INTRODUCTION

Life can become extremely overwhelming: a loss of a job, financial problems, relationship problems, health issues, concern for loved ones, desiring loved ones to come to know who Jesus truly is so they might have joy and the assurance of salvation…the list can go on and on! At times it may seem that all we deal with are problems, one after another, many even coming at the same time which may cause us to begin losing our peace and hope! Truth be told, that’s how I’ve been feeling lately. Not only because of certain  circumstances in my life right now, but also because of many of the things I have been writing about recently, and therefore I found the need to express some of my feelings through the following poem.

As always, when I find myself beginning to lose hope, I must make the choice to put aside my feelings and choose to rely on God’s grace that is always sufficient, and His strength that is always made perfect in my weakness. When times like this come, I find my hope, strength, and encouragement in His Word. Soon I am then able to, once again, fight against the battles that rage all around me as I hide myself in Him and make the choice to place my trust in the fact that He is still in control even when the circumstances of life try to say otherwise. It is God alone who restores my hope as I reflect upon His faithfulness to me in the past, and the ultimate sacrifice He made by sending His one and only Son — Jesus Christ, God in the flesh — who lived the perfect, sinless life that I could never live, to become the perfect, once for all sacrifice, by giving His life in my place to reconcile me, a wretched sinner, to a completely Holy God. It is dwelling on the good news of the gospel and the risen Christ, that enables me to once again press on.

If you, dear reader, have not come to the point of placing your trust in the complete and finished work of Jesus Christ’s once for all sacrifice on the cross for your sins, I encourage you to get a Bible and begin reading the Gospel of John, the Book of Romans, Hebrews, Colossians, Ephesians, and wherever else God’s Holy Spirit may direct you. God’s Word, the Bible, is not a book one can understand with their intellect, but rather it is understood spiritually as God’s Holy Spirit opens your understanding to see the truth and to expose false teachings that have blinded you from seeing the truth. Ask God to open your mind to the Scriptures that you might come to know the truth and have hope and strength to face life, one day at a time, and have the assurance of life eternal in heaven.

Thank you for stopping by! And thank you for taking time out of your busy day to read my poems and posts.

God Bless You

~Mary Dalke/Living4HisGlory

RELATED SCRIPTURES

“For everything that was written in the past was written to teach us, so that through endurance and the encouragement of the Scriptures we might have hope.” (Romans 15:4)

“We were under great pressure, far beyond our ability to endure, so that we despaired even of life. Indeed, in our hearts we felt the sentence of death. But this happened that we might not rely on ourselves, but on God, who raises the dead. He has delivered us from such a deadly peril, and He will deliver us.” (2 Corinthians 1:8b-10a)

“May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in Him, so that you may overflow with hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.”             (Romans 15:13)

“Whoever acknowledges Me before men, I will also acknowledge him before My Father in heaven. But whoever disowns Me before men, I will disown him before My Father in heaven. Do not suppose that I have come to bring peace to the earth. I did not come to bring peace, but a sword. For I have come to turn ” ‘a man against his father, a daughter against her mother, a daughter-in-law against her mother-in-law’ — a man’s enemies will be the members of his own household.’ ” (Matthew 10:32-36)

“I want to know Christ and the power of His resurrection and the fellowship of His suffering, becoming like Him in His death, and so, somehow, to attain to the resurrection from the dead.  Not that I have already obtained all this, or have already been made perfect, but I press on to take hold of that for which Christ Jesus took hold of me. Brothers, I do not consider myself yet to have taken hold of it. But one thing I do: Forgetting what is behind and straining towards what is ahead, I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus.”                    (Philippians 3:10-14)

“The man without the Spirit does not accept the things that come from the Spirit of God,  for they are foolishness to him and he cannot understand them, because they are spiritually discerned.” (1 Corinthians 2:14)

“Come to Me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take My yoke upon you and learn from Me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For My yoke is easy, and My burden is light.” (Matthew 11:28-30)

“But He said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for My power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weakness, so that Christ’s power may rest on me. That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties. For when I am weak, then I am strong.” (2 Corinthians 12:9,10)

 

SONGS FOR YOUR ENCOURAGEMENT

STEVEN CURTIS CHAPMAN – HIS STRENGTH IS PERFECT

TWILA PARIS – WARRIOR IS A CHILD

TWILA PARIS – MY LIPS WILL PRAISE YOU

SELAH – PRESS ON

 SELAH – YOU ARE MY HIDING PLACE

SELAH – BEFORE THE THRONE OF GOD

 

 

rainbow-blue-sky-clouds-1-2-4-1I found the rainbow/ocean picture on Photobucket and used the ‘edit’ feature to add the Scripture.

YOU’RE MY EVERYTHING

You’re my joy in the midst of deep sorrow

You’re my hope when I see no hope for tomorrow

You’re my peace when all of life seems so out of control

You’re my strength that calms my weary soul

Jesus, You’re my everything

You’re my hiding place when it seems like no safe place can be found

You know what weighs heavy upon my heart without me uttering a sound

You’re my Savior, my God, the one who reigns on high

You’re aware of all things; nothing escapes Your watchful eye

Jesus, You’re my everything

Your promise to those who love You, is that You will work all things together for good

Your children, who are called according to Your purposes, rest in this truth as we

should

You’re my provider, my covering, my soon coming King

You’re the only one who now gives me a reason to rejoice and sing

Jesus, You’re my everything

Your Holy Spirit comforts me when I feel I just can’t go on any longer

Your Word gives me wisdom that encourages me and makes me feel stronger

Your sinless life, and the blood You shed unto death in my place, washed all my sin

and guilt away

Your resurrection gives me true hope and assurance, that enables me to face the trials

of each new day

Jesus, You’re my everything

Our world is growing spiritually darker, because many reject what You’re unchanging

Word has to say

All the evidence surrounds us, and not all things will change for the better when we

pray

We can never bring peace to this broken, sin-filled world, no matter how hard we may

try

Your Word is clear; there will be no peace — or unity — until You, the Prince of Peace,

returns and reigns on high

Until my final breath, or until I’m caught up to meet You in the air, from the depths of

my heart I will say

–Jesus, You’re my everything

Copyright ©2015 Mary K. Dalke/Living4HisGlory/Living For His Glory All rights reserved.

Scriptures taken from The Holy Bible New International Version® 1973, 1978, 1984 International Bible Society  Used by permission of Zondervan. All rights reserved.

 

