Tenth Avenue North – Worn

INTRODUCTION

I’m sure that many of you who are Christians can identify with the feeling of being ‘worn’ by the circumstances that life continues to bring, in spite of a deep and abiding faith in Christ and belief in His Sovereignty.  This poem sums up what I have been ‘feeling’ over the past few months, but we as Christians must not be led or controlled by our feelings.  If we have repented (turned from sin because of sincere sorrow in our hearts – 2 Corinthians 7:10) and have placed our complete trust in Christ providing full payment for our sins and satisfying God’s wrath that He has towards us because of  our sins,  and have submitted our lives to Him, then we must choose to trust Him and respond in the midst of trials in a way that seeks to honor and glorify God, and not in a way that satisfies our human sinful nature.  And, as those of us who are truly Christians know — as hard as we may try, in our own strength that is not always possible.  At times we may still try and take matters into our own hands and react in the flesh, instead of responding with self-control and relying upon God’s strength and out of a desire to glorify God.

For those of you who do not yet personally know Jesus Christ, but may just possibly have a head knowledge of who He may be, may I suggest to you that God may be using the difficult circumstances of your life right now to draw you to Himself?  Sometimes if the kindness He shows you does not draw you to Himself, the only way you may see your need for Him is if your whole world comes crumbling down around you.  I pray that if this is you, that you will consider reading His Word, the Bible, and allow Him to reveal Himself to you.  Lay your life down at the foot of the cross and accept the sacrifice that Jesus Christ made on your behalf when He bore your sins and guilt when He hung upon the cross and died in your place.  Be willing to turn from your sins, and to learn of Him and His truth in His Word, the Bible.  I promise you, that even though your life will continue to be filled with sorrow and disappointment at times, you will have His peace that surpasses all human understanding, His grace and strength that is always sufficient to see you through, His love that will never end for you, and His wisdom to help you make the many decisions you will have to make as you continue to walk down this road we call ‘life.’

God bless you, and thank you for stopping by.   And thank you to those of you who take the time to read my posts and poems.  I pray that somehow God will bless and encourage you through what I write.  Above all, I pray God will reveal His truth to you and encourage you through the Scriptures I continue to post with each blog post I write.

SCRIPTURES FOR YOU TO REFLECT ON

“Even if I caused you sorrow by my letter, I do not regret it.  Though I did regret it–I see that my letter hurt you, but only for a little while– yet now I am happy, not because you were made sorry, but because your sorrow led you to repentance.  For you became sorrowful as God intended and so were not harmed in any way by us.  Godly sorrow brings repentance that leads to salvation and leaves no regret but worldly sorrow brings death.”  (2 Corinthians 7:8-10)

“Or do you show contempt for the riches of His kindness, tolerance, and patience, not realizing that God’s kindness leads you towards repentance?  But because of your stubbornness and your unrepentant heart, you are storing up wrath against yourself for the day of God’s wrath when His righteous judgment will be revealed.”  (Romans 2:4)

“Say to them,  ‘As surely as I live, declares the Sovereign LORD, I take no pleasure in the death of the wicked, but rather that they turn from their ways and live.  Turn!  Turn from your evil ways!'”         (Ezekiel 33:11)  

Jesus said,  “I tell you, no!  But unless you repent, you too will all perish.”  (Luke 13:3)

“Repent, then, and turn to God, so that your sins may be wiped out, that times of refreshing may come from the Lord.”  (Acts 3:19)

“The Lord is not slow in keeping His promise, as some understand slowness.  He is patient with you, not wanting anyone to perish, but everyone to come to repentance.  But the day of the Lord will come like a thief.  The heavens will disappear with a roar; the elements will be destroyed by fire, and the earth and everything in it will be laid bare.  Since everything will be destroyed in this way, what kind of people ought you to be?  You ought to live holy and godly lives as you look forward to the day of God and speed its coming.  That day will bring about the destruction of the heavens by fire, and the elements will melt in the heat.  But in keeping with His promise we are looking forward to a new heaven and a new earth, the home of righteousness.  So then, dear friends, since you are looking forward to this, make every effort to be found spotless, blameless, and at peace with Him.”  (2 Peter 3: 9-14)

“For He Himself is our peace, who has made the two one and has destroyed the barrier, the dividing wall of hostility, by abolishing in His flesh the law with its commandments and regulations.  His purpose was to create in Himself one new man out of the two, thus making peace, and in this one body to reconcile both of them to God through the cross, by which He put to death their hostility.  He came and preached peace to you who were far away and peace to those who were near.  For through Him we both have access to the Father by one Spirit.”  (Ephesians 2:14-18)

“But God demonstrates His own love for us in this: While we were still sinners, Christ died for us.”         (Romans 5:8)

