INTRODUCTION

While I am still working on ‘Part 2’ of my testimony and still continuing to await the arrival of the Catholic New Testament that was sent to the “wrong person” by “mistake,” (although I would like to believe that maybe God allowed it to happen so the person who received it would read His Word and come to know the true gospel and repent and place their complete trust in the fact that Jesus paid our debt to sin in full) so that I can finally complete my testimony and post it for you to read, I decided to use all the emotional turmoil I have been going through lately by expressing my heart through a poem in the hopes of encouraging someone who may be going through a hard time right now, as well.  So with that being said, I’ll share some thoughts with you that brought this poem into being…

Sometimes the circumstances that we go through in life can be pretty overwhelming.  Those of us who are Christians pray about all that weighs heavily upon our hearts, such as the salvation of our family, the loneliness we may sometimes feel, the hurt and the sorrow we have experienced because of betrayal or rejection by someone, and we think we have surrendered it all into God’s hands.  Then we go about our busy lives, caught up in the day after day cycle of getting up and getting ready for work, and trying to glorify God by the way we live our lives throughout our day, as well as looking for opportunities for God to use us to share His love and truth with someone, and we think that all is well.  Until, all of a sudden something happens to expose the hurt and sorrow buried deep inside, and the tears that we have continued to hold back for so long, now come uncontrollably streaming down our cheeks.

Sometimes we cause our own pain by making the mistake of thinking we can figure God out and what He is trying to do in each situation that comes our way.  We think that since we have been faithful to live for Him for so long, that surely now is our time that we will see His hand of blessing and that our overwhelming circumstances — whatever they might be — is finally about to change.  But when things don’t work out the way we believed God was going to do it, we end up feeling deeply sad and disappointed.  Some of us think it’s God who has failed us, but instead it’s our own fault for thinking we had it all figured out.  We just have to trust Him and know that His ways are always higher than our ways, and instead of focusing on God fulfilling our desires, we must choose to look at each situation we find ourselves in with an eternal perspective, pray for wisdom, and seek to know His will so we can somehow bring Him glory in spite of how sad or disappointed we may feel.  Then stand and wait to be amazed at what God intended to do all along, and how He may use you to bring His perfect will to pass, bringing Him the glory He is SO worthy and deserving of!  Yes, He certainly could have done it without us, but what a blessing it is when we are privileged to be used by God in some way, whether it’s to reveal truth to someone, to encourage someone, or whatever way it might be!

God bless you.  And thank you very much for taking the time to read my posts and poems.

RELATED SCRIPTURES

“Put thou my tears into thy bottle: are they not in thy book?”  (Psalm 56:8b)

“I am weary with my groaning; all the night make I my bed to swim; I water my couch with my tears.” (Psalm 6:6)

“Hear my prayer, O LORD, and give ear unto my cry; hold not thy peace at my tears for I am a stranger with thee, and a sojourner, as all my fathers were.”  (Psalm 39:12)

“My tears have been my meat day and night, while they continually say unto me, “Where is thy God?”  (Psalm 42:3)

“They that sow in tears shall reap in joy.”  (Psalm 126:5)

“A time to weep and a time to laugh; a time to mourn and a time to dance.”  (Ecclesiastes 3:4)

“And Peter remembered the words of Jesus, which said unto him, “Before the cock crow, thou shalt deny Me thrice.”   And he went out and wept bitterly.”  (Matthew 26:75)

“And when He was come near, He beheld the city and wept over it.”  (Luke 19:41)

“Jesus wept.” (John 11:35)

“He who did not spare His own Son, but gave Him up for us all–how will He not also, along with Him, graciously give us all things?”  (Romans 8:32)

“For the Lamb which is in the midst of the throne shall feed them, and shall lead them unto living fountains of water: and God shall wipe away all tears from their eyes.” (Revelation 7:17)

“And God shall wipe away all tears from their eyes; and there shall be no more death, neither sorrow, nor crying, neither shall there be any more pain; for the former things are passed away.”  (Revelation 21:4)

