Capture Picture of Bible - Posted by 'Life Everlasting'

Welcome to another edition in a new category of posts entitled, ‘TEACHING THURSDAY.’ Lord willing, at least once a month on Thursdays, I will be posting either a video, an article, or some form of teaching  in which a *Biblically sound teacher *(Biblically sound because what they say and teach lines up with the truth of God’s Word,  Acts 17:11) will either expose a cult, an unbiblical movement, teaching, or a practice that is leading many people and Christians astray, or present some type of Biblical teaching to help you grow in a deeper understanding of God’s Word on different topics. Some of these teachings may be essentials of the Christian faith, and others may be things that we can debate but not divide over.

It is my hope and prayer that by presenting these teachings to you, many more Christians will not only come to realize the importance of testing the words of men (and women) against the truth of God Word so they will not be deceived, but also it is my hope and prayer that many Christians will come to know the joy of learning God’s Word.

If you read last week’s ‘TEACHING THURSDAY’ post and enjoyed Pastor Randy White’s first, in depth, verse by verse teaching on the book of Revelation, or if you missed it and would like to see it, you can click HERE. I started putting together a ‘Playlist’ for you and will continue to add each week’s teaching to this ‘Playlist’ as soon as they become available.

On with today’s ‘TEACHING THURSDAY.’

It’s finally Spring! My favorite season of the year! All that snow that has been piling up has now disappeared, the trees are beginning to bud, and flowers are again emerging from the ground to display just one of many aspects of the beauty of God’s creation!

Another sign that Spring is here is the fact that many of you are once again beginning to receive visits from Jehovah’s Witnesses and Mormons. It starts with either a knock on your front door, or your doorbell  begins to ring. It usually happens when you’re in the middle of doing something important, or on your day off when you decide to sleep in for a few extra hours. When you peer through your window to see who’s there, you see that familiar sight of either well dressed Jehovah’s Witnesses; men in suits, and  women in dresses. Or you may see Mormon men dressed in black pants and their crisp, white shirts, and women in dresses. There they are, standing on your front door step. For those of you who actually open your doors, you find that you are greeted warmly by these loving and sincere, but sincerely deceived groups of people who have come to share what they have been well trained to share with you.

I must admit that before I was a Christian I was one of those people who would pretend not to be home when they came around. Or, if it was a warm, summer day and my door was opened and it was too late to pretend, I would just politely answer the door and accept one of the Jehovah’s Witnesses’ ‘AWAKE’ magazines or a Mormon’s tract, and allow them to speak to me for a minute or so. I would then thank them for stopping by, and tell them that I wasn’t interested. When our short conversation came to an end, I would just tell them to have a nice day, and I proceeded to calmly close the door.

However, after I became a Christian, God put an overwhelming compassion in my heart for these very dedicated, but deceived and lost groups of people known as Jehovah’s Witnesses and Mormons who have accepted, believe in, and go door to door presenting people with ‘another Jesus’ and ‘another gospel’ (2 Corinthians 11:3,4 Galatians 1:6-9) because they themselves have been deceived. Since God opened my eyes to the false teachings of Catholicism, I know very well how it feels to be spiritually deceived! And therefore I strongly desired, with God’s help, to somehow help each one of them who came to my door to come to know the true Jesus of the Bible!

Very few Mormons came to my home. Even though our conversations were short, I always made sure to give each of them either one of the New Testament Bibles from the cases of Bibles that I would purchase ($1.00 for each Bible if purchased by the case), or if I ran out of Bibles, I would give them a tract before they left my home to continue on with their door to door visits. However, many Jehovah’s Witnesses frequently came to my home. I allowed many of them to come into my home to give me their presentations, hoping to interact with them and to share the gospel with them.

The first time I let Jehovah’s Witnesses into my home was within days or weeks after I became a Christian! They had me so confused that I couldn’t help them very much at all! I felt so bad that I cried in front of the man and his wife and admitted to them that I didn’t know my Bible very well because I was a new Christian. I asked them if I could at least pray for them before they left my home and they actually allowed me to. From the depths of my heart I prayed out loud and pleaded with God to reveal His love and truth to them, and God helped me to pray in such a way that I believe it showed the love of Jesus to these Jehovah’s Witnesses. (If you’d like, you can read more about my encounters with Jehovah’s Witnesses at the links below under ‘RELATED POSTS.’)

After I learned how to better witness to Jehovah’s Witnesses, I began to invite them in again. We had long conversations in which I tried very hard to keep them on one topic at a time, because they like to keep changing the subject. However, after a while they stopped coming to my home. I kept thinking that they must have placed me on a ‘Do Not Call On These People List’ or something, and one day I started to actually see them pass by my home and knock on other people’s doors instead. I trust that God continued to bring more Christians into their lives to plant more seeds of truth into their hearts and minds,  and to water the seeds that He allowed me to plant in their hearts, as well. In the end it’s only God who makes things grow. (1 Corinthians 3:5-9)

So with all of that in mind, in today’s edition of ‘TEACHING THURSDAY’ I’d like to share many excellent teachings with you to help those of you who also have a desire to learn how to effectively witness to Jehovah’s Witnesses.

If I may, I’d like to end this post with one plea: If you’re a Christian, please don’t turn down the opportunity that God may give you to witness to any Jehovah Witness or Mormon who may come to your door. At least just take a minute or two to share your testimony with them and allow God to use you to speak His truth into their hearts. They get so many people who slam doors in their faces. Wouldn’t you like to be one among very few who will reach out in love to them?

(Lord willing, in the near future I will also post many good teachings to help those of you who desire to reach Mormons, and others with Biblical truth, as well. So if you’re interested, keep watching for new TEACHING THURSDAY posts).

 

 

 

 

 

RELATED SCRIPTURES

“But I am afraid that just as Eve was deceived by the serpent’s cunning, your minds may somehow be led astray from your sincere and pure devotion to Christ. For if someone comes to you and preaches a Jesus other than the Jesus we preached, or if you receive a different spirit from the Spirit you received, or a different gospel from the one you accepted, you put up with it easily enough.” (2 Corinthians 11:3,4)

“I am astonished that you are so quickly deserting the one who called you to” live in the grace of Christ and are turning to a different gospel— which is really no gospel at all. Evidently some people are throwing you into confusion and are trying to pervert the gospel of Christ. But even if we or an angel from heaven should preach a gospel other than the one we preached to you, let them be under God’s curse! As we have already said, so now I say again: If anybody is preaching to you a gospel other than what you accepted, let them be under God’s curse!” (Galatians 1:6-9)

“As the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways and my thoughts than your thoughts. As the rain and the snow come down from heaven, and do not return to it without watering the earth and making it bud and flourish, so that it yields seed for the sower and bread for the eater, so is my word that goes out from my mouth: It will not return to me empty, but will accomplish what I desire and achieve the purpose for which I sent it.” (Isaiah 55:9-11)

“What, after all, is Apollos? And what is Paul? Only servants, through whom you came to believe—as the Lord has assigned to each his task. I planted the seed, Apollos watered it, but God has been making it grow. So neither the one who plants nor the one who waters is anything, but only God, who makes things grow.” (1 Corinthians 3:5-7)

Thank you for stopping by! And thank you very much for taking time out of your day to read some of my posts and poems.

God Bless You

~Mary Dalke/Living4HisGlory

RELATED POSTS

SILENT CRIES

BREAKING FREE