“This is how God showed His love among us: He sent His one and only Son into the world that we might live through Him.  This is love: not that we loved God, but that He loved us and sent His Son as an atoning sacrifice for our sins.”  (1 John 4:9,10)

“You believe that there is one God.  Good!  Even the demons believe that — and shudder.”  (James 2:19)

“For God so loved the world that He gave His one and only Son, that whoever believes in Him shall not perish but have eternal life.  For God did not send His Son into the world to condemn the world, but to save the world through Him.  Whoever believes in Him is not condemned, but whoever does not believe stands condemned already because he has not believed in the name of God’s one and only Son.  This is the verdict: Light has come into the world, but men loved darkness instead of light because their deeds were evil.  Everyone who does evil hates the light, and will not come into the light for fear that his deeds will be exposed.  But whoever lives by the truth comes into the light, so that it may be seen plainly that what he has done has been done through God.”  (John 3:16-21)

“Whoever believes in the Son has eternal life, but whoever rejects the Son will not see life, for God’s wrath remains on him.”  (John 3:36)

“Peace I leave with you; My peace I give to you.  I do not give to you as the world gives.  Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid.”  (John 14:27)

“I have told you these things, so that in Me you may have peace.  In this world you will have trouble.  But take heart!  I have overcome the world.”  (John 16:33)

“My grace is sufficient for you, for My power is made perfect in weakness.”  Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.  That is why, for Christ’s sake I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties, for when I am weak, then I am strong.”  (2 Corinthians 12:9,10)

“And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love Him, who have been called according to His purpose.”  (Romans 8:28)

“If God is for us who can be against us?”  (Romans 8:31)

“Do not repay evil with evil or insult with insult, but with blessing, because to this you were called so that you may inherit a blessing.”  (1 Peter 3:9)

“It is better, if it is God’s will, to suffer for doing good, than for doing evil.  For Christ died for sins once for all, the righteous for the unrighteous, to bring you to God.”      (1 Peter 3:17,18)

“Consider it pure joy, my brothers, whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith develops perseverance.  Perseverance must finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything.”  (James 1:2-4)

“Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ!  In His great mercy He has given us new birth into a living hope through the resurrection of Jesus Christ from the dead, and into an inheritance that can never perish, spoil, or fade — kept in heaven for you, who through faith are shielded by God’s power until the coming of the salvation that is ready to be revealed in the last time.  In this you greatly rejoice, though now for a little while you may have had to suffer grief in all kinds of trials.  These have come so that your faith — of greater worth than gold, which perishes, even though refined by fire — may be proved genuine and may result in praise, glory and honor when Jesus Christ is revealed.  Though you have not seen Him, you love Him; and even though you do not see Him now, you believe in Him and are filled with an inexpressible and glorious joy, for you are receiving the goal of your faith, the salvation of your souls.”      (1 Peter 1:3-9)

“But He knows the way that I take; when He has tested me, I will come forth as gold.  My feet have closely followed His steps; I have kept to His way without turning aside.  I have not departed from the commands of His lips; I have treasured the words of His mouth more than my daily bread.”  (Job 23:10-12)

WORN BUT DETERMINED

Weary from life and from all the hurt and change it brings

And yet my heart cries out to You, O Lord, to You its praises sings

Sorrow upon sorrow, it seems that’s all that I endure

But in Christ’s strength I rest in knowing that in You I am secure

Desiring to bring You glory, and never to bring You shame

I choose to submit to every challenge, as I call upon Your name

In You I find my strength when I am so very weak

As well as words of  truth and wisdom when there is the need to speak

Lord, You see how I am wrongly accused and judged, there’s nothing more that I can do

All I ask is that You’d have Your way, I place all my trust in You

My worth has been diminished as my age begins to grow

Regardless of my faithfulness, it seems he’d rather see me go

I base my worth on Christ and all He did for me

And yet words still have a way of hurting, even though from the damage of verbal abuse

You healed and set me free

If it be Your will please clear my name, and give me favor in his eyes

Or lead me to another place, where there’s peace and no compromise

I may never understand why things turn out the way they do

But I know that You are Sovereign and Your Word is ever true

Yes, weary and worn from life, but never weary from living for You

Or contending for the faith and standing for what is true

I am worn but determined to finish this race

And will press on through the strength of Christ and by His all sufficient grace

Copyright©2013 Mary K. Dalke/Living4HisGlory/Living For His Glory All rights reserved.

COMING SOON:

POEM – ‘WOE TO THE SHEPHERDS’

POST – MY TESTIMONY: FROM FEAR AND UNCERTAINTY, TO PEACE AND ASSURANCE – HOW GOD REVEALED THE TRUTH TO ME AS I WAS READING A CATHOLIC NEW TESTAMENT BIBLE – PART 2

