Capture Peace I leave with you

INTRODUCTION

First I want to say, “I’m sorry” to all of you for not writing anything lately.  To be honest with you, it’s been rather difficult to find the time to even have a few minutes to concentrate and get my thoughts together to write a post or poem since I lost my job of 13 years at the end of October.  I am still searching for a new job, and have had no replies from anyone on the two sites where I posted my resume’, but in Christ’s strength I continue to press on. 

In spite of everything I have been going through lately, I completely stand in awe of the peace that God has given me, and that’s what inspired me to write the following poem so that I can give God the glory for blessing me with His perfect peace that allows me to rest in Him and sleep peacefully every night.  Yes, I did have a few brief moments of crying out to God for His wisdom on what to do and where to go, and I may possibly still have a few of those moments in the days (hopefully not weeks and months) to come, but because I have built my life on Christ as my firm foundation, my faith and trust in Him has not been shaken.

As I was writing this poem I also thought of the many who do not know Jesus and the hope and peace that comes from having a personal relationship with God through Him…people who have been devastated by physical, sexual, and verbal abuse…people who have tragically lost a loved one to death or an accident, and they have been hurt so deeply that they lash out at God instead of crying out to Him for His comfort and His help…people who hate themselves because of some of the wrong choices they have made and they want to end their lives because they can’t go back and change the past.  With all of that in mind, I addressed these brokenhearted people in the final six verses of the following poem, and pray that if anyone who has been devastated by life’s painful circumstances does find their way to my blog,  that God will somehow use my poem — and especially the Scriptures — to bring hope and comfort to their broken and shattered heart.

Thank you very much for stopping by and taking time out of your busy day to read some of my poems and posts.

An early ‘Merry Christmas’ to all of you!

God Bless You

~Mary Dalke/Living4HisGlory/Living For His Glory


 

SCRIPTURES FOR YOU TO REFLECT ON

“For unto us a child is born, unto us a child is given: and the government shall be upon his shoulder: and his name shall be called Wonderful, Counselor, the mighty God, the everlasting Father the Prince of Peace.” (Isaiah 9:6) KJV

“For  He Himself is our peace, who has made the two groups one and has destroyed the barrier, the dividing wall of hostility, by setting aside in His flesh the law with its commands and regulations.  His purpose was to create in Himself one new humanity out of the two, thus making peace, and in one body to reconcile both of them to God through the cross, by which He put to death their hostility.  He came and preached peace to you who were far away and peace to those who were near.  For through Him we both have access to the Father by one Spirit.”  (Ephesians 2:14-18)

“Therefore, since we have been justified through faith, we have peace with God through our Lord Jesus Christ, through whom we have gained access by faith into this grace in which we now stand.”  (Romans 5:1,2a)

“Come to Me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.  Take My yoke upon you and learn from Me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls.  For My yoke is easy and My burden is light.”  (Matthew 11:28-30)

“Peace I leave with you; My peace I give you.  I do not give to you as the world gives.  Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid.”         (John 14:27)

“I have told you these things, so that in Me you may have peace.  In this world you will have trouble.  But take heart!  I have overcome the world.”  (John 16:33)

“Rejoice in the Lord always.  I will say it again: Rejoice!  Let your gentleness be evident to all.  The Lord is near.  Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God,  And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.”  (Philippians 4:6,7)

artwork2copy-2

A PERFECT PEACE

Amidst deep feelings of rejection, there remains a perfect peace
Untouched by man’s cruel endeavors, I now see as God’s instruments of release
A perfect peace that only comes from knowing that God is in control
His peace silences every fearful thought that comes, and stills my very soul
Like the perfect peace that filled many hearts when Christ was born that starry night
The fulfillment of many prophecies, hope was born and fear gave flight
The Messiah, the Promised One, who came to free us from our sin
And clothe us in His righteousness, and transform our hearts within
He took on flesh so willingly, and willingly laid down His life for you and me
So that those who’d place their trust in Him would be forgiven and set free
Jesus bore the full wrath of God for all our sin, though Pilate fought for His release
So the barrier of sin would be removed, and with God, His Father, we’d then have
perfect peace
A peace beyond human comprehension, no matter what circumstances one may face
His strength made perfect in our weakness, and sufficient is His grace
A peace not based on mere emotion, but rooted in Christ and in His Word
For we stand on Christ, our firm foundation, unshaken by what we see or what we’ve heard
We can have the calm assurance that God works all things together for our good
Even when we pray and trust, and things still don’t turn out as they should
Is your life in utter chaos, do you think He’s unaware…
Of all the pain you hold inside, do you believe He doesn’t care
Do you shake your fist at God, have you even convinced yourself He isn’t real
Have unspeakable tragedies severely affected how you see things, and how you feel
Cry out to God to know what’s true, turn from sin; find sweet release
You’ll receive His healing love and complete forgiveness, and you too can have…a perfect
peace

Copyright©2013 Mary K. Dalke/Living4HisGlory/Living For His Glory All rights reserved.

Scriptures taken from The Holy Bible New International Version® 1973, 1978, 1984 International Bible Society Used by permission of Zondervan.  All rights reserved.
Picture obtained from Photobucket –
Scripture added by Mary K. Dalke on Photobucket 

 

YOU MAY ALSO BE INTERESTED IN READING:

BEYOND THE MANGER TO THE CROSS (CHRISTMAS 2009)

FOR GOD SO LOVED HE GAVE (CHRISTMAS 2010)

LOOKING BACK (NEW YEARS EVE 2010)

CHRISTMAS — HOLDING ON TO HOPE (CHRISTMAS 2011)

LET’S NOT FORGET THAT JESUS IS THE REASON FOR THE SEASON  (CHRISTMAS 2012)

