through poems hoping to reach those who have also been deeply hurt by someone who was supposed to love them but hurt and rejected them instead. The desire of my ♥ is to point people to Jesus Christ so they can see the hope and healing that comes through knowing Him through His Word and through repentance and placing their trust in Him and Him alone. Then when I began to see the many forms of spiritual deception coming into many churches and through those who speak at conferences, and how people were beginning to follow pastors as if they were ‘superstars’ and clinging to their every word and not testing what they were saying against the truth of God’s Word as we are supposed to do (Acts 17:11), I knew I had to begin writing about these things, as well, to warn people of the importance of studying God’s Word so they would not be deceived by these people and by the so-called ‘spiritual practices’ that are being promoted that have their roots in ‘New Age’ Eastern mysticism. All that to say that if you do want to keep up with what I write and choose to click the “follow” button, you may want to check back here every so often to make sure you haven’t missed anything in case it’s true that WordPress will only send notifications out when I write poems.

      Thank you again, Penelope. 🙂 Very nice to meet you! I hope you will be encouraged by the poems you read here, and realize the importance of testing everything in light of Scripture by the many other things you read here, as well. Those of us who are Christians must be followers of Christ, and not followers of men (1 Corinthians 1:11-13) or we may end up being deceived.

      God bless you, Penelope 🙂

  • I visited many blogs but the audio feature for audio songs existing at
    this web page is in fact excellent.


Leave a Reply