“Let us fix our eyes on Jesus, the author and perfecter of our faith, who for the joy set before Him endured the cross, scorning its shame, and sat down at the right hand of the throne of God.” (Hebrews 12:2)

“Trust in the LORD with all your heart; lean not on your own understanding.  In all your ways acknowledge Him and He shall direct your paths.”  (Proverbs 3:5,6)

“For I am the LORD your God who takes hold of your right hand and says to you, Do not fear; I will help you.”  (Isaiah 41:13)

“For God demonstrates His own love for us in this: While we were yet sinners, Christ died for us.” (Romans 5:8)

“This is love: not that we loved God, but that He loved us and sent His Son as an atoning sacrifice for our sins.”  (1 John 4:10)

“Seek the LORD while He may be found; call on Him while He is near.  Let the wicked forsake their ways and the unrighteous their thoughts.  Let them turn to the LORD and He will have mercy on them, and to our God for He will freely pardon.  “For My thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways My ways,”  declares the LORD. “As the heavens are higher than the earth, so are My ways higher than your ways and My thoughts than your thoughts. As the rain and the snow come down from heaven, and do not return to it without watering the earth and making it bud and flourish, so that it yields seed for the sower and bread for the eater, so is My Word that goes out from My mouth: it will not return to Me empty, but will accomplish what I desire and achieve the purpose for which I sent it.”  (Isaiah 55:6-11)

“Let the morning bring me word of Your unfailing love, for I have put my trust in You.  Show me the way I should go, for to You I lift up my soul.”  (Psalm 143:8)

tenderpresense

TEARS IN A BOTTLE

So many tears so many of us have, all stored up inside

Living life from day to day, from our pain we attempt to hide

Filling each and every moment so we have no time to think

Some of us may turn to God, some turn to drugs or drink

Tears of joy and tears of sorrow as I reflect upon the past and what may lie ahead

Some are treasured memories, some are things that cause me to dread

Some say we trust Him with our lives and all our future plans

And that we have ‘surrendered all’ into His loving hands

And yet we grieve for what was, and dream of how things could be

Our perspective is short sighted, only God can truly see

We are told not to worry and not to fear

At these times to the Lord we do draw near

Trying so hard to ‘be strong in the Lord and in the power of His might’

But still these tears I now continue to fight

When all at once a flood of emotions from deep within

Comes rushing forward, they overwhelm me and win

Jesus wept, but not once did He sin

He grieved and He mourned and expressed His feelings within

So from the depths of our souls to the Lord we shout

For salvation for our children and our family our hearts cry out

Sometimes we cause our own sorrow; we’re our own worst enemy

We play things out in our minds how we think things are going to be

We then blame God for not coming through

When the only one to blame, is really me –and you

We just have to trust Him, for He knows what’s best

He sees the end from the beginning, in Him we must rest

He holds our tears in a bottle, sometimes I think mine will overflow

But if in those moments of sorrow we choose to praise Him, it’s then

His grace and peace we will know

We must believe He has a purpose for all He allows to come our way

We may see His amazing reason if we’ll choose to trust and pray

If we live by our emotions, we may miss His real blessings from His hands

We must look beyond our pain so we might see His eternal plans

Our tears may become tears of joy as we see His plan revealed

Only clinging to our hurt and desires is what kept the truth concealed

His ways are always higher, sometimes beyond our ever knowing why

Trusting He is in control will cease the tears we cry

Held in a bottle each tear is kept

From every moment in joy and in sorrow, each tear that we’ve wept

God cares so much more for His own than we could ever comprehend

He expressed His love through the death of His only Son whom He did send

If He did not spare His only Son but gave Him up for you and me

Be assured of His very best both now, and throughout eternity

Yes, each tear He holds in a bottle, tears we cry when we just don’t understand

But He’ll always be there to give us peace and comfort, and He’ll guide us

as He takes hold of our hand

Copyright© 2013 Mary K. Dalke/Living4HisGlory/LivingForHisGlory All rights reserved.

Scriptures taken from The King James Version and The Holy Bible New International Version® 1973, 1978, 1984 International Bible Society.  Used with permission of Zondervan.  All rights reserved.

Picture obtained from Photobucket

Save

