Capture Study to show thyself approved - 2 Timothy 2-15

Welcome to another post in the category of posts entitled, TEACHING THURSDAY.’ Lord willing, about once a month or so, on Thursdays, I will be posting either a video, an article, or some form of teaching  in which a *Biblically sound teacher *(Biblically sound because what they say and teach lines up with the truth of God’s Word,  Acts 17:11) will either expose an unbiblical movement, teaching, or a practice that is leading many Christians astray, or present some type of Biblical teaching to help you grow in a deeper understanding of God’s Word on different topics. Some of these teachings may be essentials of the Christian faith, and others may be things that we can debate but not divide over.

It is my hope and prayer that by presenting these teachings to you, many more Christians will not only come to realize the importance of testing the words of men (and women) against the truth of God Word so they will not be deceived, but also it is my hope and prayer that many Christians will come to know the joy of learning God’s Word.

Now on with today’s TEACHING THURSDAY:

Recently I met with a friend who told me that she had  joined a Bible study at her church. At first I was so excited for her because she had shared with me many times how she wanted to make reading the Bible a priority in her life, and now she really was! However, as I began to hear her share about how she and a friend were talking about the different things that they each had seen in the same  passage of Scripture it reminded me of the confusion that I experienced during Sunday School at the Assembly of God church that I attended after I first became a Christian: Our whole class took time to read the same passage of Scripture, and then each of us took turns sharing with the class what that certain passage of Scripture said to us personally. I became puzzled, confused, and felt less spiritual than some of the people in my class because I had not come to the same understanding from the passage of Scripture as some of them had come to, and couldn’t even figure out how they even did! As time went on and I not only grew in discernment and in my understanding of God’s Word, but also after I learned the right way to study God’s Word, as well as the wrong ways that are being taught, I realized that this form of interpreting the Bible is completely unbiblical, because instead of receiving an understanding of a passage of Scripture by certain facts that are revealed in Scripture, everyone’s understanding of a passage of Scripture becomes completely subjective; they will all be different because they are based on each individual’s feelings and perspectives instead of on the facts.

As my friend shared her supposed good news about the Bible study with me, I became deeply grieved and concerned for her. Without coming out and point blank telling her that this form of studying and interpreting the Bible was wrong (for reasons that I’d rather not get into), I simply shared a few things with her to keep in mind as she reads her Bible, and silently prayed for her. Sadly, this unbiblical form of Bible study and interpreting the Bible has become quite popular over the years, and it is causing many Christians to come to a wrong understanding of Scripture. 

In light of all that I shared with you about my friend, last week when I saw that Pastor Randy White just began a new teaching series on HOW TO STUDY YOUR BIBLE, I realized how very important a teaching series like this truly is, and I wanted to share it with all of you in case some of you may be attending a church where you are being taught the same unbiblical way to study and interpret Scripture.

Pastor Randy’s teachings will also help you learn to be discerning in case your pastor is one of the many who sadly are adding things to the text that are not there (eisegesis) which end up either distorting or completely changing the whole meaning of a text in an attempt to make the text say what he wants it to say. Unfortunately there are not many pastors and teachers left who present their congregations with an explanation of a text either based solely upon the clear meaning of the text, or by carefully examining the grammatical structure of words and sentences and by keeping other important factors in mind in order to gather enough information out of the text to present them with an accurate interpretation of the text (exegesis).

Every week when Pastor Randy presents another teaching in this series I will add it to the Playlist below for you. (Session #2 should be available tomorrow or Saturday).

**UPDATE 7/23/16**  You can also join in on a live interactive teaching time with Pastor Randy every Thursday evening at 8:00 p.m. Central time on Facebook as he continues to teach through this series and others, at the following link:

RANDY WHITE MINISTRIES FACEBOOK PAGE

As always, please test everything against Scripture as you hear him — and every teacher and pastor that you listen to — teach God’s Word, as Scripture shows us that we are to do. (Acts 17:11, 1 Thessalonians 5:21,22)

 

I hope you enjoy all of Pastor Randy’s teachings and that you will grow in your understanding of how to study God’s Word as you rely upon God’s Holy Spirit to guide you into all truth. (John 16:13)

Thank you very much for stopping by and taking time out of your busy day to read some of my posts and poems.

God Bless You

~Mary/Living4HisGlory

 

UPDATE:

Lord willing, I am hoping to finish PART 2 in the new series that I started last month by Sunday evening, July 24th, 2016 –if time allows. Otherwise, Lord willing, I should have it finished by the end of this month.

If you are new to this blog, the series that I am speaking of is one in which I present to you, the reader, many teachings from the Catechism of the Catholic Church, and then compare them to Scripture in a Catholic New Testament Bible. I am trusting that God will open the eyes of many Catholics so that they will be able to see the Biblical gospel and come to the understanding of who Jesus Christ truly is and all that He accomplished when He gave His live for us on the cross and arose victoriously from the dead.

It is equally my hope that those of you who are born-again, Bible believing, followers of Jesus Christ, will come to an understanding of what the teachings of Catholicism actually are after reading these posts, and that you will then be filled with a love and compassion for Catholics and a strong desire to share the truly good news of the Biblical gospel with them. Precious Catholics need to know that they can have the assurance of salvation by placing their trust in Jesus Christ’s “once for all” sacrifice on the cross, His death, burial, and glorious resurrection from the dead for their forgiveness of sin. They also need to know that salvation is a gift of God paid in full with the precious blood of Jesus, and that it cannot be earned through their sacramental system and by doing good works.  God revealed all of that to me — and so much more —  as I read a little Catholic New Testament back in 1980, and all fear of death and doubt vanished when I chose to believe God’s Word over the words and teachings of men. I trust that as His Word goes forth through the posts in this new series, His Word will continue to accomplish all that He desires it to do accomplish (Isaiah 55:6-11) in the hearts and minds of all Catholics who somehow find their way here, or wherever the truth of God’s Word is being presented.

Have a safe and wonderful weekend!

Save

Save

