INTRODUCTION

While I am still preparing to write Part 2 of my testimony, (UPDATE: ALREADY WRITTEN AND POSTED) I decided to take some time first to write a poem that I have thought about writing a few years ago. The subject of ‘godly friendships’ was also requested as  an idea for a poem by one of this blog’s faithful readers, who is also a blessing and a great encouragement to me.  So here’s another one for you, Cindy.  And thank you SO much for your encouragement and interest in reading these poems.

Thank you also to those who have subscribed to this blog, and thank you also to those who stop by from time to time.  I appreciate every one of you!  God bless you.

**UPDATED 6/17/13** As I began to think about ‘godly friendships’ in order to gather my thoughts so I could write this poem, many thoughts crossed my mind, and some of the verses of the following poem reflect those thoughts.  I thought about the godly friends that God brought into my life who helped and encouraged me through the many years of rejection and heartache that I endured through the years that I was married.  I thought of the friends I made on the Internet who crossed my path for a few short years and who always seemed to show up just when I needed some encouragement and hope, and then they were gone; some sadly never to be heard from again. 

I thought about other friends I have made on the Internet, some whom I have personally met and enjoyed getting to know, until sadly, life calls them to move on, and your heart breaks and your eyes fill with tears because you hate to see them go.  And I also thought about others whom I have interacted with but have not met, yet still a strong bond begins to form because of sharing the same deep hurt and righteous anger that one experiences when one sees their pastor begin to change and drift from constantly preaching a Biblically solid sermon, to a sermon laced with manipulative thoughts and distorted Scriptures in order to promote his own agenda, and who oftentimes chooses to reject godly advice and valid concerns from godly men and some godly sheep under his care.  It has been a blessing to meet some of you, because when I knew I had to take a stand for Biblical truth and leave my church, Harvest Bible Chapel, Rolling Meadows, a deep sense of loneliness came upon me.  And meeting some of you gave me a sense of connection and healing, because my heart in part is still there, and goes out to all of you knowing how many of you must feel.  Please know I am still praying for all of you, as well as for James, Rick, and all the elders on staff.

Even though many of us may be blessed with godly friendships, we must be cautious because some of us may find ourselves depending on these friends more than on God Himself, when He alone is the only one who can provide the peace that surpasses all human understanding, His grace that is always sufficient to see us through the trials we may face, and the wisdom that can be found in His Word and in times of prayer as we seek Him for the wisdom we need to deal with the heartache and trials that we face, which is why I posted the song below.  Truly Jesus is ‘the Friend of a wounded heart.’

Thank you again for stopping by, and thank you again very much for taking the time to read my posts and poems. God bless you!

(The only thing that bothers me about the following video is the fact that Jesus is portrayed without scars on His hands/wrists.  I wondered if the person who put this video together was part of some type of cult, but didn’t see any evidence in their other videos to support my concern.  I thought that was important to mention, and would have chosen another version of this song, but this was the best choice of the ones that had lyrics).

FAITHFUL FRIEND – TWILA PARIS AND STEVEN CURTIS CHAPMAN

WHAT A FRIEND WE HAVE IN JESUS – PIANO WITH LYRICS

RELATED SCRIPTURES

“Even my close friend, whom I trusted, he who shared my bread has lifted up his heel against me.” (Psalm 41:9)

“You have taken my companions and loved ones from me; the darkness in my closest friend.” (Psalm 88:18)

“A righteous man is cautious in friendship, but the way of the wicked leads them astray.” (Proverbs 12:26)

“Two are better than one, because they have a good return for their work: If one falls down, his friend can help him up. But pity the man who falls and has no one to help him up!” (Proverbs 4:9,10)

“Moses said to Joshua, “Choose some of our men and go out to fight the Amalekites. Tomorrow I will stand on top of the hill with the staff of God in my hands.” So Joshua fought the Amalekites as Moses had ordered, and Moses, Aaron, and Hur went to the top of the hill. As long as Moses held up his hands, the Israelites were winning, but whenever he lowered his hands, the Amalekites were winning. When Moses’ hands grew tired they took a stone and put it under him and he sat on it. Aaron and Hur held his hands up — one on one side, one on the other — so that his hands remained steady till sunset.” (Exodus 17:9-12)

“A friend loves at all times…” (Proverbs 17:17a)

“Do not make friends with a hot-tempered man, do not associate with one easily angered, or you may learn his ways and get yourself ensnared.” (Proverbs 22:24)

“Wounds from a friend can be trusted, but an enemy multiplies kisses.”             (Proverbs 27:6)

“Perfume and incense bring joy to the heart, and the pleasantness of one’s friend springs from his earnest counsel.” (Proverbs 27:9)

“A man of many companions may come to ruin, but there is a friend who sticks closer than a brother.” (Proverbs 18:24)

“Greater love has no one than this, that he lay down his life for his friends.  You are My friends if you do what I command.  I no longer call you servants, because a servant does not know his master’s business.  Instead I have called you friends, for everything that I learned from My Father I have made known to you.” (John 15:13-15)

“Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of compassion and the God of all comfort, who comforts us in all our troubles, so that we can comfort those in any trouble those in any trouble with the comfort we ourselves have received from God.” (2 Corinthians 1:3,4)

“A word aptly spoken is like apples of gold in settings of silver.” (Proverbs 25:11)

“Be strong and courageous.  Do not be afraid or terrified because of them, for the LORD your God goes with you; He will never leave you nor forsake you.”  (Deuteronomy 31:6)

“Keep your lives free from the love of money and be content with what you have,because God has said,  “Never will I leave you; never will I forsake you.”  (Hebrews 13:5)

“Therefore since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles, and let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us.  Let us fix our eyes on Jesus, the author and perfecter of our faith, who for the joy set before Him endured the cross, scorning its shame, and sat down at the right hand of the throne of God.  Consider Him who endured such opposition from sinful men, so you will not grow weary and lose heart.  In your struggle against sin, you have not yet resisted to the point of shedding your blood.  And you have forgotten that word of encouragement that addresses you as sons:  “My son, do not make light of the Lord’s discipline, and do not lose heart when He rebukes you, because the Lord disciplines those He loves, and He punishes everyone He accepts as a son.” (Hebrews 12:1-6)

“See to it, brothers, that none of you has a sinful, unbelieving heart that turns away from the living God.  But encourage one another daily, as long as it is called Today, so that none of you may be hardened by sin’s deceitfulness.  We have come to share in Christ if we hold firmly to the end the confidence we had at first.” (Hebrews 3:12)

“When I say to a wicked man ‘You will surely die,’ and you do not warn him or speak out to dissuade him from his evil ways in order to save his life, that wicked man will die for his sins, and I will hold you accountable for his blood. But if you do warn the wicked man and he does not turn from his wickedness or from his evil ways, he will die for his sin; but you will have saved yourself.” (Ezekiel 3:18,19)

“Brothers, if someone is caught in a sin, you who are spiritual should restore him gently. But watch yourself, or you also may be tempted.  Carry each other’s  burdens, and in this way you will fulfill the law of Christ.” (Galatians 6:1,2) 

“Yet do not regard him as an enemy, but warn him as a brother.”                                    (2 Thessalonians 3:15)

“All Scripture is God-breathed and is useful for teaching, rebuking, correcting, and training in righteousness, so that the man of God may be thoroughly equipped for every good work.” “Preach the Word; be prepared in season and out of season; correct, rebuke, and encourage — with great patience and careful instruction.  For the time will come when men will not put up with sound doctrine.  Instead, to suit their own desires, they will gather around them a great number of teachers to say what their itching ears want to hear.  They will turn their ears away from the truth and turn aside to myths.” (2 Timothy 3:16, 4:2-4)

“But unless you repent, you too will all perish.” (Luke 13:3)

“He who heeds discipline shows the way to life, but whoever ignores correction leads others astray.” (Proverbs 10:17)

“My dear children, I write this to you so that you will not sin.  But if anybody does sin, we have one who speaks to the Father in our defense — Jesus Christ, the Righteous One.  He is the atoning sacrifice for our sins, and not only for ours but also for the sins of the whole world.” (1 John 2:1,2)

“But one thing I do: Forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead, I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus.” (Philippians 3:13,14)

“Do you not know that in a race all the runners run, but only one gets the prize?  Run in such a way as to get the prize.  Everyone who competes in the games goes into strict training.  They do it to get a crown that will not last; but we do it to get a crown that will last forever.” (1 Corinthians 9:24,25)

“Blessed is the man who perseveres under trial,because when he has stood the test he will receive the crown of life that God has promised to those who love Him.”       (James 1:12)

“Be shepherds of God’s flock that is under your care, serving as overseers — not because you must, but because you are willing as God wants you to be; not greedy for money, but eager to serve; not lording it over those entrusted to you, but being examples to the flock.  And when the chief Shepherd appears, you will receive the crown of glory that will never fade away.” (1 Peter 5:2-4)

“I am coming soon.  Hold on to what you have, so that no one will take your crown.  Him who overcomes I will make a pillar in the temple of My God.”                     (Revelation 3:11,12)

IcyMorning

A GODLY FRIEND IS A GIFT

A godly friend is a gift from heaven above

To encourage and bless you with a sense of God’s love

They give you strength and support when life’s battles wear you down

And spur you on to run life’s race to receive an everlasting  crown

Many are ‘forever friends,’ some only for a season

Each one seems to arrive at just the right moment in time, and stays till

they accomplish God’s own purpose and reason

Some may come to give you extra courage to face paralyzing fears

Some may come to give you comfort in the midst of blinding tears

One may come just to give you hope when all hope appears to be lost

They help to turn your eyes back onto Christ, reminding you your debt to sin was paid

in full at such a high cost

One may come for a brief moment just to put a smile upon your face

By speaking words that will encourage you, or by simply giving you a warm embrace

A godly friend will care enough to warn you when you stray off the narrow path

So you’ll repent and find God’s mercy, and not face God’s judgment and wrath

A godly friend will always embolden you to press on; to finish the race

So you will walk by faith and not by sight, depending upon His strength and His grace

A godly friend will never abandon you, in the midst of trials and sorrow,

Yet their path in life may lead them away, after years –or maybe tomorrow

Yes, a godly friend is a gift from heaven above, but we should never allow them

to take God’s place

We should run to Him first when life’s battles rage, for He alone can give us His much

needed strength and grace

Christ will be a faithful friend who will stick closer than a brother

He alone will never leave or forsake you, He is above and like none other

Copyright©2013 Mary K. Dalke/Living For His Glory/Living4HisGlory All rights reserved.

Scriptures taken from The Holy Bible New International Version®1973, 1978, 1984 International Bible Society.  Used by permission of Zondervan.  All rights reserved.

Photo obtained from Photobucket – Icymorning1.jpg

(UPDATED 5/6/15 Enlarged and darkened print to make this post easier for you to read on my new blog design. Lord willing, I will be doing this to all my previous posts, as well, when time allows).

Save

